We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and a decent place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tawana Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tawana Bangkok
Ranked #231 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good location and a decent place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I've stayed here several times. I think it was a Sheraton back in the 80's and then a Ramada. Now, the Tawana is still under good hands and it shows. The hotel has a decent size room with all the trimmings. TV, in-room-safe, mini fridge, all bathroom amentities and good air conditioning. There was a relaxing outdoor pool with an ample amount of lounge chairs. The staff was super nice and helpful. Have them get you taxis and they can tell the driver your destination. Don't negotiate the price unless it is super cheap. The meter rate is usually less. Best of all...Location, location, location. Almost at the end of Patpong, where you spend your evenings shopping or partying. There is a McDonalds, a Family Market and 7 Eleven close by. You can walk to the Chao Phayara River but a tuk tuk is advisable because of the heat. The breakfest was super, lots of choices. I can't say anything on the downside of this hotel and will stay there again, probably this summer.

Room Tip: Their all good rooms but facing the pool is always one of my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 767captlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    466
    160
    37
    25
See reviews for
63
233
127
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel seems to be fading away in the face of more modern and brighter competition. An old style "grand entrance" from a rather gloomy street leads to a staircase to reception with a bakery shop plonked in the centre. The staff were pleasant but spent rather a long time outlining their policy of no visitors to guest rooms after 6 PM: I don't think my Thai business colleague and I looked all that suspicious!
The room was a little dark and very dated, although clean and well made up. The bathroom was good.
Breakfast was excellent and the setting very bright and pleasant. For me the highlight came when I accompanied some senior Thai colleagues from the meeting I attended to the restaurant for a buffet lunch. The buffet was extremely good in range, quality and freshness. But what really impressed me was when one of the chefs, an Englishman, offered to make me a Caesar salad, which was beautiful. He followed this up by arranging a dish of baked ham with a fruit based salad and simple garnishing which he brough me, unsolicited to our table: when my senior colleague admired the dish he prepared it for her, and when I later went to choose desert he suggested he prepare me one "his style" which was a simple but beautiful ice cream, creme caramel and berry fruit concoction. The experience dramatically changed my feelings about the hotel because with staff like that many other things can be overlooked!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donandkeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel has a great location and staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was beautiful and although the rooms were a bit dated it didn't matter to me as I was on vacation and didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyways. The breakfast was overpriced and not especially good but no big deal...I just got street food for $1 anyways! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very nice entranceway and friendly door staff. RECEPTION STAFF however, need to brush up on their people skills, rude and abrupt! even when checking out the guy was an absolute *****

The aircon would only go down to 24 degrees and the windows could not be opened. Just as well they couldnt as there was a huge wasp nest along three windows.

The lifts were extremely slow and the pool woefully small. Also the pool closes at 6pm!!!! it should close at 9 or 10.

Only great thing about this hotel is its location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rthl1ght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

When the shiny glass door of Tawana opened,one is automatically transformed into an era of gentleness and simple elegance. As soon as you recieved a proper welcome from the bellman, immediately the big chandelier and the spiral staircase would catch your attention. We were ushered into a very spacious room. The rooms we were told were recently refurbished, but Tawana being there for ages, they can only do so much with the room design. Some say it is outdated but I say they are being true to the architectural design of Tawana. The mattress although firm had a nice bounce to it. The sheets used were superior, toiletry kit complete together with the matching sanitized robe and new pair of fluppy bedroom slippers.

Tawana has the best location as it is along the Surawongse road and near Silom where you can find rows and rows of eatieries. A hodge podge of fine dining,self-service and standing only eateries. From our window, you can see a big man chopping vegetables with a knife-skill the envy of a master chef and a steam coming from the huge pot of stock from his makeshift cart. With this view from our window, we were enticed to leave our room and sample the gustatory delight that the big man had to offer...we were not disapponted. We went back to Tawana after that wonderful meal and we were again offered a welcome drink with a choice of coffee or fruit punch. Such a gracious host!

Tawana also offers a free tuk-tuk ride to 3 major stops that would make your exploration to Bangkok easier. There were no miscommunication problem at all with the staff as they are well versed in the English language and are very helpful and courteous. They serve an elegant continental buffet breakfast together with traditional Thai breakfast at the Tawana Restaurant.

It was a pleasant stay we had at the Tawana. We were charmed,served well and graciously welcomed by the Tawana people and it is with them and through them that we got a glimpse of what to be a Thai is all about. Khup kun Ka Tawana!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gold V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here some months ago and reported favourably. I returned to stay twice in October 2012. On the first occasion I had booked through the Internet. On arrival I was upgraded to "a better room" which turned out to be vast - though with a very small shower room (no bath) in one corner. All very clean, well equipped and well enough maintained but everything works well even if it is all looking a bit dated. The staff are all efficient, helpful and friendly, nearly all with at least an adequate command of English. It is still the best value in this area.

On the second occasion I arrived at six in the morning to stay until mid-morning the day after - and with no booking. Many hotels would have demanded that I pay for two days at the rack rent. They didn't - they asked for not much more than a quarter of that. I think this hotel ought to be supported!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wulfruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Plusses: Value for money, free wi-fi, pleasant housekeeping staff, location great for shopping, cheap dining alternatives, and accessible to more commercial places like malls, cinemas. usually if one is a repeat visitor to Bangkok like me, one must be able to live like the average local resident. Was given fruit plates on 2 occasions, was a nice touch. Bed was comfortable and they acceded to my request of 5 pillows.
Minuses: Cable TV channels, though enough, tend to flicker due to poor signal sometimes. Room looks outdated (though clean) except for one solitary cockroach one night...forgivable. The lobby looks eerily dark when you arrive after midnight. For long-staying guests, a free English newspaper would be welcome. The room slippers provided appeared used, almost threadbare. Almost got scalded when the water in the showers could not be adjusted from hot to lukewarm and this went on for the entire duration of my stay. I could have complained but they should have known this all along and corrected it. The traditional Thai wood decors are nice but the hallway floors though well maintained and polished tend to be noisy by the clickety-clackety sound of shoe steps. I did remove my shoes after leaving the elevator on the way to my room because the sound is kinda embarrassing and disturbing to the other guests.
To sum up my experience, yes, this hotel is acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDy_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#186 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Silom
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Montien Hotel Bangkok
#372 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
De Arni Bangkok
De Arni Bangkok
#473 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#392 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Silom
Rose Hotel
Rose Hotel
#418 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tawana Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tawana Bangkok

Property: The Tawana Bangkok
Address: 80 Surawongse Road | Si Phraya, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tawana Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tawana Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tawana Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Tawana Hotel Bangkok
Ramada Bangkok
Bangkok Tawana Hotel
Bangkok Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing