We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #102 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I just can't understand why this scores so highly. The rooms were small(ish), the pool small(ish), the location ain't great, although the hotel runs you to the end of the soi, you're still a little walk to the skytrain / bar areas. The price isn't small(ish).

The upside: The front-desk staff were excellent, checking us in and out really efficiently. In fact all the hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming.

I didnt eat at the Indian Rang Mahal restaurant in the hotel, but it smelled divine and there's a really neat view of the Bangkok skyline. Had I been staying for more than 2 days I would have sampled for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtbkk, Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Dear dhayes,
Thank you for your feedback.
It is very rewarding to read you felt that all of our hotel associates were very friendly and welcoming. Many guests remark that our pool is very large for being in a city (116 square meters/1,249 square feet), but I think this is like room size (30 Square meters/323 square feet) a question of taste. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. However, if you have any suggestions, comments, or concerns please feel free to contact me at anytime at e-sales@rembrandtbkk.com.

Best Regards,
Jackson Ferguson
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    1,761
    327
    75
    31
See reviews for
722
2,107
278
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
201 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Excellent breakfast buffet, nice rooms, very nice and helpful staff

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mishaellla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Director of Sales at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 17, 2016
Dear Mishaella

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the Rembrandt Hotel during your recent trip to Bangkok and for taking the time to post your feedback. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we are so pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thanks again and we shall look forward to your return.

With Kind Regards,

The Rembrandt Hotel Management Team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune,MH,India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

After a week long stay at Koh Samui we decided to spend few days in Bangkok before we returned to India. Well worth a mention the hotel was good for its price and the room did have admirable setup for our honeymoon with rose petals on the bed in heart shape and some complimentary eatables.
The hotel does have good restaurant but we decided to explore the city for our taste buds.
The hotel does offer a breakfast deal which I found very valuable with great spread of cuisine.
The only disappointment was the staff's friendliness in helping us getting road direction or guide to the city. There wasn't any decent map available at the information center to help us explore the city which was unlike Koh Samui or other cities I have been traveling too.
Overall I think I had great stay at the hotel and would recommend as it was worth the price but just remember to get your map if it is your first visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rembrandtbkk, Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Dear JSMate,
Thank you for your positive feedback.
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and opinions about our hotel.
We agree that a good map would be very beneficial for our guests and are working on making a new one. In a continuous effort to improve our service standards we have also started a training program entitled "Guest Contact Skills" for our associates. We hope that these improvements will increase our standards of service to provide you with a more fulfilling experience the next time you chose to stay with us. If you have any suggestions, comments, or concerns please feel free to contact me at anytime at e-sales@rembrandtbkk.com

Best Regards,
Jackson Ferguson
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Found all the staff very friendly and gave exceptional service...from the lobby...security..housekeeping...restaurants...all excellent.
Breakfast was one of the best I have had in Bangkok....I travel twice a year to Bangkok and at last have found a "home".
Will be returning again...without any hesitation.
It was my pleasure to experience this hotel and my thanks goes to all the staff and obviously good management.
Regards
Anson Bragg.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We took a gamble selecting this hotel as we were told to get one on Sukhumvit street as that was the heart line of the action in Bangkok. It is situated on soi(street) 18 which is a lil away from the malls especially the shopper’s paradise MBK mall. So one would recommend getting a Hotel closer to the Asok or nana station, or even much better the chidlom station which is the heart of the mall world called Central Chidlom. But we didn’t regret moving an extra mile from the hotel as we chose the executive rooms which start from the 21st floor. The view was great and one could request for a river view room which makes it even better. Thats not it, they pack in the executive lounge privileges which offer free tea, snacks, alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages with appetisers. They also serve the morning breakfast in the lounge if one wants to avoid the morning bustle in the regular coffee shop. The sky station asok is close and there are enough cabs and tuk tuks available outside the hotel. We were very pleased with out stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmgarewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I had my second of three wedding related parties at this hotel, the Indian Sangeet. From what I understand, a lot of people have Indian parties here, but from what I heard, the way we decorated the ballroom was the prettiest it has ever been...

Rembrandt is a slightly older hotel in a neighborhood and a bit of a walk from skytrain. Thus, you need to take the tuk tuk to the skytrain stop or a taxi. I had a terrace suite, which had two rooms and two full baths. The rooms weren't large, but large enough to have a hair person and a make up person besides myself, my husband, my family, the groomsmen and bridesmaid all in the room at the same time getting their hair done or make up done or working on the slideshow. The service of the hotel was fine and I had no complaints. It is slightly older, but still pretty modern.

The food catered by the hotel was delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellakaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

The hotel was in itself a great place. It's inside a bylane so a short walk but very close to the sky-train so makes it easy to travel to the city centres.
Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and very clean. It has great restaurants that serve a variety of cuisine. The breakfast buffet was elaborate and delicious. It has 24-hour room service. The only downside is that the portions are too small.
Staff is very courteous and helpful.
Overall, I loved staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archimags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#87 of 858 in Bangkok
2,325 reviews
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#98 of 858 in Bangkok
2,555 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok

Property: Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Address: 19 Sukhumvit Soi 18, Sukhumvit Road, Klong Toei | Klong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#66 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#66 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#91 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok is conveniently located in the new, trendy Sukhumvit area of Bangkok. Our hotel is within walking distance of Asoke (BTS) as well as Sukhumvit (MRT) public transport stations offering our guests access to all major shopping, entertainment and nightlife areas of Bangkok. Here at the Rembrandt, we pride ourselves on our high levels of service, great food, diversity, offering great value for money and giving our guests the home away from home feeling.Welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Rembrandt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing