We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #22 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for the third time & had another great stay. Very clean, professional & very friendly staff. Couldn't get a sunbed on arrival which was disappointing but an early start the next day secured our sunbed! Pool service very accommodating - fresh ice cold water served theoughout the day, lovely clean towels & complimentary ice lollies was a lovely refreshing treat. Breakfast buffet was a great selection & definitely something for everyone! Very well organised without losing the personal touches! Only negative would be that no reference was made to my being a golden circle member so still not sure what that membership brings. Location was good - some issues with some taxi drivers who initially wouldn't put on meter but after insisting they use meter they did - guess that comes from staying in a 5* hotel everyone assumes money is no object so they try their luck!! Will be back next year & it would be nice for the hotel to recognise returning guests & their continued loyalty!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bouncy2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,645 - 4,651 of 8,550 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent 24 hours in Bangkok after a wonderful trip in South East Asia and before returning home to the UK. The hotel's location excellent being next to the SkyTrain and on the river for the boat trips. The room was comfortable but getting a little tired and at the end of our stay the air conditioning would only work if the bathroom lights were off and vice versa! 2 engineers tried to repair but in vain and as we were checking out we asked them to return after we left. The breakfast was OK but not as good as some of our other destinations in South East Asia. Dinner in the Thai restaurant average - we eat better food in Thai restaurants in London. The service throughout is haphazard - impression of shortage of staff and managers having to do waiters jobs! The outside communal areas not well maintained - leaves everywhere and no clearing or sweeping. The downstairs ladies rest room had 4 loos but no loo paper at all. Quite difficult to get a drink outside but we persevered. After dinner we wanted to have coffee and a nightcap in the bar but by 8.30 pm all tables laid for breakfast the following day. No wonder the bar was deserted. Between 5.30-7.30 pm they had happy hour which was great as all canapes and drinks were free - very good for the guests but commercially not sensible. They also had a large boat which did dinner trips along the river. We saw it leaving almost empty with piles of untouched food - again not a good commercial decision. Better to maintain the common areas more and to provide a bar with good ambience and not laid for breakfast the following day. The concierge was not very knowledgeable and suggested we went to an terrible market full of complete trash! We felt the hotel was resting on its laurels because of its location and perhaps there should be a shake-up at management level!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Shangri-la is a good, 5 star hotel. The staff are well trained, and the service is prompt and attentive. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The pool is pleasant. The location is good. But then again, all these things should apply. It is large and somewhat impersonal. Is there anything that makes it standout from the rest of the pack? No.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlistairM696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am only 12 but I thought I should still give my opinion on this place. While travelling the world with my family we went to Thailand and stopped in bangkok for a week. The Shangri-La was wonderful and a great family hotel. We are a family of four and we choose two river view adjoining rooms and this worked very well. The breakfast at the next 2 cafe was amazing and covered everybodys dietry requirments ( even my fussy 6 year old brother). The pool is huge and great for all ages swimming laps and relaxing. It was a 2 minute or less walk to the sky train and ferry stop where you could get to all the main temples and places. They even had extra free activities for kids of all ages.
Overall it was a great hotel with fantastic service in a perfect location.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful but as a family of 4 we choose two river view adjoining rooms and this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Isabella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We keep choosing to stay at the Shangrila hotel each time we visit Bankok, despite temptations to try a new place. We chose to stay at the Krungthep-wing which is a quite and more intimate wing.
Our room overlooking the river was perfect. The service was excellent. Afternoon tea and breakfast are served in a dinning room hall overlooking the river. The presentation of the food is a piece of art. The food is good and offers a variety of European and Thai food.
The swimming pool is not big but secluded with only few guests using it.
Those who prefer more stimulation and music can walk to the main wing of the hotel to enjoy the Restaurants, big swimming pool , gym and night music. A great escape from the noise and heat of the city

Room Tip: A deluxe room overlooking the river is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent 2 nights in this hotel to start out my week in Bangkok. Next to to another 5-star hotel directly afterwards, the Shangri-La pales a bit in comparison and is more expensive.
Someone from housekeeping walked into my room unannounced while I was asleep on the first day. Also I did not get the exact type of room I had reserved.
Other than that, the service was nice, and the Thai restaurant Salathip within the hotel was excellent. The spa is to be avoided, more than 4 times the massage price in other locations and nothing spectacular for such a high cost.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SquidJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely modern hotel that is almost on a par with Mandarin Oriental and Peninsular but at literally half the cost. Good central location. Rooms are good , plenty of choice of restaurants. It is rather large and somewhat impersonal. Overall a good choice at a sensible price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnsanmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 887 in Bangkok
4,532 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#40 of 887 in Bangkok
6,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $178 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splitty, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing