We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
$155
$94
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$126
$114
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$132
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Bangkok(Bangkok)
$70
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$118
$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
$497
$445
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,327)
Filter reviews
9,327 results
Traveler rating
6,989
1,691
409
151
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,989
1,691
409
151
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskrungthep winghorizon clubthe riverriverside loungechi spakrung thep wingthe main hotelbalcony roomthai restaurantdinner cruiseevening cocktailsbreakfast buffetour honeymoonfive star hotelwonderful hotelsky train stationnight market
Filter
Updating list...
5,006 - 5,011 of 9,327 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Faultless hotel. The approach road to the hotel might be a bit off-putting as you travel through some fairly rough looking streets of Bangkok. But once you arrive at the hotel it is like a whole new world.

Can not fault the staff, the hotel the food everything was just perfect. 100% effort on all of the staff to make sure that your stay here is FIRST CLASS. From the moment we checked in (In the room direct) not in reception the whole stay was just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jm7409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Location in Bangkok is critical, as sprawling and disorderly as the city is, so the riverside location of the Shangri-La in the old fareng quarter is the place to start with a don't-miss recommendation.
We had a five-night family stay -- with the impeccable quality of staff service figuring high on our reasons for satisfaction. The first example was on our check-in -- although our travel agent had booked a deluxe room with an extra bed for our daughter, we were initially shown to a room nearly too small to turn around in. A request back at the desk elicited a prompt tour of two larger alternatives, and we settled in a perfect junior suite in the new wing, at a nightly price uptake of under $30. In addition to consistently helpful and attentive service in the restaurants, at the pool, and with the water-taxi service, our other top-of-line experience was with the laundry and cleaning; we had been travelling for two weeks and needed serious wardrobe attention, which at relatively reasonable prices enabled us to be fit to appear in public again.
It's a big hotel, with all that conveys -- the breakfast buffet is vast and varied, the two pools are well occupied, and dinner reservations are needed at least for the Thai dining room on the river. Those seeking a boutique would go elsewhere -- for us, our needs were well met.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if possible. The choice would be personal between the old and new wings -- direct examination of choices might be useful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoyed the location by the river and reasonable access to the airport. The room/suite was slightly old fashioned but charming. Helpful staff, great breakfast with everything I could think of too choose from. Italian restaurant in the garden served delicious food in a relaxing atmosphere.
The hotel limo BMW 7 Li was very comfortable for our 06:00 departure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molanOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We finished our S.E. Asia trip at the Shangrila. Our second and def. not our last stay. Excellent staff, relaxing aft. Teas, perfect location, very personable General Manager, great food, wonderful room with view. We enjoyed to the max.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Faythe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is by far the most wonderful hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff throughout cannot do enough for their clients and it is so comfortable everywhere. We got an upgrade as it was our silver anniversary trip and a chocolate treat in our room as well. Next2 restaurant, best buffet breakfast and best buffet dinner we have ever had. Machines in gym had been upgraded since my last visit which was cool. Spa wonderful according to my husband but expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara_cantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews