We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay With a Few Missteps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Overall we had a nice stay. The location is great, especially for accessing public transportation. As others have noted the hotel could use a bit of refurbishment as it looks a bit worn and dated, both in the public areas and in the rooms. Our room, though was pleasant, well stocked and made up in a timely manner each day. We experienced very good to excellent service. Our butler was pleasant and easily available and the men at the concierge desk were helpful, patient and friendly. I'm not sure what Frank's title is, but he was especially helpful all around from facilitating our check-in to answering questions about sights etc. and finding us a table at breakfast or tea-time. As it was during Chinese New Year, they were busy and there were times we had to wait a bit longer for coffee refills or refreshing our drinks. We stayed in the Krungthrup side of the hotel, which offers club level privileges and that turned out to be worth the extra price indeed. We had a wonderful dinner in the Chinese restaurant and good pizza in the Italian restaurant, and enjoyed the dinner river-cruise, but we had a terrible experience in the Salathip restaurant, which is their Thai restaurant. (I wrote a separate review for Salathip in the restaurant section on Bangkok.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,401)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,556 - 4,562 of 8,401 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family on way to Phuket for 2 nights. Excellent Thai restaurant in the gardens is a must. Buffet breakfast a pure joy. Relaxing by the pool watching the world go by on the river after a long flight from the UK was like a dream. A great base to express the city- the Golden Temple was excellent and the sky train a great way to get around. If your going to Bangkok sultry here. The rooms are brilliant another superb Shangri la hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachBumReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been travelling over 20 years in Europe, Asia and American for both business and holiday. I only started experiencing Shangri-la lately, and have to say am a bit disappointed given its reputation. The hotel in Bangkok definitely is at a prim location, with easy access to skytrain, boat and all the means of transportation, the Next 2 cafe is great, and as always Shangri-la brand hotels have excellent restaurants. However, other service quality fell short, as I experience in almost all occassional I stayed with Shangri-la. The hotel is over crowded and staff seem to be overwhelmed. While most staff is friendly, there are also few that make an effort to show that me - a customer, is giving them a burden to work. I was being frowned on by the lady responsibile for arrange transportation: after explained where we need to go to 3 different porters and standing in the heat for over 10 min with a 4-year old, I went to the lady who seemed to be in charge. Yet instead of helping me out or even apologise for the chaos in front of us, she answered my question while attending her paper work, and when I asked her how much would it cost to go to my destination, she said she does not know. This incident being aside, house keeping, as all shangri-la I stayed at, was at best inconsistent. There was a day that our room was not made even at 3pm and there was no sight of any housekeeping on our floor. Supply was also inconsistent, and on our last night, there was no turn down service, which made us feel they cannot wait for us to leave.

While overall I have to say Shangri-la is not a bad hotel, in my personal opinion it is not as good as its reputation, and the price it demands.

Room Tip: River view room is worth the extra money
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwk-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We choose Shangri-la hotel as usual in Bangkok, this hotel just as great as the other Shangri-la, they always can keep the quality no matter food, room or service. This hotel provide their own ferry to downtown but it's a pity we didn't use it during the stay, because the BTS(?maybe) is so close only 5mins walking. This hotel not located in downtown but in china town area, so just try to walk around and you will find a lot of interesting street food and small restaurants. Also another pity is we didn't try the buffet dinner, the outdoor area is so beautiful but this is the reason for we visit Shangri-la bangkok again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaraMia820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in January 2013 on vacation. We opted for a river view with no balcony. I must say it was worth the extra $10-20 for the view, not to mention they moved us up in the tower. While the prices by Bangkok standards are outrageous in the US they would be pretty reasonable. The breakfast buffet was absolutely astonishing. Breakfasts from just about every major culture is available and is delicious. It may be sinful to say but it was some of the best food we got while in Thailand.

The room has a distinct oriental decor (not surprising) but is elegant and enjoyable. the bathrooms were clean and very nice. The hotel is ideally situated on the Chao Phraya river and has one of the biggest boat taxi terminals 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

One of the best hotel experiences I have ever had, on all accounts: First of all, the perfect location, 5 minutes'walk to the Central pier to board the Chao Phraya express, which is the most panoramic and efficient way to move around in BKK and to the very convenient BTS Taksin station! Secondly, modern-traditional Thai architecture, luxurious interior decoration, gorgeous flower compositions, superb view on the Chao Phraya river, lush, grand swimming pool by the river, posh, spacious room and marble bathroom, personal butler service, caring and professional staff...We were supposed to stay for 4 nights but we liked it so much that we stayed an extra night! We were in the very elegant Krung Thep wing, the newer and more executive one, with balconies overlooking the river. Breakfast rituals were memorable, enormous variety and the finest quality. In addition, as Krung Thep wing guests, we had complimentary high tea (delicious finger food, puddings and tartes) and drinks at the aperitif..It is a shame that we were out sightseeing almost all day long and we did not enjoy all these pleasant features of the hotel, not even the fitness room or the swimming pool with free soft drinks from the poolside cafe! But we did have dinner once at the lounge café, light but tasty, and once at the refined gourmet riverside restaurant. In short: GREAT HOTEL AND LOVELY STAFF, I strongly suggest it for the perfect holiday!

Room Tip: Definitely go to the Krung Thep wing, which has a room far from the bridge, which is very noisy when...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cesidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed in a Horizon Club room on the 25th floor in January for a week, and honestly, could not find fault with the quality of service, the quick check in and check out process, and the benefits of having access to the Horizon Club Lounge for snacks and drinks all throughout the day.

The L'occitane bathroom products were replenished daily with the rooms made up promptly every day (along with the turn down service) and the four complimentary bottles of water per day were more than enough. Our bed was one of the best hotel beds I have ever slept in. Was very well rested every morning.

Breakfast at the Club Lounge was a smaller selection than Next2 Cafe but just as tasty and much less crowded. However, the selection of food at Next2 Cafe was tremendous, I couldn't even begin to sample everything in just one breakfast.

The view of the river from the room was beautiful, especially at night, and the hotel was located close to transport that it made travelling very convenient.

This will definitely become our go to hotel next time we're in Bangkok, as we enjoyed our stay so much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackstar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 881 in Bangkok
4,432 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $162 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing