We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marvel Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #442 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very satisfied.the reception area is very nice and staff very efficient when checking in. I do think 2000 baht deposit is a bit high most hotels only ask for 1000 baht. The room was very good really comfortable beds and pillows but the bathroom was very small. The restaurant where breakfast is served is very nice but could do with a better selection for european clients, more choice for Indians and Chinese. We found the pool to be very small with only a a few sunloungers not a problem when we were there as the weather was not that good but if it was very sunny and busy there would not be enough space. Location is good with bars and restaurants nearby and a short walk to the sky train.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    96
    115
    47
    47
See reviews for
70
97
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aizawl, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for just one night and actually never had much of oppertunity to examine the hotel...but on the whole it was good...life music at the lounge lobby was lovely...spa is available....pool is nice...room is nice....wash room is a bit small..reception is good..and can improve more...location is simply good.....every thing is a walk away....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khiangte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was told it is a 4-star hotel, but I didn't feel like I was in one during my visit. The rooms were very small, dingy, and smelly. The cupboard door was broken. The towel was torn. The cold water wasn't very cold, instead it was more like the hot water. Not sure if it was because it was summer or wrong plumbing. The food was decent, not amazing. Breakfast was complimentary. There's an amazing Indian hotel "Indian Host" just outside the hotel, which I think was the best thing about this hotel. Staff was courteous and helpful. wi-fi was free. speed was ok. At the time of checking they asked for a deposit of 2000 Bht. which they refunded. The nearest mall is Terminal 21. Skyrail nearest station is Phrom Phrong or Asok (I hope I spelled them correct). just over a kilometer walk, i think, to any of the stations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shoubhik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had 2 nights here, was a very nice and very good hotel. Clean and tidy, nice rooms. Great pool and everything we needed from a hotel in a city. The service was very good, and lots of good restaurants close by. Value for money was excellent and would definately stay there again. Paid a 1000bht deposit pp on check in, buy that was fine and they refunded it no problems. Good location to shopping areas and sky train. Good service, clean and tidy

Room Tip: a standard room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Booked Marvel because we wanted to be in Sukhumvit, it turned out to be a fairly pleasant experience. The location is a short walk from the Skytrain station and other nearby markets including Terminal 21 mall (worth checking out). Once there, our check-in was smooth although they did ask for a 2000 BHT deposit but I have paid deposit in other higher end hotels as well so no problems there. Btw, the checkout was smooth and the front desk guy returned my deposit just as I gave him, i.e. same $100 bill.

Room sizes are ok and our higher floor room had a good view, the mid sized pool on the 6th floor was clean and breakfast was also not bad. I don't say great because this is a small hotel and comparing it to the big chains is unfair especially considering the reasonable tariff they charge you.

For Indians, there is a nice Indian restaurant right next to the hotel but we skipped it as we wanted to try the street foods.

A word of advise though, the tripadvisor iPhone app gives wrong location for this hotel and some taxi drivers may also get confused as the hotel changed it name sometime back. I just called the front desk and connected them with my driver which worked perfectly!

All in all, an affordable short stay hotel for a couple of days in Bangkok.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mohitsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in the Hotel Marvel and could not fault anything about it.
I was advised by friends to stay near Sukhumvit Road which this hotel is on Soi 22 then a 3 minute walk.
Very good value for money, immaculate and convenient location.
No noise at night or trouble.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gangtok, Sikkim, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Was one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in, poor lights in the rooms, bathrooms too small and unkept, towel and linen quality poor, breakfast spread very bad, deceiving images on the net. Bad smell in the rooms and coridoor, mattresses sagging, nearly fell off the bed.

Room Tip: Try some other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanami_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Check Inn Regency Park
Check Inn Regency Park
#252 of 867 in Bangkok
591 reviews
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#289 of 867 in Bangkok
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#397 of 867 in Bangkok
129 reviews
Sukhumvit
President Park Bangkok
President Park Bangkok
#341 of 867 in Bangkok
735 reviews
Sukhumvit
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
#156 of 867 in Bangkok
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marvel Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marvel Hotel Bangkok

Property: Marvel Hotel Bangkok
Address: 30 Sukhumvit Rd Soi 22 | Klongtoey District, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Grand Mercure Bangkok Park Avenue)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marvel Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Bangkok's Sukhumvit area, Marvel Hotel Bangkok is a 5-minute walk from Prompong BTS Skytrain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marvel Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Bangkok Park Avenue Hotel Bangkok
Mercure Hotel Bangkok
Grand Accor Park Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing