We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern tower block hotel centrally placed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #105 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A modern hotel with some very nice facilities. Unfortunately we were only staying one night but we did have an excellent suite on the front from where a good view to the river was available. The balcony was extremely large and the four rooms of the suite were beautifully appointed.
Breakfast buffet looked better than it was and many items needed to be better cooked and presented and the staff in this area were only too willing to do the minimum in plate removal etc. It is so important to have fast plate removal in buffet situations. Returning from the buffet to previous course plates is not good. This area let the otherwise excellent hotel down in my view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golferofsaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,720 - 2,726 of 4,493 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Situated away from the busy Sukhumvit Road, it is quiet and yet accessible to many places that interest travelers. Love the many massage outlets along the road. Many banks and eating places around the area. Breakfast was ok though service was a bit slow, especially with the clearing away of used plates and cups from the previous guests. Room came with free wifi which is a "must have" nowadays.We love the live duet piece at the lounge in the evening, playing jazz music. Could just sit there for hours listening to these talented musicians.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sushsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A very nice hotel, centrally located, the room that we had was very quiet and the reception staff are very accommodating and helpful. The bed to our delight was very big and I mean bigggg....The bathroom was also quite large. The breakfast buffet was good. Some of the staff need some training in answering guests inquiries. During our first day, I told two of the staff that glass tray is empty and they just looked right through me. Did they understand what I said or what. But then there's a lady (with glasses) in the restaurant who knows what service is. She was very quick and very nice. On our second day, she remembered that we like to take our coffee after meal. And that's what she did, we got our coffee after eating without us telling her. We later talked to her in the evening and told her that we had a good time in Rembrandt and thanked her for a very good service. This lady is a pro!!! We'll stay here again for sure when we are in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliviahafnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed in many other hotels in BKK on business, but this hotel really was a treat. Travelling for vacation with my wife, we were both very impressed with the room, the comfort and the helpful staff.

Complimentary water every day very usefulness, especially in mid 30s. Pool snacks a bit pricey for what they are. Breakfasts great, but get there early. Our last day was a Sunday and everyone decided to breakfast late. Disaster! Not enough coffee pots or tea pots, ran out of cooked food, except eggs (yuk!). Restaurant staff obviously couldn't cope and no one apparently in charge of the situation. Queue to get into breakfast awful.

Location great, just off Sukhumvit and the Skytrain handy.

Room Tip: Avoid late breakfast at weekends to avoid queues and no food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenorPico, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Scawley
Thank you for your continuous support and loyalty for Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok. We highly appreciate the kind words that you have written about our property.

We are delighted to know that you had such a pleasurable stay and enjoyed our facilities and the services provided by our team.

Again, our sincerest thanks. The Rembrandt is happy to be your home away from home.

Best regards,

The Rembrandt Team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We loved our time at The Rembrandt - it beat our expectations which is always great. We had an executive room which gave us access to the executive lounge which was really great! The breakfast buffet was amazing - too many choices!! Great value and location.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenorPico, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear jmhcktt

Thank you for your outstanding rating. We appreciate the time and effort you invested in writing us such a detailed review.

It has been our goal to ensure that your stay is a perfect 10. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Again, our sincerest thanks.
We look forward in welcoming you back at the hotel.

Best regards,
The Rembrandt Team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Difficult to fault this hotel really. Had no problems with check in and staff very helpful. Couldn't check in until midday but that's not unusual for a hotel and there was an option to pre pay for an early check in, however we preferred to head for China Town.
In house Tour desk was very helpful and suggested how we might best get around Bangkok and avoid the cons such as being told that the attractions are closed for lunch (by people hanging around tube exits, Tuk Tuk and Taxi drivers). Truth is that they just want to redirect you to their restaurant or take you on a city tour, They're not aggressive with it but they are lying. Most attractions are open 7 days a week - all day long, so don't be taken in.
The hotel has a nice pool but you need to be strategic with the sun as the surrounding buildings will shade the pool as the day draws on.
Lovely choice at breakfast. We only tried the Mexican restaurant which has Mexican staff and chef. Cooking is authentic and hot. Plus the staff get involved in a bit a of dancing to the live band which is all good fun.
We preferred to get out and about. About a 10min walk is a themed restuarant called Cabages and Condoms. Well worth a visit. Very good food and interesting decor! Get a taxi (about £1)from the hotel as it's tucked away and then walk back.
At the Rembrandt you're also only a 10min walk from the red light district of Soi Cowboy. Worth a visit (as a tourist) just to say you've been. Best bit was the Lady Boys club. Buy them a coke and get a couple of pictures. It's all very safe. If you want anything else from this area then that's up to you!
Trips:- did the River Kwai and Elephant trekking one which also included the rafting, a waterfall and a train journey on the infamous death railway - all very good. Also did the floating market. This one not so good, as the minibus took us to other places such as Elephant trekking (not the same one as above) and a wood carving place / car park. This all meant that we only had an hour at the market for a trip that took most of the day. You should investigate taking a taxi instead. Also be wary of combining trips such as Floating Market and Tiger Palace. They are miles and miles apart and you'll be in for a long mini bus journey. I must add that these were not the official trips from the hotel tour desk. We couldn't get booked into these as it was a very busy time of year. Suggest you phone / email through to the hotel and pre book via the desk, or you'll be taking your chances elsewhere, which will be cheaper but they fill up the minibuses and you'll be spending more time travelling.
Make good use of the Sky Train and Metro unless you like sitting in traffic jams. It's cheap and efficient. You are only minutes from the Asoke station and there's even a hotel Tuk Tuk shuttle. Try taking the Sky Train to China town, have a walk through to the river and then a long tailed boat around the canals.
If you do use a taxi getting him to put the meter on will save you money e.g. 50bht on meter or 200bht if you dont. However you may struggle to get them to take you at all, so you'll need to agree a price upfront. But if he says 200 you should be paying no more than 100.
For views across the city the bar or restuarants on the upper floors of the Banyon Tree are worth a visit although not cheap.
Try to get to the palaces / budas early as the crowds really build up later in the day.
Go for a massage (there are a few in the same road as the Rembrandt). They are very cheap and very good.
In general, Bangkok is a great city with lovely people and it's very safe. Have fun!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2016

Dear Darren05

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the Rembrandt Hotel during your recent trip to Bangkok and for taking the time to post your feedback. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we are so pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thanks again and we shall look forward to your return.

With Kind Regards,

The Rembrandt Hotel Management Team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good hotel, great Indian restaurant - Rang Mahal. Good location.

Front desk was a big let down, check-in was too much trouble and people at the desk were rude, except that everything else was good. Clean rooms and value for money.

Do note that they charge you extra for an early check-in which is still based on availability. It would still have been justified if early check-in was guaranteed after paying but unfortunately even if they have rooms available when you check-in they might still charge you for checking early, strange and unheard of.

Also they charged me almost half the room rent for an extra bed eroding much of the value proposition for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajatgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenorPico, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Rajatgarg

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and opinions about our property and service on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your room.

We take your feedback seriously and, therefore, would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused while staying at our hotel. We would appreciate if you could tell us your room number so we can fix all the issues you mentioned.

If you have any questions or comments please feel free to contact us at any time.

Thank you & best regards,
The Rembrandt Team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#86 of 887 in Bangkok
2,717 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#93 of 887 in Bangkok
2,473 reviews
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#125 of 887 in Bangkok
5,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok

Address: 19 Sukhumvit Soi 18, Sukhumvit Road, Klong Toei | Klong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#61 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#66 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#66 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#96 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $70 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok is conveniently located in the new, trendy Sukhumvit area of Bangkok. Our hotel is within walking distance of Asoke (BTS) as well as Sukhumvit (MRT) public transport stations offering our guests access to all major shopping, entertainment and nightlife areas of Bangkok. Here at the Rembrandt, we pride ourselves on our high levels of service, great food, diversity, offering great value for money and giving our guests the home away from home feeling.Welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Rembrandt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing