We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Set your expectation on 'low'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada D MA Bangkok
Ranked #428 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Set your expectation on 'low'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I know its never good to walk into a hotel without a reservation and it was no surprise to me when we were charged the full Western rate for a hotel in a moderate location in Bangkok. But the hotel looks very grand from the outside and the lobby looks reasonably impressive and you are entitled to expect something decent from a Ramada hotel.
However, this Ramada just isn't up to scratch in many departments. The staff at the reception were particularly unfriendly. They failed to tell you where the lifts are located after check-in and did not take the time to explain how to use your room card in the lift. Once in the dark room, I spent time looking for the light switch before finding a bow next to the bed with some switches. After pressing some random switches the lights came on. Other than that, the room was reasonable enough but the airco was noisy and the flow of air was very noticable when lying in bed.
The breakfast food was reasonable enough but if you are unfortunate enough to have to stay in this hotel, be sure to take care on choosing your table for breakfast. Pick one where the cutlery sets are complete and where there is both salt and pepper. And try to find one thats within the range of the coffee and tea waiter, it saves having to stand there and waive your arms to catch this man's attention.
The final irritation was the five minute wait at the reception when checking out whilst they check that didn't wreck your room and take the towels with you. A very degrading 5 minutes.
Relatively minor irritations but a hell of a lot of them and quite acceptable for a budget hotel. I think you are entitled to expect much, much more for the price paid and the hotel name.
My advice is find an alternative!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0b_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    275
    192
    79
    77
See reviews for
186
254
66
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice room and shower with both bath & bathtub. General maintenance is good, can't really tell the age but guess might be around 10-15 years from the look of the tv and some tell tale tanish of the metal parts around the room . Nice size pool on the 8th floor with a gym as well. Wifi is provided in the lobby & pool level but can be a little erratic at times but overall acceptable, to our surprise we are able to get wifi in our room most of the times. Probably the only major flaw to us is our room faces a wall ( no view) and tv is a little small and old fashion.
Location of the hotel is a little off even taxi drivers don't know the place but surrounding is pleasant with a 711 store just beside the hotel, quite a few massage place scattered around. Also resturants and street food is quite good. Taxi and tutu are plentiful.

Room Tip: Try the Thai/Chinese restaurant on the right side of the hotel (direction of 711). About 300 meters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and 5 days and it took until the last day to get our bearings. Located close to the Pratunum night market and walk a bit further to the huge shopping malls. They are so big it is overwhelming. Might need a tuk tuk ride home if you have lots of shopping, or it is too hot.
The room was comfortable, although we had a twin not a king as requested, but the twin was a queen and a single combo so we managed OK. On 21st floor we had a great view of Bangkok. The bathroom was clean with a separate bath and shower. Our maid was delightful, so friendly and smiling. Guests seem to ignore the no smoking signs, as we smelled cigarettes every time we left the elevator. Our pillows were too high for us, but they were happy to bring thinner ones straight away.
Buffet breakfast was adequate but the same every day. Great omelettes.
A highlight was the pool area. Spotless and located on the 8th floor away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok, we felt very comfortable swimming and sunbathing. Not a lot of shade - could do with some umbrellas but apparently they get blown away in high winds. Not many guests used the pool and sometimes we had it all to ourselves.
Not many restaurants to choose from nearby, otherwise it would be ideal for us.
Free WiFi in lobby only, otherwise THB500 per night. To stay competitive it should be free in the rooms too. There were many guests skyping their families in the lobby which was a bit off putting - WiFi in rooms would solve this.
All in all we'd stay here again if only because of the pool and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

i stayed to this hotel the place was near all the night market the rooms are spacious the food is good, BUT BUT BUT take good care of your belongings. i went out to have a good massage and i did not bring my bag and wallet with cash on it then when i came back viola my cash are all gone knowing that i am only one and the housekeeping has a spare key in the hotel? there are thieves inside the hotel especially the employees tsk tsk... if i were you there a lots of other hotel much better in the vicinity to try, much more safer and newer...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently went on holiday and chose the Ramada D'Ma Hotel in Bangkok Thailand to stay in and it was an excellent choice. The hotel is greatly situated as it is close to all attractions in Bangkok, and we never paid more than 80 THB for a taxi if we wanted to go somewhere. We had a bit of bad luck with our room, as it firstly had a leak in the roof, and then the electronic key card system of the door was faulty, but they have risen to the challenge, and they moved us to a different room, and gave us a voucher to have a Thai Set Dinner in the Hotel's restaurant for our inconvenience. Right next to the hotel is a 7/11, and lots of other shops which means you don't even have to go out into the city. On our last day we realised we will have a problem with luggage, and my husband could go buy extra luggage at a shop 300m away from the hotel. The service was excellent, and the people are very friendly. We had a breakfast every morning, and had a "personal waiter" Mr Vigit, which was awesome. He was really a star of the Ramada Hotel. If we didn't feel like going out, we could relax at an awesome pool area! Ramada D'Ma, thank you for GREAT service and an excellent time! We will see you again next year!!!

Room Tip: Try to get an executive room as you have a stunning view of Bangkok - these rooms are normally from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annemari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

we enjoy our stay at the ramada dma bangkok. The hotel is in a verry good location and we found that if you take a taxi to any of the tourist and shopping malls it would not cost more than 100baht witch is defnatly a plus. The service of the hotel is good and there is a few people I like to mention. There is a server working in the breakfast restuarant who went out of his way to let us feel welcome every morning when we went for breakfast and is name is Mr vigit(excelent on service) Then another person i like to mention is the receptionist she is on the photos (81) she was always helpfull and friendly and always was intrested in how our day went. the only negitive part i have is 1. we were moved 3 times because we had a problem with our electronic keycard and i door did not lock. 2. i was not inpress with the drivers of the hotel they were not verry friendly and was not verry helpfull always expected something in return for the info you ask them. espacally a small bould head guy.the bufett breakfast was excelant

but other than that our 11 night stay was good we are planning to return to this hotel in October 2013

Room Tip: upgrade your room to a higher floor superoir room has view of back wall off other hotel so dont book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOBRICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We had one night here, we checked in early and had a great time. Everything was inline with our expectations and it was a great place to stay. We'd definitely recommend this to anyone considering staying close to all the shopping centers in Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daingerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.0 mi away
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
#190 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bangkok Palace Hotel
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#79 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indra Regent Hotel
Indra Regent Hotel
#298 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ecotel Bangkok
The Ecotel Bangkok
#618 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vince Hotel
Vince Hotel
#194 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada D MA Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada D MA Bangkok

Property: Ramada D MA Bangkok
Address: 1091/388 New Petchburi Road 33, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#232 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada D MA Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers 286 tastefully decorated rooms, ranging from 32 to 38 square metres, including a variety of one and two bedroom suites tastefully decorated and equipped to please the leisure traveller as well as business executives. It features an international style restaurant with large Gallery of original oil paintings by a famous local artist which are for sale, a lobby lounge, several meeting & banquet rooms, 24-hour room service, business center, an outdoor swimming pool which includes a snack bar and fully a equipped gymnasium with saunas.D'MA Pavilion Hotel is closed to the Central Business District, shopping areas and within distance from the famous "Bangkok Night Life". It is also conveniently located near expressway to and from the airport and other destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada D MA Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada d`Ma Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing