We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside
Ranked #137 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good, but not great...”
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Stayed for a volcanic ash induced 6 nights in April at the end of our trip. Previously stayed at Millenium Hilton for 3 nights at start of trip and longed to be able to return there!

This Ramada is a good hotel with good facilities in a slightly out of the way river location, although still very easy to get around via shuttle boat or taxi's. Difficult to put my finger on what we didn't like, maybe it was just the overall sterile nature of the place. Staff were polite and friendly but not overly so, romm was fine although a little tired, bathroom definitely in need of updating. Breakfast served on the riverside terrace was good but we couldn't help comparing the experience to the Millenium Hilton where the breakfast on the riverside terrace was outstanding, in terms of choice and service the Ramada just didn't hold up well in comparison.

Nice swimming pool, plenty of space and sun, although it did get very busy with stranded travellers as our stay progressed. We became very familiar with the local area and grew fond of it, we found some great lunchtime food stalls and noodle shops and also good evening beer and food stops very close to the hotel when we didn't want to go further afield.

Overall, although perfectly comfortable and acceptable this hotel felt like it was a little passed it's best, it lacks the wow factor that comes from staying in a great environment with highly motivated staff. At the right price it's a good deal but I wouldn't pay top dollar for it.

To see how it can be done I suggest the management take a trip up the river to the Millenium Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earlybird321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    730
    214
    68
    33
See reviews for
352
782
145
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leicester england
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Public areas lovely, food in riverside restaurant lovely but poor service and you have to pay the 10% service charge as it gets taken out of staff wages if you don't. They charged us for delivering ice to our room, not on! No english breakfast teabags available.
We upgraded so had a separate lounge area and another toilet which was just as well as the other one didn't flush properly. Air con in the bedroom broken and set to freezing so had to be off, not comfy in Bangkok! Worst of all the room door lock was broken, so when we came back from our first outing the room was open and you couldn't lock it at all from the inside.
Breakfast okay and because of upgrade was in a private dining room but not excellent. Location was not a problem, and the complimentary boat service was excellent.
Shower was so weak had to have baths, and the bath plug wouldn't work as that was also broken!
There are other five star hotels at a cheaper price that look much better value, and are more modern, this hotel strikes me as tired, probably fabulous fifteen/ten years ago but not a good experience for us unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lormeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

A cool escape from the bustle of Bangkok. Breezy riverside location makes this hotel feel just a little cooler. Fun riverboat connection to the metro/ subway station means accessing the rest of Bangkok is easy. Great pool and huge breakfast buffet got my batteries well and truly recharged. Only complaint- fat pillows.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

The hotel is in need of updating. The location is a little out of the way but they do have a shuttle boat every 1/2 hour till 11 pm to the skytrain.
There should be more entertainment facilities at the hotel as there is not much to do there. Stay there only if you need to.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
640 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Bang on the river in pleasant part of a very noisy city, with good very cheap cafes close by.
Clean, excellent friendly kind staff but somehow rather austere. Needs to cover up some of the extensive exposed wood walls and have many more flowers in public areas.
Small complaints but I have stayed in many 4/5 star hotels in Bangkok which I would go back to in peference, but having said that I greatly enjoyed talking with the excellent staff

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON UK
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

My family and I had 2 Ramada River view Suites for 3 nights on stopover and again for a night on the return leg of our trip. It's actually difficult to review as I was undecided but my kids (9 and 11) loved it. This is mainly being down to the fact they had the cold swimming pool to themselves.

The hotel is fine, it's clean, the staff are friendly and try to be helpful (they couldn't tell me anywhere to eat nearby) and breakfast buffet was great with all the usual eggs/rice/muffins etc. I think it starts before 6a.m so its handy if you want an early start.

As stated on previous reviews our suites overlooked a car park and a cemetery and although they were river view, its not overly inspiring to be honest. If looking for a view then ask for the non cemetery side of the building as this looks up towards town.

The free shuttle boat is a nice way to start and end your days/evenings and runs frequently (takes about 15minutes) to Saphin Taksin BTS station which takes you into Siam square etc for 30bt. Be warned that we couldn't find a lift or escalator at the station here so keep that in mind if using prams etc. Anyway, You need to go to the concierge and tell him your room number and get a ticket for the boat but I don't think we were ever asked for it.

The "but" about this hotel is the same one that I've had for a few of the Bangkok ones in that they are really quite dull and soul less. We used the really rather nice riverside terrace bar for a beer one night and were the only ones there. The swimming pool is COLD (and I know what cold is, I'm Scottish) as it gets no sun at any point in the day which prevented us letting our baby have a dip and there's nothing apart from a 7/11 and a small supermarket within walking distance. If I was going back to Bangkok I wouln't stay there again as it's just a bit too far away from the centre (not as far as the Marriot riverside) and the shops etc. The hotel will provide a half hour a day free wifi connection but I had to convince one member of staff of this when he said my room rate didn't include it when it had done the day before. I'm not sure if free wifi is the norm or not...

We didn't use the spa as you can get a perfectly good thai or oil massage outside for a 5th of the price so can't comment on that.

We paid about £90 for each room and this inluded a one way mini bus transfer from the airport, again its not bad but I think with the selection of accommodation on offer in this City I'd try somwhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVEUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BULGARIA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Me and my husband had a great pleasure visiting Ramada plaza in November 2009. Excellent service. Verry good locaion - on the river. We definatelly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milenaribarova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#528 of 863 in Bangkok
796 reviews
ibis Bangkok Riverside
#166 of 863 in Bangkok
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside

Property: Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside
Address: 2074 Charoenkrung Road, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#116 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#121 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#165 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside is located on the eastern bank of the city's legendary Chao Phraya River. This Thai contemporary deluxe hotel sits on an expansive 3.5 acre plot with an impressive 220 metres of exclusive river frontage. The Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside offers magnificent panoramic views of the river and the Bangkok city skyline. Situated close to Bangkok's Central Business District (CBD) the hotel enjoys easy access to all business, entertainment and shopping zones by BTS SkyTrain, Chao Phraya Express Boat and the inner city Bangkok Expressway. Asiatique, the region's largest night bazaar, is just a leisurely five minute away but guests may also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary Tuk-Tuk shuttle service. The hotel provides frequent, complimentary shuttle boat services to the nearby Saphan Taksin SkyTrain station. The 525 well-appointed Thai-deco inspired guest rooms and spacious suites are furnished tastefully and equipped to meet the needs of today's business and leisure travellers. Choose from a broad selection of luxury room types - from comfortable Deluxe Rooms, Grand Deluxe Rooms and Plaza Suites to spacious Terrace Suites. The hotel's Presidential Suite, with terrace and outdoor Jacuzzi, represents the ultimate in riverside accommodation. Dedicated non-smoking floors as well as 'special needs' accessible guest rooms for the elderly and for the physically challenged are also available. For a memorable culinary experience, guests may choose from one of the hotel's four outstanding, individual restaurants. Lighter snacks and refreshments are available by the outdoor pool and in the lobby lounge. The hotel's Massira Wellness & Spa offers a wide range of massage, beauty and wellness treatments for local and international guests. The Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside is one of the city's most popular MICE venues for business and social gatherings. The 22 function rooms are fully-equipped and the two spacious ballrooms together accommodate up to 1,000 guests in banquet style. The stand-alone Menam Seminar & Convention Hall, which seats up to 600 guests theatre-style, is also a popular choice for social and business events. The hotel's ongoing commitment to Corporate Social Responsibility, energy management and environmental conservation has been recognised locally and internationally with many awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Menam Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Ramada Hotel Bangkok
Plaza Menam Riverside Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing