We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Indulgence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pure Indulgence”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This has got to be one of the best places to stay on a vacation (after Shangri-la Singapore).
There is so much that is good here, from the moment you check in until you leave.
We stayed in the Krung Thep wing for 2 days on our way to another resort, and again for 1 night on our way back.
The staff were ultra friendly and and helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them.
We had a lovely spacious room with an extra bed for my daughter, and a view over the river. The beds are huge and probably the best best most comfortable beds in Thailand.
A butler came to introduce herself and very soon we were drinking freshly brewed tea, made in a tea pot with loose leaves. Wonderful tea. Our mini bar was well stocked and all soft drinks were complimentary along with a large bowl of fresh fruit.

The pool in this wing is large enough for a decent swim, and the water is clean as are the surrounding areas, with staff ever attentive providing drinks as required, all included.
High tea was thus served with a wonderful array of tasty tit-bits including scones with fresh cream and strawberry jam.
Come the evening there was 2 hours of alcohol and or cocktails, along with canapés which were heavenly divine and out of this world scrumptious. In fact we didn't even need to go out to eat.
This Hotel has charm and grace in great quantities, it looks great, it feels great, the price is great but believe me it was worth spending a few extra pounds to be looked after so well by some very well trained staff, who made you feel like you were the most important person there at that time. This is a hotel you must try at least once in your life.
We are going back later this week it's that good.

Room Tip: All rooms in Krung Thep wing are good but the higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustJack112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,084
    1,474
    361
    125
    74
See reviews for
1,611
3,755
470
1,026
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,887)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This has to be one of the best hotels i've ever stayed in. Perfection in everything. Nothing else to say.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Good business hotel with nice rooms and good breakfast...would stay again

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Blasterchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

For a lavish 5 star hotel, you can't beat the Shangri la. The rooms are great (as is the free wifi all over the hotel), the bed is comfy, the shower is large, the breakfast is one of the best at any hotel I've stayed at, and the quality and helpfulness of the staff is superb.

While the view of the river is lovely, it's location of the hotel isn't my first choice for a hotel in Bangkok (I was there for a conference). The streets around the hotel are small, sometimes a bit smelly, and do not have the vibrancy of Silom or Sukhumvit. Granted you can hop on the Skytrain from one end of the hotel and taxis are very cheap but I prefer something a little closer to the "action."

Room Tip: The hallways are rather long so you may want to ask for a room near the elevator. Don't worry ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Phuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
238 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with our family (4 adults + 3 children). We checked in fairly early but both rooms were ready, so that was very nice. We had 2 rooms including a family room which I can highly recommend for families with children. It has a separate living area with a pull out sofa. The rooms haven't changed much over time. They're in good condition, clean, nice bathrooms with new marble and taps but the decor is slightly outdated though again, still in good shape. However, it could have some more modern touches and modern feel to it (we were here over 20 years ago). Service was friendly and fairly efficient (except a room service order that took 75 minutes and several phone calls), English is not always great but they're trying and it's sufficient. Pool area is nice, not too big, with a good breeze from the river. Only thing is that pillows stay wet quite a while so if the next person comes you may be sitting on a wet chair. Water and fruit is handed out as well as cold towels. Nice drinks area next to the river as well (tapas bar area) with lounging area. One of my children got quite sick so housekeeping was coming by frequently to clean sheets, etc. and I cannot thank them enough for their concern. They even came to bring a huge chocolate figurine for her. Visited the nurse as well for medication, so great to have as well. Luckily she recovered overnight and was well the next day. Breakfast buffet is extensive, like all Shangri-La Hotels, lots of choice, not too crowded. Had lunch at Next2 restaurant (same place as breakfast) which was fine, nothing super special but fine. Also had dinner at the Thai restaurant which was good as well. As mentioned by others, wine is very expensive in Thailand, especially in Bangkok, and quality so-so, and it's no different at this hotel. Not great supermarket wines for 5* hotel prices is not necessarily worth it, but it's not just an issue at the hotel. Overall, had a good stay, still love the location, but rooms could do with some more modern decor. Having said that, considering the room rates we paid, it was good value. Food and beverages do add quite a bit though, but with the sickness, etc. we didn't have lots of choice, so in the end it was fine for us, it was easy!

Room Tip: I can definitely recommend the family rooms for families of 4. It's much cheaper than getting 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1andTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had been staying at this hotel from 5 to 7 April 2012. The room was spacious enough to accomdate the 3 of us. Twin bed plus an extra bed. All necessary amenities were placed in side the room so that there was little chance to make u call the housekeeping.
Bed was very comfortable and clean.
The next day we went to the pool area for sun bathing. We were friendly greeted by the pool staff and he even asked us whether we wanted to get tanned so that he could make recommendation to where we should lay. The sun lounge chair was extremely comfortable as the head area was built in with a sofe cushion underneath.
As a whole, very thanks for the service of the staff of Shangri La Bangkok!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Checked into a deluxe room initially, then decided to upgrade after 5 drinks (3 small beers and 2 glasses of rose) came to £40! Room in Krungthrep Wing was much larger and had balcony overlooking the river. If, like us, you may be put off by "butler service" dont be. We didnt see her at all but understood she was there if we needed her. Lovely breakfast served in a serene restaurant, all soft drinks and beverages served by pool or lounge all day, superb afternoon tea, then happy hour from 5.30 - 7.30, which was fantastic...canapes were like an extremely good supper buffet and the drinks kept flowing! No supper was needed! All this included for the £45 upgrade! Staff were fantastic, very personable and professional. Great postition, next to ferry stop and sky train. Use the hotel hotel courtesy boats(which are obviously free) and take the orange or blue flag ferries, rather than the James Bond (????)boats. You will pay 15 - 30 baht, or 150 for all day pass. The Dome is a good sky bar, but expect to pay!! Bangkok doesn't do it for me - but the Shangri-La made is so very much more comfortable

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,151 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing