We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
$113
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$120
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
$194
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$104
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$162
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Siam(Bangkok)
$607
$526
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$615
$462
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (9,226)
Filter reviews
9,226 results
Traveler rating
6,903
1,681
407
149
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,903
1,681
407
149
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskrungthep winghorizon clubthe riverriverside loungechi spakrung thep wingthe main hotelbalcony roomthai restaurantdinner cruiseevening cocktailsour honeymoonbreakfast buffetfive star hotelwonderful hotelsky train stationnight market
Filter
Updating list...
5,113 - 5,118 of 9,226 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed in the Krungthep wing in a suite. Very large and clean room with tonnes of amenities for free. You get free buffet breakfast in the morning, free tea with lots of food from 2:30 - 4:30 then 5:30 to 7:30 you get free drinks and canapes. With so much food included, who needs to go out to eat!. Upgraded to special package with free aiport transfer and laundry. BMW transport to and from was excellent and in the Bangkok weather, having unlimited laundry is a bonus. Explored the regular wing and pool and would suggest staying in the Krungthep wing. Pool at the regular wing was packed with people while the Krungthpe wing was completely empty with lots of seating available, couldn't see a single free seat at the regular pool. Also, lots of kids at the regular wing, esp in the pool. Also concierge and front desk at regular wing was packed with guests, while Krungthep wing felt calm and peaceful and at times no guests around at all. This is the hotel in Bangkok to get our bang for your buck and luxury to boot. Also central pier and BTS is just 3 minutes walk from the front lobby of the Krungthep Wing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cantquittravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The Krungthep Wing has a nice concept a smaller hotel within the big one But the services are not so good as it use to be You really feel the difference. Breakfast they are not so alert. And for cocktail hours is the same. If you are a
a returning guest you want to feel extra welcome and that the Kungthrep not fully live up to today

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bitte08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have written a review for this hotel on my first stay but after having 2 more memorable stays with them, I feel the need to tell everybody why I keep coming back.
I could bang on again about the wonderful location, the fantastic pool and the many superb eating options but it's the service that does it for me.
From the moment you pass imigration at the ariport and you're greeted by the hotel's representative, you feel right away like you are home. Our bags were loaded while we were given water and a nice cold towel in the luxury Mercedes van sent to collect us. On previous visits, the airport pick up driver phoned the hotel shortly before arrival and the registration was done in our room and our bags appeared within minutes. This time due to flight times we arrived early so the room wasn't quite ready but that was no problem. After many apologies, we were ushered up to the Horizon Club where they insisted we relaxed while they fast tracked the cleaning of the room. We were more than happy to wait for the room but again, this is the level of service; above and beyond what you get elsewhere.
As always, rooms are spacious and cleaned immaculately. We had arrived on Chinese New Year and the hotel was 100% full, lots of people but service was maintained to a tee. I happened to share a lift with one of the lovely reception staff and I made a passing comment about the hotel being very busy. She replied with a concerned look on her face "is the service still up to standard?" This comment epitomises the attention to detail you enjoy as a guest of the Shangri La.
The Thai people are so friendly and the Shang staff go above that. Every staff member took the time to greet you and smile, a far cry from my own country's customer service.The concierge service is faultless, the pool staff so friendly, everyone appears to be proud of where they work.
We spent 8 nights there as we love the hotel so much. It's such great value if you stay in the Horizon Club rooms/ suites where the massive breakfast in Next2 is included in the rate. It's great proximity to the BTS Skytrain (15 mins to shopping district), Central Pier (for tourist boats) and an amazing array of delicious street food in the streets surrounding. If you want an oasis in a bustling city, this place trumps them all.

Room Tip: Definately River view Horizon Club. Free buffet breakfast, evening cocktails and access to good coffee and softdrinks all day. The Chao Praya is the main artery of Bangkok, don't miss this spectacle. It's one of the best things about Bangkok!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnholyTrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

there might be so many beatiful hotels worldwide but shangri-la Bangkok for us ıs always special from the airport till up to our room we receive perfect service and attention in a way a perfect Thai harmony.

we were so glad to be there after one year, thank you once again shangri-la ,making feel us so special from the arrival to departure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gurhan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After spending 12+ months planning a wedding and 15+ hours travelling and getting a welcome to Thailand from a Bangkok travel rep who tried to sell us everything under the sun in the 30 minute taxi ride from the airport to the hotel, arriving at the Shangri La was relieving to say the least!

It was my first time in Thailand, my first time outside of Europe to be fair, so I'd never been anywhere where the language and culture was so different. Be knackered after getting married and a long flight doesn't leave you best prepared for the assault on the senses that cities like Bangkok invariably present.

The Shangri La is what I'd expect for a 5 star hotel. Good service at reception, impressive decor and furnishings with good facilities.

We got a great room with a view out across the Choa Praya (fantastic views at night when everything is lit up, not so great in the day when everything looks a bit grey and concrete). We got presents of chocolates and fruits for it being our honeymoon which were a nice touch. Overall the rooms were comfortable and spacious.

The facilities were great too. We ate in the riverside restuarant one evening. Spent time by the pool and had breakfast in the hotel restuarant. Its in a good location for the Sky Train and has a pier where boats stop off. If you happen to walk out of the hotel into the immediate surrounding areas, you quickly realise the relative contrast between the luxury of the hotel and the status quo.
Its crowded and fairly dirty, but you do get a more authentic feel for the city you're visiting.

We spent 2 nights in Bangkok in total and didn't have the energy for much more. We were looking for relaxation on our honeymoon, so obviously Bangkok is not the logical place to find that. But we wanted to see Bangkok whilst in Thailand, and having a comfortable and relaxing base for the few days we were there made it a worthwhile stop. This I have to credit the Shagri-La for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews