We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
$212
$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$122
Oriental Residence
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$518
$442
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$112
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SO Sofitel Bangkok(Bangkok)
$230
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,970)
Filter reviews
1,970 results
Traveler rating
774
831
249
78
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
831
249
78
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverplaza suiteasiatique marketfree shuttle boatboat servicenight markethotel boatexecutive floorsaphan taksina river view roombreakfast buffettuk tuksky train stationwelcome drinkthe hotel offerspool area isrooms are large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,033 - 1,038 of 1,970 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was opened in 1986 and it is showing signs of age. The rooms and fittings are comfortable but in need of an upgrade. On the plus side, the enclosed tree-fringed pool area on the ground floor and the riverside restaurants and terraces help to overcome any reservations. Partaking of the excellent buffet breakfast on a terrace on the river's edge, looking towards the skyscrapers of the business and shopping districts is a joy.

Some travellers might find the hotel a little isolated but the hotel provides a free river shuttle to the central jetty from where one can pick up cruise boats and also the overhead Skytrain. In addition, 5 minutes walk away is the new and vibrant Asiatique, a shopping mall/foodcourt which is very much the place to be and be seen at night.

Room Tip: The best views are obtained from the upper floors of the left-hand wing (looking at the building from the front).
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tombailey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klaus_sennik, Manager at Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor on your recent stay with us. We appreciate customers who take the time to tell us how we can better serve them.

Your feedback will be invaluable as we formulate ways to ensure we deliver good service that our customers will love, come back and tell everyone they know.

It was a pleasure reading your comments about our excellent breakfast and that you enjoyed your time at the vibrant ASIATIQUE-Riverfront next to our Hotel.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.


Kind regards

Klaus Sennik
Hotel Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is nice- the location on the river makes it a great value for the money. The breakfast eating area on the river is nice, however, the food is only so so. The rooms are nice however, the layout is strange as when you walk in the front door, you are in the bathroom area. The toilet area is not private as there is only a thin partition window between the tub and the living/bedroom area. Other than that, the room was nice, and the internet connection good. The best part of the hotel besides the location is that it has its own boat for transportation across the river.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a river view room as it is a spectacular view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvictoriaroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klaus_sennik, Manager at Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you your review on Trip Advisor on your recent stay whit us. We appreciate customers who take the time to tell us how we can better serve them.

Your feedback will be invaluable as we formulate ways to ensure we deliver good service that our customers will love, come back and tell everyone they know.

I have already shared your feedback regarding the Quality of the Breakfast with our team and have taken measures to improve.

It was a pleasure reading your comments about our Boat Shuttle.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to server you.


Kind regards

Klaus Sennik
Hotel Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in December 2012. It was a special anniversary for us and the hotel went to a lot of trouble to welcome us with a bunch of flowers for my wife, and complimentary cake and drinks in our room. They had gone to a lot of trouble to make the room up for our special anniversary. The bedrooms are big and very well equipped and modern. The breakfasts are fantastic and the staff were very helpfull checking arrangements for our Christmas evening druise and confirming flights.

What I also like about the hotel was the boat that went to the main MTR station at the river every half hour and back again. When you returned onto the boat for the short trip to the hotel in the afternoon after a long day doing tourist stuff, you were greeted with a refreshing towel and an ice cold water.
They are also near the local residents in Bangkok so you are able to go exploring the streets in a safe environment and see how locals live. There are a number of 7 Eleven shops near for any basics you need and a very nice shopping centre 5 mins walk away.

I can highly recommend this hotel for young and old, and the pricing I got was very good.

Room Tip: The higher you are in the building the better for a view of the river, and obviously ask for a river facing room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klaus_sennik, Manager at Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for taking your time to write a review on Trip Adviser

It is great to hear that you spent an enjoyable anniversary here at Ramada Plaza Menam Riverside and our service meet your high expectations.

Your kind words about the staff have been conveyed to them. Such compliments go a long way in boosting their moral to continue to provide service that exceeds our guest's expectations.

I am delighted about your comments on our Boat shuttle and the cold towel, again we appreciate your compliments which have also been passed on to the team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards from Bangkok & a Happy New Year!

Klaus Sennik
Hotel Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

As residents of Bangkok we generally don't stay in city hotels. However we booked into the Ramada Riverside for two nights over New Year. Checking in was slowish but the staff did their best to make us feel welcome as they coped with several other couples checking in at the same time. Our deluxe room turned out to be much better than I expected and was on a par with any other good hotel and as requested we had a river view.
The staff in any department or restaurant were excellent and willing to help.
The food at lunch in the riverside restaurant was good quality though we only sampled Thai food. Dinner was in the lobby and the fish and chips excellent....
Breakfast was not that great but I wonder if this was due to full occupancy and everyone wanting breakfast at the same time! Once again the staff tried to cope while being polite and courteous.
Overall the hotel IS excellent and I would not hesitate to return nor recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klaus_sennik, Manager at Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for having chosen our Hotel and your review on Trip Advisor on your recent stay with us. We appreciate customers who take the time to tell us how we can better serve them.

Your feedback will be invaluable as we formulate ways to ensure we deliver good service that our customers will love, come back and tell everyone they know.

I have already shared your feedback regarding the Quality of the Breakfast with our team and have taken measures to improve.

It was a pleasure reading your comments about our Rooms.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Kind Regards & Happy New Year!

Klaus Sennik
Hotel Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Ramada Plaza for a couple of nights over New Years. As a result of a change in plans, we were unable to stay at the Anatara riverside for a two day period during our stay in Bangkok. Given the good reviews on tripadvisor and its imposing position on the river, we figured that it would be a nice change.

This was not the case. The checkin was slow and cumbersome. Our "non smoking" requested room stank of musty smoke and we were told that there were no other rooms available aside from a twin queen which was actually a twin double bed.

The rooms are quite small and have aged and the style looks very dated and tired. The fittings could be from the 70s. The two bath towels supplied were threadbare and holey and the mattress rock hard with institutional linen.

The public areas all look dated. Whilst not particularly shabby, definitely dated.

The breakfast was mediocre and served at a riverside terrace which had a stunning view overlooking the water.

The food served at the pool bar and by room service was very expensive and really not great.

The checkout process was very slow and we needed to go find our own taxi as taxis do not seem to come to the hotel and the bell boys just seem to wait for their arrival.

While we were waiting for a taxi, they came running to ask for the laundry bag from our room. We used it for our dirty clothes and ended up paying them for it.

All in all, the hotel is strangely designed, extremely dated and does not have what it takes to compete with the other five star river properties.

The good
- Great view from room and restaurant. Don't go for a plaza suite- view of the car park.
- Decent shuttle service to the sky train
- Reasonably priced
- Pool staff were helpful

The bad
- Dated decor
- Shabby rooms
- Terrible mattress
- Threadbare & clinical towels and linen
- Room service
- Staff interactions
- Lack of privacy in inside of the U

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Word_Traveller_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klaus_sennik, Manager at Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

I am glad that you had an opportunity to stay in our deluxe rooms and that you enjoyed the great view from your room and our Restaurant. It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about our helpful pool staff and the decent shuttle service to the sky-train.

We have noted your concern and are working to ensure that you enjoy a better experience on your next visit.

Regards,
Klaus Sennik
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews