We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service and Value for Money”
Review of The Tawana Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tawana Bangkok
Ranked #223 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
patrick074
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Service and Value for Money”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I got a deal online for USD50 stay per night. For this money, I doubt you can find a hotel with equivalent standard in Bangkok. This was used to be 4 star hotel, I suppose, and even though it shows its ages, the property are rather well kept.

Room are big, bed comfortable, bathroom big enough. Really nothing much to complain at this price.

And it's located right at the end of Patpong. Nearest BTS would be Saladaeng, a good 10min walk, but the hotel does provide free shuttle service.

Staff are friendly and command of English is acceptable. All in all, highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    472
    163
    38
    25
See reviews for
63
237
131
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed at The Tawana Hotel for one night in June 2013. The service offered by the staff of the hotel was most commendable. The moment we stepped into the hotel, we felt welcomed and valued. Everyone, from the bell-boy to the receptionists, seemed to spring into action to serve us. And it wasn't only at check-in, it happened every time we appear in the lobby.
The facade, the entrance and the lobby were impressive, and the room, clean and spacious. The shuttle service to the skytrain station was always available. Its location is perfect, near skytrain and metro stations, close to the Patpong night market and Soi Lalai Sup - a local market, and with lots of eateries within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Ramada a couple of times now having traveled to Bangkok on pro bono work for a church based organisation. The hotel is really old but in my opinion, the hotel's age is what makes it appealing. The room floor as well as hallway are made of wood which I really like. The superior rooms are spacious and clean, well maintained, and like home (at least for me). Toilet and bath are modern. The restaurant and coffee shop are worth the money that you pay for. Staff are friendly and helpful. Try the seafood buffet every lunch time at the second floor. The place is always full during lunch. In house Thai massage is great but the price is for tourists. BTS is 15 minutes walk. There is a market about 10 minutes walk where you can eat local Thai dishes. Be careful of getting a taxi at Suriwong after 8 PM as it will not be metered and the driver will charge you 4 times to where you want to go.Lots of restaurants both cheap and pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanmanuelrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

located very near to Patpong Night Market. you can get public transport easily (tut tut, taxi, train). for muslim, i only found 1 halal restaurant (Alaadin). so it's kind hard to find food there. but 7-11 helps at the end of the day (instant noodle). travel via train is easy and less expensive as taxi drivers try to squeeze tourist's pocket.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimanFadzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We chose Tawana Hotel since found a bargain on the net kind of 1300 baths (42 USD/night) for three nights. The location is perfect for nights outs since close to Patpong Night Market and Silom. The Hotel is definitely old, probably 30 years or so, has an impressive hall, very nice people and service is quick and excellent.
Rooms are a bit old stylish due to the age of the whole complex but at least we found ours was clean with everything working.
For the price we paid it's an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Innovation Sola... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strangnas, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The entrance and lobby was awesome, just amazing. But the restaurant wasn't more than average, or maybe less than average. Tried botht the breakfast buffe and the dinner buffe, both were way below my expectations!

The rooms were not close to five stars either, broken and repaired stuff and windows so dirty it was discusting!

Personnel although held a 4-5 star class, so service minded and kind!

One of the cheapest 5-star hotels in Bangkok, but still not a 5-star hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bell0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is my business trip to bangkok and I stayed in Tawana for 2 nights. When I arrived to hotel, Wow, it is quite disappointed with the old style lobby, like in 70's.

Services is good and when I reached to the room. I can say that it is more than my expectation in room only. Not much modern facilities, but room is clean, linen and towel is new. I have nice sleep in it.

Moreover, it is located near the patpong night market. 7-11 and cheap massage are nearby. Breakfast is okay but a little bit crowded of people.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to have a more quite environment because it is located near night market
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GordonLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#190 of 858 in Bangkok
867 reviews
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Silom
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Montien Hotel Bangkok
#379 of 858 in Bangkok
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
De Arni Bangkok
De Arni Bangkok
#464 of 858 in Bangkok
168 reviews
Silom
Rose Hotel
Rose Hotel
#399 of 858 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#388 of 858 in Bangkok
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tawana Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tawana Bangkok

Property: The Tawana Bangkok
Address: 80 Surawongse Road | Si Phraya, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tawana Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tawana Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tawana Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Tawana Hotel Bangkok
Ramada Bangkok
Bangkok Tawana Hotel
Bangkok Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing