We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has been unfairly panned!”
Review of Sena Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sena Place Hotel
Ranked #795 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Perhaps because I spent my youth sampling the 'joys' of English inn and pub accommodation, my sights may be too low, but I found Sena Place to be perfectly satisfactory in all respects. It's near to the Sky Train station, taking only 10 minutes to walk, but the hotel will take you there on request.
The rooms are smallish but clean and comfortable -- my hard pillows were replaced by softer ones on request -- no bed bugs! TV, fridge, no safe. Laundry was same day, excellent and cheap.
Breakfast had a good selection and is buffet style, costing about $4. The staff were pleasant, cheerful and helpful and spoke good English.
There is a small swimming pool, and it was the only hotel in the buidget class that provided one during my visit to Thailand.
I really can find nothing to complain about. I have stayed there before and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rangergeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

Just a piece of advice- don't every stay there.. It's so scary that we rather walked all nite to search for other hotels! It's dark, gloomy & just very unwelcoming. The staffs, knowing that we're uncomfortable but they didnt even look at us when we talk to them. We asked a refund for 3 nites and of coz, no refund at all even though we didnt even stay for a nite!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colouryourworlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 16, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 23, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed April 25, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed February 13, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Had 4 nights booked here by a family member. Worked out to be less than $30 USD per night because of a group discount, but even at that price it wasn't really worth it.

The facilities are somewhat old and worn. Not enough to make me feel unsafe or grossed out, we were comfortable enough, but it didn't really feel nice.

The biggest problem is location. It's miles from anything a tourist would want to see, and a long (and somewhat scary) walk to the nearest skytrain station. The time and money you'll spend trying to get to and from Sena Place will probably cancel out most of the money you'd save by staying there, so do yourself a favor and stay someplace near Sukhumvit where it's much more convenient from a tourism standpoint.

On the plus side, it is fairly close to the JJ/Chatuchak weekend market. If you were only in town for a weekend and only needed to do some shopping, then I guess it might be worth staying at Sena Place. Then again, you could probably find someplace even closer to Chatuchak for that, or at least closer to a skytrain station.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Din
CK2 Hotel
CK2 Hotel
#403 of 887 in Bangkok
24 reviews
Phayathai
Karnmanee Palace Hotel
Karnmanee Palace Hotel
#616 of 887 in Bangkok
40 reviews
Suda Palace Hotel
#694 of 887 in Bangkok
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phayathai
Elizabeth Hotel
Elizabeth Hotel
#773 of 887 in Bangkok
38 reviews
Buddy Place
#582 of 887 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Gold Orchid Bangkok Hotel
#526 of 887 in Bangkok
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sena Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sena Place Hotel

Address: 17 Phaholyothin Road, Soi 11, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Phayathai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #795 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $15 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sena Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Sena Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing