We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, clean hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside
Ranked #129 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, clean hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My spouse and I were here in late October 2012 for 3 nights after scoring an outstanding Groupon deal. While the check-in process could be stream-lined a bit to speed it up, we were very satisfied with our stay here. Friendly staff, clean and well-designed modern room, outstanding breakfast, and good restaurant with great food and fairly reasonable prices. Although the hotel itself is not directly beside many of the city's main attractions, the location next to the river is beautiful. The free boat shuttle for guests is a fantastic way to link up with other parts of the city. Wonderful live music each evening in the lobby bar. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2OttawaTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    700
    204
    65
    33
See reviews for
338
740
136
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

very good river view,nice rooms ,great hospitality,good selection of cusine during breakfast,have shuttle service by boat to the nearest bts station which avoids the crowded approach road travel, can have a sight seeing trip thro their boat service on river front attractions of temples etc.
asiatique is walking duistance for spending an evening dining and shopping .

Room Tip: 7th to 16 th floor with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SINGARAMMOHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Amazing hotel, great view on the river, very clean room, very friendly & helpful staff, rich & diversified breakfast, beautiful pool area, nice location on the river but far from downtown. Free shuttle boat until 8:00 P.M. Surrounding neighborhood not luxurious but still safe. Very close to Asiatique shopping center.

Room Tip: Always choose a room with river / pool view on the highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriseskandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here four nights in November as a business/couples trip. The location is terrific - right on the river with a free shuttle boat running every half hour to the pier where you can grab the skytrain. It's also close to Asiatique where there are a number of shops and restaurants, and right outside the hotel you can grab some most excellent coffee or Thai food at one of the many sidewalk food stands.

The hotel is not near the major tourist attractions - you do need to get on or in some form of transport - but the hotel is in a quieter section of Bangkok, and there's certainly no shortage of options (tuk-tuk, cab or the aforementioned shuttle/BTS skytrain) to get you where you'd like to go.

The lobby is spacious and comfortable with free wifi (they do offer free wifi in the rooms, too, but it's next to impossible to get a good signal in them). Our room was comfortable, safe and quiet. Our room looked out over the pool and river, which we liked very much. The bathroom had one of those overhead rain shower heads, which is fun as well as terrific for tall people!

Breakfast was passable...we definitely needed to grab a decent caffeine boost somewhere else. Our main quibble with the hotel was that the food, both at the breakfast and at the restaurant, was not that good - however, you are in Bangkok, so you have a wealth of options.

The gym, on the third floor next to the spa, was great and looked out over the river, which is a lovely bonus.

The service was extraordinarily helpful - the bellman in particular helped us arrange a car and driver for a day of touring at a very reasonable price, and he also answered any random questions we had about the area or tourist spots during our stay.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in November 2012. It was some distance from the city centre but the hotel provides a boat shuttle to the central pier where we can take the skytrain or a boat to wherever we wanted to go. These 2 modes of transport are most convenient as we were able to avoid the frequent traffic jams on the road.
Service in Thailand is generally good and this hotel is no exception. When we arrived, we were given a welcome drink while we waited for our rooms to be assigned. The receptionist took some time to brief us on the hotel amenities and graciously answered all our questions.
We had a quiet room with a river view which was very pleasant. The bathroom was rather small and provided a bathtub and a separate shower stall. Because of this, the washbasin was located outside the bathroom which was rather inconvenient. Another minus was that the room smelled musty each time we entered and the bedclothes could have done with a good airing as the dust made me sneeze several times. However, the bed was comfortable and once the air conditioning got going, everything was fine.
The breakfast buffet provided ample food of great variety but the duties of the serving staff were so clearly defined that when we asked the wrong person for coffee, he pointed at another person who was tasked with pouring the coffee. This happened twice. Generally, though, we managed to get the right people to carry out the specific tasks that they were assigned.
Still, it was a good deal and we would stay here again if we do not need to be in the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. It gives you a better view than the hotel entrance and the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Essie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 6 days, just a hotel trip by ferry to the skytrain, great rooms, lots of selections for breakfast, great pool, close to everthing, loved the fish santuary, Alms for the monks on saturday, and to top it off - a thai cooking school. Big tick from me

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have to start by stating that I am generally not a fan of Ramada properties, however this hotel has me seriously rethinking that position abroad. I checked in at the hotel in November and the process was quick and efficient with a welcome drink to boot.

I was a little concerned that the property was located so far from the BTS (Sky Train) however, my concerns were quickly alieviated when I discover that the hotel provides a COMPLIMENTARY shuttle boat from the hotel pier to the BTS station. Not only is this an amazing free service they will give you ice cold towles and cold water when you return to the boat to refresh yourself in the humid hot weather! Not only convenient, but you do not have to worry about being "taken for a ride" by the river taxis that all the tour books warn you about.

The room was spacious by Asian standards and comparable to US hotel rooms. The bathrooms were equiped with the standard shower but also a rainfall shower head. All of the toilets are american style with a bidet attachment if that is your preferance for cleaning. The only thing that I can think of that some travels may not like is that the corner of the shower/bathtub combo area (in same room, but two seperate facilities) is completly glass, fine if you are traveling with a spouse maybe not with friends in same room. There is a curtain that closes for privacy. I was with a friend and never felt like I didn't have privacy, but some travellers might.

Breakfast was very good right on the river with indoor and outdoor seating and a fine selection of European, Asian and American favorites.

The only thing that some my not like is the lounge has strange hours and the staff is not always well versed on how to make cocktails however I generally prefer to be on the city and not in the hotel drinking, but unlike other properties I found the lounges, and minibar fees to be so reasonably priced and had not concerns about using them.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you don't mind being on the edge of downtown.

TIPS: In the morning walk around the pier area where you catch the shuttle boat as giant catfish frequent the area looking for food. Finally I cannot stress enough use the shuttle boat every trip is like a river tour with changing views of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river even the rooms that do not face the river head on have very nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddienca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Bangkok Riverside
#166 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#119 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside

Property: Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside
Address: 2074 Charoenkrung Road, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#122 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#165 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside is located on the eastern bank of the city's legendary Chao Phraya River. This delightful property sits on an expansive 3.5 acre plot with an impressive 220 metres of exclusive river frontage. The Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside offers magnificent panoramic views of the river and the Bangkok city skyline. Situated close to Bangkok's Central Business District (CBD) the hotel enjoys easy access to all business, entertainment and shopping zones by BTS SkyTrain, Chao Phraya Express Boat and the inner city Bangkok Expressway. Asiatique, the region's largest night bazaar, is just a leisurely five minute away but guests may also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary Tuk-Tuk shuttle service. The hotel provides frequent, complimentary shuttle boat services to the nearby Saphan Taksin SkyTrain station. From here it is just five stops to Siam interchange which sits adjacent to major shopping malls such as Siam Paragon, Central World and MBK. The 525 well-appointed Thai-deco inspired guest rooms and spacious suites are furnished tastefully and equipped to meet the needs of today's business and leisure travellers. Choose from a broad selection of luxury room types - from comfortable Deluxe Rooms, Grand Deluxe Rooms and Plaza Suites to spacious Terrace Suites. The hotel's Presidential Suite, with terrace and outdoor Jacuzzi, represents the ultimate in riverside accommodation. Dedicated non-smoking floors as well as 'special needs' accessible guest rooms for the elderly and for the physically challenged are also available. For a memorable culinary experience, guests may choose from one of the hotel's four outstanding, individual restaurants. Lighter snacks and refreshments are available by the outdoor pool and in the lobby lounge. The hotel's Massira Wellness & Spa offers a wide range of massage, beauty and wellness treatments for local and international guests. The Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside is one of the city's most popular MICE venues for business and social gatherings. The 22 function rooms are fully-equipped and the two spacious ballrooms together accommodate up to 1,000 guests in banquet style. The stand-alone Menam Seminar & Convention Hall, which seats up to 600 guests theatre-style, is also a popular choice for social and business events. The hotel's ongoing commitment to Corporate Social Responsibility, energy management and environmental conservation has been recognised locally and internationally with many awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Plaza Bangkok Menam Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Menam Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Ramada Hotel Bangkok
Plaza Menam Riverside Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing