We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Initial stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside
Ranked #137 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
uk
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Initial stopover”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stopped at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of a 6 week Far East tour and arrived on 13th January in the midst of the stop Bangkok demonstrations.

The hotel is clean and offers a very good service demonstrated to us with us being immediately allocated a room after our overnight flight from Europe. The hotel offers a free half hourly shuttle boat to Taksin Bridge where you can connect with the various transport systems to get into the centre of Bangkok or travel along the river to see the various sites.

The hotel is a 5 minute safe walk from the recently developed Asiatique centre where there are various eating options, shows and shops.

The breakfast is efficient and the outside area alongside the river offers great views on the various usage of the river.

Like other commentators the only issue is the pool being so cold as it remains in shadow for the day due to the configuration of the hotel however we would use the hotel again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandjenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klaus_sennik, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing this fantastic review on the TripAdvisor.

It is always amazing to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate our guests who take the time to tell us how we can better serve them. It was also a real pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our hotel room, location, breakfast with great views and shuttle boat services.

However, I am sorry to hear that you could not make real use of our pool. The weather in Bangkok is pretty much warmer now as our pool is very shady during the winter from late Nov to early Feb, we will carefully look into the objective to ensure our guests could enjoy our offered amenities. Thank you sincerely for your constructive feedback.

Nothing could make us happier than to hear that you will come back to stay with us again and we really look forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind regards,

Klaus Sennik-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    730
    214
    68
    33
See reviews for
353
782
145
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

In details about service and etc:
1)Hotel located a bit away from center, but it has superb option - free river boat each 30 minutes to BTS. It is very easy and cheap to reach most of locations in Bangkok by BTS. No hassle with cheating taxi and tuk-tuk! Especially very fast and direct route to reach Siam Center.
2)On the way to boat there is counter with lady selling tours. I bought many and highly satisfied with them. Visited Tiger Temple, crocodile farm, floating marking, etc and enjoyed it.
3)Asiatique market nearby opens at evening till night. It has a lot of souvenir places, some other shops, massage, and a lot of nice restaurants, so you can spend time at day in city/tours, then come at evening at hotel, relax a bit, then have a fun in this market till late evening. Then just few meters walk and go to sleep to hotel.
4)Hotel have acceptable internet connection. Well, it is not perfect, but worked for me, and satisfied even my needs(i'm an IT). But wifi coverage a bit poor and QoS management need improvement.
5)I love breakfast there. You can take table "outside" and enjoy it early morning, watching peaceful river and boats. Very relaxing.
6)I noticed a lot of visitors from EU countries, mostly old people. Better than noisy drunk tourists from russian countries. (Even i'm russian).

So, last time i had vacation at Ramada, and second time i decide to bring my family. Despite problems in Bangkok i enjoyed each minute, and hotel are keeping highest level of service.
Also i was afraid, reading some bad reviews, and it was very very wrong - everything still perfect, and none of that bad reviews is true.
Highly suggesting this hotel! If i will visit Bangkok again, for sure i will stay there again.

Room Tip: Just don't take cheapest option, i guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuclearcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klaus_sennik, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write a wonderful review about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

It was really a bright and shiny day for me to read through your review. We are excited to learn how much you enjoyed your visit with us. We grealy appreciate your review and recommendation of our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our first priority and it pleases us to learn that your days were perfect. It is incredibly motivating for us all to learn that we could create such fabulous memories for you!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the second time and also for your high praise of our hotel, and we hope to have the honour of welcoming you and your family back to another pleasurable experience at the Ramada Plaza Menam again soon.

Kind regards,

Klaus Sennik-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very nice 5* hotel, but the location is not good for people who want to go to the city center, to far away. Good location for a boat trip on the Praya, right next to the hotel. Breakfast area is wonderful, you can sit next to the riverside. The dinner buffet is very expensive (!) comparing to other 5* hotels we have got in Thailand. All in all recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the Praya River are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klaus_sennik, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking your time to post your generous feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is with great pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel for a boat trip. It is also nice to hear that you had a wonderful time at Terrace@72 enjoying the Chao Phraya river view. With regard to your comments about our location, our hotel offers free shuttle boat service connect to the skytrain station from where you could easily access through city center or almost anywhere in Bkk.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Klaus Sennik-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A good looking building in a nice location. Communal areas are maintained to an exemplary standard. Fantastic pool which is very shady from Nov to Feb. Free shuttle boat to BTS leaves at 00 and '30 precisely. Free tuk tuk to nearby Asiatique. Two minor issues...unpleasant odour in the corridor of floor 14 plus the cleaning high up on ledges plus behind TV somewhat substandard, also, free fruit plate only replenished once.

Room Tip: Get a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Jackson850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klaus_sennik, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write an excellent feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for your positive comments. Your constructive feedback has been shared with our team to rectify the situation. We appreciate customers who take the time to tell us how we can better serve them.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Klaus Sennik-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#524 of 863 in Bangkok
797 reviews
ibis Bangkok Riverside
#167 of 863 in Bangkok
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside

Property: Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside
Address: 2074 Charoenkrung Road, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#116 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#121 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#165 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside is located on the eastern bank of the city's legendary Chao Phraya River. This Thai contemporary deluxe hotel sits on an expansive 3.5 acre plot with an impressive 220 metres of exclusive river frontage. The Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside offers magnificent panoramic views of the river and the Bangkok city skyline. Situated close to Bangkok's Central Business District (CBD) the hotel enjoys easy access to all business, entertainment and shopping zones by BTS SkyTrain, Chao Phraya Express Boat and the inner city Bangkok Expressway. Asiatique, the region's largest night bazaar, is just a leisurely five minute away but guests may also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary Tuk-Tuk shuttle service. The hotel provides frequent, complimentary shuttle boat services to the nearby Saphan Taksin SkyTrain station. The 525 well-appointed Thai-deco inspired guest rooms and spacious suites are furnished tastefully and equipped to meet the needs of today's business and leisure travellers. Choose from a broad selection of luxury room types - from comfortable Deluxe Rooms, Grand Deluxe Rooms and Plaza Suites to spacious Terrace Suites. The hotel's Presidential Suite, with terrace and outdoor Jacuzzi, represents the ultimate in riverside accommodation. Dedicated non-smoking floors as well as 'special needs' accessible guest rooms for the elderly and for the physically challenged are also available. For a memorable culinary experience, guests may choose from one of the hotel's four outstanding, individual restaurants. Lighter snacks and refreshments are available by the outdoor pool and in the lobby lounge. The hotel's Massira Wellness & Spa offers a wide range of massage, beauty and wellness treatments for local and international guests. The Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside is one of the city's most popular MICE venues for business and social gatherings. The 22 function rooms are fully-equipped and the two spacious ballrooms together accommodate up to 1,000 guests in banquet style. The stand-alone Menam Seminar & Convention Hall, which seats up to 600 guests theatre-style, is also a popular choice for social and business events. The hotel's ongoing commitment to Corporate Social Responsibility, energy management and environmental conservation has been recognised locally and internationally with many awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Menam Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Ramada Hotel Bangkok
Plaza Menam Riverside Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing