We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, crappy location”
Review of Princeton Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princeton Bangkok
Ranked #681 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel, crappy location”
Reviewed March 1, 2009

This is a nice business-style hotel, and is great value. We booked through wotif for only 1200 baht (US$33) per night. The rooms are quite large, with nice clean bathroom (although it was lacking a bathtub). There is a very nice outdoor swimming pool available, perfect for the Bangkok heat. Breakfast is included, though it's not the best.

However, the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Do not try to walk anywhere! We tried to walk home one night from the nearest skytrain station, it took forever and felt unsafe. Don't make that mistake. Be ready to take taxis or tuk tuk to/from the hotel, they may have difficulty finding it so take a card from the hotel to show the driver. There is also a shuttlevan available at set times during the day, to take you to the nearest skytrain station etc. Make use of this if you can.

Overall it was a great hotel, especially for the price. The only problem was the location.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otm_Shank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
10
16
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Alford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2008

My friend and I stayed here one night in early May 2008, and wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms are beautiful, and the people who own the place are super sweet and helpful. Will definitely look at staying here again the future!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tomas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Great:
This hotel brings you great value for money. Very nice rooms, very nice service, pool with very nice view over downtown.
But:
It's in the middle of nowhere. Without a taxi you are lost and taxi drivers need the piece of paper given to you by the reception desk with an explanation how to find this hotel.
At the travel desk there is an odd guy that wants to sell you everything from elephant tours to suits.
Summary:
Maybe a good choice if you want to have a nice hotel and just going one day downtown.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TooMuchOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

We booked this hotel on a last minute internet deal for about US$50 per night and stayed here 2 nights. We didn't have a chance to do any research, if we'd read the reviews on Tripadvisor we probably wouldn't have stayed here. But, stay here we did...
It's not in central Bangkok, but in an outer suburb - Din Daeng. We'd already seent he main sights of Bangkok anyway, and just wanted a base from which we could do a day trip to Ayutthaya, so the distance from attractions didn't really worry us. The major problem that we had with this place was getting to it! Our minibus back from Kanchanaburi dropped us off near Khao San Rd at about 4.30pm, and we had real trouble finding a taxi to take us there. No-one had heard of it, and even when we went into a local business and got the staff to write the address in Thai for us, taxi drivers didn't want to take us there, saying it was "too far" and "rush hour," or quoting us exorbitant prices and refusing to use the meter. After much negotiating on street corners, eventually all 6 of us, with all our luggage, piled into two tuk-tuks, who still charged us over the odds but at least they got us there! There isn't much else in the way of shops or restaurants in the immediate area either, other than the Family Mart convenience store right outside. Check-in was straightforward and they served us a face-puckeringly sweet drink on arrival.
The rooms themselves were pretty standard business hotel fare: comfy beds, clean bathrooms, a reproduction print, a couple of lamps and an overpriced minibar. Each room had a little balcony where you could stand and enjoy the view while gently roasting in the blast of hot air from the air-con unit. We didn't have any issues with bugs or poor hygene, however, that's not to say there weren't a few quirks in other respects!
For example, when we first got out of the lifts on our floor, there were no lights on in the hotel corridor and it was quite dark. The second day, my friend's key stopped working to turn the power on to her room, and despite a several calls and visits to reception, it took a couple of hours to get sorted out.
The swimming pool was nice and refreshing, and none of the other guests used it at all during the course of our stay so we had it all to ourselves. Literally all to ourselves, as there were no staff in the pool area, and we couldn't get any towels, snacks or drinks, despite numerous attempts. This suited us OK, we eventually bought our own snacks and drinks from the Family Mart, sat them in some ice out of the mini bar and used the towels from our rooms. We couldn't figure out how to turn on the spa jets, but we did have fun speculating about whether the holes in the glass window of the adjacent conference room really WERE bullet holes. They certainly looked like bullet holes, but fired from the inside...
We ate at the restaurant the first night. Considering there's nothing else around and we were basically a captive audience, it could have been worse. There was a wide selection of Western, Thai and Chinese dishes, and the large serves really were quite large. The prices were OK, the service well intentioned but inept. We were entertained by Asia's answer to Billy Joel, who had a synthesizer and a large repetoire of elevator music. We couldn't figure out whether his companion was a professional singer or just another guest who'd jumped up on stage for a bit of karaoke.
Breakfast was also OK, despite the baffling array of unidentifiable morsels on the buffet. If you have a bit of a forage there's bound to be something there you're prepared to eat, even if it's just toast and an omlette.
We had the strong impression this hotel caters mainly for Asian package tourists and conferences; they certainly seemed to make up the majority of other guests and facilities were geared towards them. It's worth mentioning that there was a conference for disabled athletes (IBAD) on while we were there, so obviously it's pretty wheelchair friendly (though there were steps up to the pool deck). The reception staff spoke reasonable English, but a complicated conversation (eg. when you're checking out, and you accidentally hand them your friend's room key instead of your room key, and then have to ask for it back 5 minutes later because their bags are still in the room and they can't get back in there) could have them stumped.
The Princeton Park Suites seems like a cheap hotel trying to pretend it's an expensive hotel, but not getting it quite right. If you are particular about your accommodation and like everything to be predictable and functional, I wouldn't stay here. I mean, it might be fine, but I wouldn't like to guarantee it.
On the other hand, if you're in Bangkok (or Din Daeng, for that matter), you're on a bit of a budget, but you still want a place with a pool, air-con, and an overpriced beauty salon/massage parlour attached... well, you could probably do worse. But then again, you could probably do better.

  • Liked — It was cheap for Bangkok
  • Disliked — It wasn't actually in Bangkok...
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

dubai,uae
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2007

The hotel is good value for money and located quite away from the regular hustle bustle of the downtown.The staff were also generally good especially the bellstaff but the tors and transfers organisers tried to fleece us out of our money . Thankfully we decided to explore the city on our own and it worked out much cheaper that way. there is not much choice for vegetarians on the hotel menu even the breakfast is so full of meat items. the housekeeping staff were very polite and helpful. yes is there is problem with the mosquitoes in the night, my son had bites all over his legs. better take a mosquito repellant along.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank prasheet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TO
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2006

This hotel has a huge issue with bugs. When we first walk in the hotel, staff there were holding those electric racquet to kill mosquitos by hand. We had a room by the elevator and the windows by the elevator is broken and our room has loads of mosquitos. We had td buy a bug lamp and turn the A/C to 15 degree celcius in order to stay inside. We went to our neighbor's room and saw roaches everywhere. The beds were sunken in the middle, and we could hear our neighbor's t.v. till 5:00 a.m. Bathroom has mold, water stinks and the blow dryer took forever to dry your hair, but it heat up after 10 mins that you can't even touch it. I was told by a friend who is a tour guide that stayed here 3 years ago that this hotel is very descent for the price. I really don't think this hotel it's only been few years old. Breakfast is horrible. Tha only good thing about this hotel is it has a 24 hours conenient store on the main floor.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank monmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Witchuwan Apartel
#724 of 867 in Bangkok
28 reviews
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#474 of 867 in Bangkok
148 reviews
Hi Residence
#675 of 867 in Bangkok
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel
#764 of 867 in Bangkok
431 reviews
The Park Residence @ Bangkok
#463 of 867 in Bangkok
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princeton Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princeton Bangkok

Property: Princeton Bangkok
Address: No 59 Mitmaitri Road, Din Daeng District, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Princeton Park Suites)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Din
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #681 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princeton Bangkok 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Princeton Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princeton Park Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing