We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but tiny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marvel Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #465 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very nicely located approx. 15min walk to the nearest metro station. Stayed in Dec'2010 with family while it was called the Grand Mercure.
Breakfast was nice but food a bit expensive inside the hotel.
The major downside was the tiny rooms that were quite opposite to our stay in Pattaya. Staff can't speak English so its quite a struggle to get things in your room.
Overall quite nice and decent for a short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Marvel Hotel Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 351 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Can i first say, i have stayed at the Marvel in Bangkok on two occasions, from the moment i reached the front door, i was greeted by the doorman with a real warmth you rarely find anywhere around the world. and trust me, i have been to many hotels in many countries.!
The Marvel hotel is quiet homely with an ambiance the that builds your feeling of comfort immediately. The ladies at the front counter are absolutely lovely, their English is of a decent level and they even attempted to teach me a some Thai language, so I did my best to greet them in Thai, and could see the appreciation in there eyes for doing so..! Im certainly not the easiest customer as i never book before arrival and even though i could see the hotel was very busy, the staff made sure i was fully looked after. The rooms are of a great standard. 4 star! Cannot complain about the Marvel..! Looking forward to going back.. Seano.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

i have stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. rooms and bathroom are very small. not have enough variety of Indian food. not up to the standard of 4 star. very far from the indra market. only one good thing is the Indian restaurant outside the hotel. Indian host good food but expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKAPOORS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I did not have a very good experience at the Marvel Hotel Bangkok because of the following reasons.
1. One of the staff misbehaved with me when I asked her about the room after already waiting for 1 hour.
2. The toilets are ages old.. So old that you can easily figure out.
3. I was having a both and I could see the water climbing up my ankles.. (No maintenance at all, even after complaining).
4.The walls in the corridor are awefully colored PINK.
5. Even when informed being a honeymoon couple, they make no special arrangements.
6. I hardly found any staff in the hotel, that's the reason of its poor service (may be)

The only thing which's good is the Breakfast and the restaurant. Orelse there's nothing in this property which makes you feel you're staying at a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a few extra bucks and stay at a better hotel on the same street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzammil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on many occasions over the past few years (it was formerly the Grand Mercure Park Avenue) and I have never experienced any theft from my room - ever. There is a safe box in all of the rooms. The staff are polite and efficient. The rooms are small but well appointed, very clean and everything works. There is free WiFi now and it works fine. I've rarely eaten at the hotel since there are so many restaurants in the area but when I have eaten there the food was good value. I'll most certainly use the Marvel Hotel again since it's very good value booked on the internet and the location is excellent.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts and avoid rooms with connecting doors - the doors are paper thin.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norrie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Unlike other hotels in Thailand staff of the hotel we're quite polite and helpful.. Room service was ok but quick but one thing you must keep in mind that don't leave your valuable or important documents in hotel as they don't need your permission to clean the room. They will clean it anytime you are away.
We ordered some food which was also good in taste however a bit expensive.

Do carry few bottles of water as they provide only 1 Litre of water free daily and next bottles are charged 40 bhat per bottle. You have 7/11 shop available at hardly 100 meter from hotel for daily use items n packed food.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Marvel hotel has a bad house-keeping service ,the house-keeping staff enters the room to make up the room and steals our belongings when we went out for a city tour. After repetitive asking they said “WE DON”T KNOW”. Instead of being sorry they were rude in our face.

The food options were very limited and there was hardly anything available that you wouldn't eat at a regular restaurant.

All-in-all it was very bad experience and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. If Hotel Marvel is to consider themselves a boutique hotel in the price range they charge, then they will have to drastically improve their management and the food options being offered.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shreya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Check Inn Regency Park
Check Inn Regency Park
#254 of 879 in Bangkok
605 reviews
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#292 of 879 in Bangkok
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#398 of 879 in Bangkok
135 reviews
Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
#304 of 879 in Bangkok
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marvel Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marvel Hotel Bangkok

Address: 30 Sukhumvit Rd Soi 22 | Klongtoey District, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Grand Mercure Bangkok Park Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#242 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $37 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marvel Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Bangkok's Sukhumvit area, Marvel Hotel Bangkok is a 5-minute walk from Prompong BTS Skytrain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marvel Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Bangkok Park Avenue Hotel Bangkok
Mercure Hotel Bangkok
Grand Accor Park Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing