We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better options available elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Unico Express Hotel
Ranked #788 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our stay in this hotel was not terrible, but it wasn't awesome either. It was average. Although the hotel's facade looked new, the room we stayed in was a bit old. The corridors were narrow. The staff were helpful but not so friendly. The buffet breakfast served the same food for the entire 4 days that we stayed there which is a bit disappointing. The area where it is located is okay, lots of convenience stores, Persian restaurants and banks. The prosti***es are a given. The walk going to the train station is a bit long especially if you plan to take the train everyday while you're there.

Overall I say we could have stayed in a different hotel at the same price but with better experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marxcabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Unico Express Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 488 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We looked this hotel via online booking. When we check in, the lobby look nice and check in was smooth but when we went to room we were disappointed as the room corridor is every small and room also every small and the bathroom was really bad smell and unforgettable to take shower. There is no bathmat in the room but we saw dirty cleaning cloth on the the TV we don;t know whether it is to be use as bathmat or housekeeping staff forget in the room. We asked whether can borrow multiple plug adapter but we were ask to buy from them. the staff not really friendly whenever we ask for service. We notice that they pay more attention to European guest and they don't care about Asian.Breakfast was good but internet was very slow.

Room Tip: Read more review before make decision to book this hotel. the real room is not nice as in the Photo
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piseth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

First of all sorry to post my review a year later, I should have posted much earlier. After reading other reviews, I decided to share my experience.

I along with my wife stayed there for 3 nights, after returning from Koh Samui - Phuket - Krabi... a total of a 15 day tour of my honeymoon.

I dont know how other hotels look in Bangkok, specially in NANA area, but when I compare it with my stay in Panalee Resort (Koh Samui), Kantary Bay Phuket, and Arawan Krabi Beach Resort... I FEEL IT THE WORST ONE.

I agree with some other reviews that enterance and lobby of this hotel does make it beautiful, but the upper floors where rooms are located, are dissappointing!!!
As some reviewers told that rooms are just 2 feet away from the lift door... and also the passage leading to other rooms.... It does give feeling of a haunted building.

Now rooms... absolutely nothing common between pictures shown on websites and the real ones, carpet was not clean, there was some kind of smell in that room, I dont know what to call that smell !!!
The window... when I remove the curtains a saw a wall just 1 feet away from the window, that means no view !!!

The bathroom... Certainly very small as compare to other bathrooms that I had experienced in the others hotels mentioned above... The sink was so small that I can not wash even my face without wetting my clothes.

I was also terrified of having love with my wife in that room, as was scared that this hotel might have cameras installed in the rooms..... since this hotel was frequently used by strangers who brought call girls with them... so I thought that the hotel can make video of them and sell in the market!!!!

Service... Not that good as compare to services I witnessed in other parts of the country... reason might be they were overloaded... or just that ITS BANGKOK!

Now the Buffet Breakfast.... I think it was OK for me. I didn't expected much, I just wanted to have as much as protein through eggs and meat (since Im a bodybuilder), which I got there.

And Now Location
Although I dont know much about Bangkok, but my advisor told me that NANA area is best for short stay and shoping and Halal Food dining. So Unico is pretty near to this area, and also NANA BTS skytrain, but at late night, the 5 min walk from Unico to Nana hustle bustle, is quite scary... which scared me enough, as not to go out after 10:30pm.

Overall... I would not stay here next time, unless there is no other hotel available under $50 in NANA

Room Tip: Rooms are different as shown in all of the websites, so dont get fooled!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very affordable room rates, proximity to major attractions in Sukhumvit, ease of access to both private & public transport services.

The location was very strategic, near sky train just 12 minutes’ walk, if you are tired you can always call taxi. Many foods at night at fair price. Although you need to go by taxi to go to the airport link, its not too far and affordable. Its like an affordable luxury. It was a quiet and undisturbed stay. I would recommend to anyone who wants to go for budget hotel in quiet area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torambus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Location was good, near to skyrail and Sukhamvit. Nightlife was great nearby . Lobby and entrance displayed as if it was a 4star hotel or so but frankly speaking it was just a basic hotel. Small clean rooms, i had without window. Normal TV and accessories. Room images on website are different than actuals. but i didnt regret because of the location and the deal.

Room Tip: ask for a room with window
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anandbhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Terrible, terrible terrible... the room picture on Agoda was nothing like my room, no carpet on the floor. exposed concrete colored red, old old old furniture, television useless, mouldy bathroom and a use less shower with 5 ft hose ...I'm six feet plus tall... old dirty towels and cracked tiles and a basin that you couldnt have a shave in... it looked like some relic from the 1950's. No seat and the lamps looked like they came out of teh Adams family. Staff were hopeless and didnt care which concerned me more than the room it shows a complete lack of interest in customers. There is much better value else where.. in fact many small regional hotels put this place to shame. The only plus was a pool but it rained all the time...what a waste of money!

Room Tip: Go Else Where
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abigmagilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very Basic Hotel, Rooms are not at all any near to the pictures shown on hotel website. Don't get fooled by the Lobby/ Entrance - that is only thing that's new.

I booked a package through D Paul's along with my friend & stayed from 25 May to 27 May & I committed the biggest mistake of my life relying on D Paul's - They are total cheats They charged me saying this is a 3 Star frankly this is not even 2 Star.

Location is offbeat, 15 min walk to nearest BTS Station - NANA & 10 minutes to nearest convenience store- 7/11.

Breakfast is very very basic with just 2-3 dishes & the same is repeated daily.

Jacuzzi was not working during stay, otherwise small 4.5 feet depth pool.

Bathrooms have moulds all over.

overall Badly in need of refurbishment, You have plenty of options in Hotels in sukhumvit area in same budget of USD 50 better located & relatively new rooms.

Room Tip: Only Deluxe room is somewhat bigger but overpriced
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RISHI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Inn Hotel
Grand Inn Hotel
#642 of 879 in Bangkok
258 reviews
Sukhumvit
Nana Hiso Hotel
Nana Hiso Hotel
#504 of 879 in Bangkok
3 reviews
Sukhumvit
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
#791 of 879 in Bangkok
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Oasis Inn Bangkok Hotel
Oasis Inn Bangkok Hotel
#572 of 879 in Bangkok
48 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspira Hiptique
Aspira Hiptique
#706 of 879 in Bangkok
245 reviews
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#404 of 879 in Bangkok
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unico Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unico Express Hotel

Address: 74 Sukhumvit Soi 3 | Khlongtoey-Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #788 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $30 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Unico Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unico group is pleased to be able to introduce The Unico Express Sukhumvit, situated in the heart of Bangkok with easy access to a wealth of amenities and some of the most specular sights Thailand has to offer.This property offers excellent value for money to price conscience guests with a transparent pricing scheme that is affordable for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Unico Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unico Leela Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing