We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Shangri La, Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 823 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb Shangri La, Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We just spent 4 nights at The Shangri La Hotel Bangkok. We booked a Horizon Club Executive Suite which was as expected from our previous experience with Shangri La Hotels. The service could not be faulted as were all the facilities in the hotel. The suite was large and very beautifully decorated in Thai style. Something we find unique and also wonderful to Shangri La hotels is their beautiful coffee making machines. Also there is a Chinese tea set as a welcoming token, this disappeared after the first day but was returned upon my request as I drink tea way into the night. We took breakfast in the Horizon Club lounge only once, the other days we ate in the main restaurant on the ground floor. The reason for this is that my wife likes the variety of Asian soups available. I prefer the quite of the Horizon Club Lounge but I do have to say the variety downstairs is abundant and also very good. As we like to go and see the sights we only had time available for 1 lunch in The Shang Palace restaurant. The food was superb and the service impeccable also the prices were not outrageous. Check in and check out were a breeze and we were shown to our suite where everything was demonstrated. On our second last day as we left our suite we bumped into a gentleman in the hall. He is the Resident Manager and he was very sincere in asking our opinions on the hotel. I told him that on our previous visits to Bangkok we always stayed at the Sheraton. Naturally he wanted us to return to the Shangri La on our next visits, I don't think we will disappoint him as the location is great and overall a genuine 5 star hotel. I have to say after speaking to this gentleman our service seemed to go up a notch or two, maybe this was just coincidence. Overall this is a beatifully run hotel with superb service and a friendliness that is really genuine. I would advise that if contemplating a stay here try to stay in a Horizon Club room or suite, the extra it costs is truly worth it.

Room Tip: Stay in a Horizon Club room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AUSSIEmike99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,929
    1,240
    295
    109
    55
See reviews for
1,289
3,136
364
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester couple
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Only stayed 1 day/night as a stop-over from cruise, but room lovely, food good in continental buffet dining room. Had to leave v early so didnt stay for breakfast. Would stay again at this hotel if came back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macaronies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have been to many 5 star hotels around the world but I must say i was pleasantly surprised at the level and quality of customer service at this hotel. We were greeted at the entrance and guided to the room by a smiling, pleasant lady without the need to check in at the reception. Buffet breakfast and dinners were exceptional quality and lunch on the hotel boat was second to none. (I probably ate excessively due to variety and quality of food available !). View of the river from the room was beautiful. Complimentary boat shuttle to the shopping malls throughout the day adds to the ease of your experience. Check out was ultra-smooth. In nutshell, I will not stay in another hotel if I am visiting Bangkok again !.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the river side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irfan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I first visited this hotel in my 20's and wondered if I'd ever get the chance to stay there. Well I have, and 25 years later it didn't disappoint in anyway.

We spent 3 heavenly nights in the Krungthep Wing, and can honestly say that that the experience was almost perfect. It would be churlish to mention the very minor niggles, because with hindsight, only someone who is utterly spoiled in life would raise an eyebrow.

The staff were charming, helpful and welcoming - it was like coming home. Our room was beautifully appointed and impeccably maintained, with a stunning view over the river. Food was excellent, especially the wonderful breakfasts and afternoon teas that we enjoyed every day.

The Shangri-La isn't the most modern or high-tech hotel on the the plant, but if you're looking for peace, relaxation, great service and a real home from home in an otherwise crazy city, look no further than the Shangri-La

Room Tip: All rooms in the Krungthep Wing have a balcony overlooking the river. Most rooms in the main wing d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RutlandTraveller440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

i love this place very friendly staff awsome view. lovely food... but i would not wanna stay there again just for the fact that either the rooms seem old to me or the design is meant to be this way. in the end its prefrences that differ from a person to another. id recommend it for older families. but not for younger crowds or couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxbcsyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A beautiful hotel located adjacent to the Chao Praya River. The rooms were tastefully and traditionally done up and has excellent view of the river. Enjoyed the boat ride to Asiatique which is a cool place to shop and eat , and is also along the river.
Shangrila has free boatrides every 30 mins to take you to RiverCity and Asiatique Mall. Excellent service by the staff who were extremely courteous and quick to respond.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the corner rooms on the higher floors which has two sides open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smriti0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have just stayed four nights in the beautiful Krungthep Wing and once again Shangri-La exceeded our expectations. Our request for a high floor was honoured and check in was quick and hassle free. Reception staff will escort you to your room to explain the features and the rooms themselves are beautiful. We had the deluxe balcony room and I'm delighted to say that concerns from other reviewers about the proximity of the bridge proved unfounded in our case, as the traffic noise was barely noticeable. The rooms are elegantly decorated and although they are not the most contemporary, the Asian styling is refined and the decor has a touch of class. Welcome macaroons, fresh fruit and flowers were a real treat, and the amenities are plentiful and thoughtful, including the wonderful L'Occitane bathroom products. The butler service seems to vary significantly - in our case we were not introduced to a butler on arrival but they are on direct dial and service is prompt and friendly when required. The Riverside Lounge feels sophisticated and we were never made to wait for seating or service despite the hotel being busy. Breakfast is made to order with a buffet selection and was beautifully done, as was the afternoon tea which was better than many London hotels. The cocktails in the evening are delicious and plentiful and there was a decent wine selection including Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Sauvignon and an Australian brut sparkling wine, all of which were free flowing. The concierge staff were fantastic, with a detailed knowledge of restaurants and activities, as were housekeeping, who kept the room flawless and even brought a jar cookies each evening at turndown. The pool is not as beautifully landscaped as at other SL resorts given the premium of space, but it is still lovely, of a good size and with attentive, considerate staff. As you would expect at Shangri-La, all the staff go out of their way to make you feel genuinely welcome, and after the chaotic jolt of Bangkok, the hotel really is a sanctuary to return to. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The Krungthep Wing is worth the premium for the benefits and the higher floors have spectacular view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bringonthesummer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,545 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#22 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 4,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing