We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very pleasant stay..”
Review of Royal President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal President
Ranked #407 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a very pleasant stay..”
Reviewed January 9, 2009

I stayed in a deluxe suite from the 6th to the 9th. I note that some staff tend to lie to save themselves the trouble of having to do more work.

Prior to checking in, I had liased with the Mr. JINATI Rachata about the possibility of a late check out. He said that it would be possible depending on the availability on the room.

When we checked in on the 6th, the staff at the counter flatly rejected our request, saying that the room was unavailable.

This was a lie, because I was able to perform another booking for another deluxe room on the 9th and the room was available.

I was able to deposit some of my stuff with the hotel on the 3rd which was a good thing, but when I enquired with the bell boy if I could ride the tuk-tuk out, he claimed it "had problem". But later, I approached the counter and was told that I could ride the tuk-tuk out.

Maybe the bell boy jinx it, because during the stay, the tuk-tuk DID INDEED break down on the 8th. I've read other reviews for President hotels constantly having problems with the tuk-tuks.

The bathroom's shower came without a door, as though someone had removed it. The bathtub did not come with curtains too. As a result, the bathroom was constantly very wet and slippery.

The hotel looked dirty from the outside and we could hear the conversation from the next room and it sometimes made sleeping difficult at night. The room clearly needed more sound proofing.

The room was spacious and the dvd borrowing service was nice, but the breakfast selection was limited and hardly changes.

I would think twice before visiting this hotel again..

  • Liked — The room is spacious and comfortable.
  • Disliked — Room lights are a little dim and the problems mentioned above.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank treblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRP_15, General Manager at Royal President, responded to this review, January 12, 2009
Dear Khun treblers,

It is my pleasure that you had choosen the Royal President during your visit to Bangkok while I must apologize for the unpleasant experiences during your stay with us.

Indeed, we should have been more flexible on your request of late check-out though the policy in general is to offer up to 2:00 pm. without extra charge since check-in time at noon has to be honoured while each room required at least 30 minutes for cleaning service prior to accommodating new valued guest.

For Tuk Tuk shuttle service, we apologize the inconvinience caused as it had problem with engine switch which was fixed shortly after your enquiry.

Apart from these incidents, we are pleased to learn that you were enjoyed our room and DVD library which will have 5 new movies added every month.

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We trust you are kind enough to accept our sincere apologies and please contact me at gm@royalpresident.com should you plan your next visit to Bangkok in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

M. Thammachote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    305
    169
    68
    46
See reviews for
148
187
237
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We stayed at Royal President for 6 months, and for all those six months we ejnjoyed our stay. Good place to stay, and mostly I enjoyed the hospitallity of all the staff. I would love to come back to Royal President in the future for our business trip.

Dewi Macomber
Indonesia

  • Liked — neatness
  • Disliked — nothing that I can think of
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cilegon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRP_15, General Manager at Royal President, responded to this review, January 12, 2009
Dear Khun cilegon,

Thank your for your kind comments which is so refreshing to all of us here.

We are proud to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality over the past 6 months and we are already eager to be of service to you again very soon.

Thank you once again and blessing of love, peace, health and wealth for 2009.

Yours sincerely,

M. Thammachote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2009

I have regularly stayed at the Royal President 10 time a year over the past 6 years.
The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Nana and Asoke BTS station and the Underground Shukumvit station.
Good service, spacious rooms, friendly staff, and ideal location.
I will definetely choose and recommend this hotel to those who will visit Bangkok.

  • Liked — shoping
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank YASUDA-AKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRP_15, General Manager at Royal President, responded to this review, January 8, 2009
Dear Khun YASUDA-AKI,

Thank you very much for your kind review and I am delighted to hear that you LOVE our hotel by great combinations from the spacious, ideal location and most importantly our staffs whom must be complimented for being very helpful and friendly thus, making you stays so enjoyable over the past 6 years.

Thank you once again and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Royal President soon.

Yours sincerely,

M. Thammachote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed at the Royal President for several nights before and after Christmas, and were lucky enough to be upgraded. The rooms we had in the main block of the hotel (there is an older wing across the road) were a great size for our family of 2 adults and 3 children. We had a kitchenette with a clothes washer/dryer, a large lounge area with big flat screen TV and DVD player, 2 big bedrooms with big double beds and televisions in each, and both with en-suite bathrooms. The rooms (really a serviced apartment) were of an adequate standard for a reasonably priced short family stay. Buffet breakfast was included in the room rate, but I thought this was very lack-lustre. Quite a good selection: rice, full english, croissants, toast, pancakes etc., but it didn't taste very nice to my husband or myself, but the children seemed very happy with it. Room-service, which we ordered on a couple of evenings was, however, very nice and very reasonably priced. There was a complimentary hotel Tuk-Tuk service from the hotel to the nearest skytrain stop which was very useful. I thought the hotel was in a good location. The hotel also had a very small swimming pool, which we didn't use, or see being used, but it looked fine, although was overlooked by part of the breakfast dining room. Things I didn't like about the hotel was the smell of cigarette smoke on the 6th floor; layers of dust behind the sofas; the tempermental washer/dryer that on our last night washed for 5 hours and then when it eventually decided to dry, dumped all the lint from dryer on to the clothes. Having said all that, the staff were quick to attend the room and helpful in rectifying any problems.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast; dirt behind the sofas
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRP_15, General Manager at Royal President, responded to this review, January 4, 2009
Dear Khun Pavalia,

It is my pleasure that you and your family had choosen the Royal President for this festive holidays while I must apologize for the unpleasant experiences during your stay with us.

Apart from these incidents, we are pleased to learn that you were enjoyed our room and foods from room service.

Indeed, our location is decent from Asoke BTS and Sukhumvit MRT station with our free shuttle tuk tuk service.

Thank you for your kind comment on our staff responsiveness in problem handling. We trust you are kind enough to accept our sincere apologies and do not mar your visit to our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

M. Thammachote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2008

It was wonderful to stay at Royal President. Everything was just too good. Ambience, Rooms, Food, Staff Courtesy. Front office girls were very responsive. It was the best stay I ever had in Bangkok.

  • Liked — Value for Money
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AshuIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRP_15, General Manager at Royal President, responded to this review, January 1, 2009
Dear Khun AshuIndia,

Thank your for your wonderful comments which truly considered as a great new year's gift for all of us here.

We are delighted to have given you the best stay ever experience and we wish to be of service to you again very soon.

Thank you once again and blessing of love, joy, health and wealth for 2009.

Yours sincerely,

M. Thammachote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2008

We stayed few days and found the hotel very nice and clean to stay. We had 2 small children with us and with the king size bed we all slept very well. There is also a bathtub which made it convenient to bath them.

We travelled mostly using public transport, hence there is a 10 mins walk from the hotel to the maninSukumvit road. From there using either BTS or subway is very convenient.

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the staff was very courteous. The menu was almost similar everyday, however the cooking of the eggs was excellent, made to order and fresh.

We wanted a later checkout time of 2pm so that we can take the limo straight to the airport. One of the reception staff refused and gave us 1pm which meant we could not spend much time shopping in the morning. We were very disappointed on this issue.

Positive side:
Spacious and clean room
Friendly staff
Free use of hotel tuk tuk

Area for improvement:
With a baby pram we found it hard to navigate the 2 sets of stairs outside the lifts. We had to lift the pram which can be heavy if the baby is in it. It would be great if a ramp is built to facilitate this purpose.

Hope this review will help someone.

  • Liked — Spacious and clean room
  • Disliked — Have to walk 10mins to main road
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maverick1Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRP_15, General Manager at Royal President, responded to this review, December 11, 2008
Dear Khun maverick1Australia,

Thank you for your valued comments on your recent stay with us. You are right and we are now in process of buliding a ramp over those 2 sets of stairs for our guest convenience. It should be finished by end of January 2009.

We are happy to hear that you were comfortable with the room from its cleanliness to quality of the bed. Indeed, our location is convenient within short walking distance from both BTS and MRT stations.

Your compliment on our restaurant service and egg cooking during breakfast has been shared to all staffs concerned and they were delighted to know that their performance was recognized.

Please accept my apology that your request of late check-out till 2 pm was refused. Although we were quite busy on that day but I felt that our staff should have been more flexible on this.

Thank you again for your pratonage and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Royal President shortly.

Best regards,

M. Thammachote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2008

I have stayed numerous times at Royal President over the last 3 year. From short trips, 2 days to long trips, 1 month stay. The hotel is perfect, great staff, great location, very helpful staff. Rooms are exceptional compared to others for the same price. All facilities at your finger tips. I recommend this hotel to all my friends and they also have enjoyed their stay. I will keep recommending this hotel and keep staying there.

  • Liked — The staff remembered who I was
  • Disliked — That I had to check out
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gbmp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRP_15, General Manager at Royal President, responded to this review, December 2, 2008
Dear Khun gbmp001,

Thank you very much for your kind review and I am delighted to hear that you have found our hotel perfect by great combinations from the room size, location and most importantly our staffs whom must be complimented to be helpful and keep you stays so enjoyable over the past 3 years.

Thank you once again and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Royal President soon.

Yours sincerely,

M. Thammachote
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand President
Grand President
#702 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Sukhumvit
Kingston Suites
Kingston Suites
#306 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Sukhumvit
President Park Bangkok
President Park Bangkok
#320 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
#524 of 859 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal President

Property: Royal President
Address: 43, 47/1 Sukhumvit Soi 15, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#171 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#231 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal President 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very center of bustling Bangkok, at Sukhumvit Soi 15, Royal President hotel provide a serene setting where you can relax, stretch out and feel at home, yet have all the convenience and fun of this great city within very easy reach. Less than 10 minutes on foot will take you to the Nana BTS Skytrain and Asok MRT subway stations. The renowned Terminal 21 shopping mall is also nearby, as is Robinson Department Store, while this part of Sukhumvit Road and its various offshoots are crammed full of restaurants, clubs, pubs, shops and entertainment outlets. The 186 apartments include suites and rooftop penthouses, with a common design theme that combines a warm ambience with a modern layout. Royal President has a main building flanked by two wings, Park and Garden, so that residents have easy access to the lobby, swimming pool, fitness center and the Royal Brasserie restaurant. Opposite the main building is the Court Wing, which provides all-suite accommodation that will be appreciated by families and residents who require extra space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal President Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Royal President Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing