We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel-great location”
Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sukosol
Ranked #117 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Guest rooms at Sukosol Hotel are elegantly furnished with Thai décor accents and Art Nouveau-style teakwood.

An array of diverse gourmet cuisines is offered thanks to the five restaurants of the hotel. The outside and inside pool are very well maintained and great.

Rooms are very clean and very well maintained,the stuff very polite and helpfull.

The location is very good just seven minute walk to the sky train.

Wonderfull holiday......

Room Tip: Higher floors have less a/c unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marco a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear marco a,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel, I know the team will be grateful to hear them.

We are glad you enjoyed the facilities, food and service during your stay and hope that we have a chance to welcome you back to The Sukosol again soon.

Warm regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

we booked here for one night before leaving Thailand. It was perfect.
The location is easy to find and near of all services including the sky train (Phaya Thai station) which is good if you want to go to the airport taking public transport
The personal is really kind and helpful, their English was perfect.
Breakfast was served from 5.30 to 10.30 and was very various and offered high quality food, It'd be just better to have it till 11.00.
Room was clean, huge and so the bathroom. We really loved the bed was really comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielabpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Danielabpc,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit your comments here. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I will check with the management team to see if our buffet breakfast hours can be extended, however since we have both business and leisure guests staying in our hotel, it may not be possible.

We do still hope to be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Thailand either way.

Warm regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

They have revamped the lobby area ever since they re-branded this hotel from Siam City hotel to The Sukosol. But the room is still the same. I have gotten myself a free upgrade to a suite room at 2268. The room is huge but you can see the signs of the ageing room. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom is spacious with shower cubicle and spacious bathtub. The water in the shower cubicle is never warm, The only way to shower with hot water mixed with cold water is the shower head above the bathtub. This is a nice hotel with great location. Hope to see the rooms to be renovated soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear AlexKhoo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review.

We are currently renovating a number of our suites and expect to complete this at the end of this month.

Hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you back to The Sukosol to experience them soon after that.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has lovely rooms, great service, good bar area and an excellent spa. We really enjoyed 2 nights here with our children - we travel a lot and stay in many hotels and this was one of the best. Would recommend and def go back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asoumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Asoumare,

Thank you very much for your feedback and recommendation, it is always gratifying to hear from our guests in such glowing terms.

On behalf of everyone here at The Sukosol, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next trip to Bangkok.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Sukosol is just a seven-minute walk to the Skytrain so it was easy to get around. It has a few restaurants inside but only got to try eating at Spice and Rice (good Thai food) and the restaurant where the breakfast buffet is (a few good choices.)

They have a good-sized pool and a fitness center beside their spa so it's easy to stay inside the hotel if you want that kind of vacation. We didn't get to try the spa because it was fully booked so it's best to book in advance for it. Speaking of booking in advance, we were late in registering for the Cooking Class that was supposed to be with the Executive Chef of Spice and Rice. My brother and I were still able to book it but I had a feeling that it was all rushed. It felt like as if it was the chefs' first time to handle a class given the lack of fluidity and organization. I still learned a lot and had fun with them.

The room is a little old and there is not so much space, except in the bathroom which is a little spacious. Bed is soft though. Service is okay. As I said regarding the Cooking Class, I felt like they accepted our late booking just to satisfy us, but they rushed with the preparations. Overall, it is still an okay experience.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ning H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Ning H,

Many thanks for your positive comments on our food and service, the team will be very pleased to hear you had a good stay.

I will ask the chefs about the organisation of the cooking class, but it is good that you had fun!

We hope that we can welcome you and your family back to The Sukosol again soon.

Warm regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Review The Sukosol 9/10
Deluxe room no 922 from 2013-07-15 to 17th, no breakfast, non-smoking. Price: 77 USD per night, (yes this was a special offer.)
It’s hard to find anything to complain about this hotel. The beds are nice and firm, the hotel and rooms are impeccably clean, the hotel staff is forthcoming and polite, with ok English. No inner or outer disturbances, the rooms are well isolated. The shower has excellent water pressure and warm water. The thermostat/AC seemed preset at 17 degrees Celsius in our room, which can get somewhat cold, but we just turned it off occasionally. They should have it looked at though. We had a nice large in room security box. The TV has BBC and CNN.
It has excellent location, very close to Phaya Thai BTS and the Airport Express to Suvarnabhumi. There’s a Seven eleven store close by. MBK/Siam Paragon is either 2 stations away or in walking distance 15 minutes, depending on the weather. The taxi takes about the same time due to traffic lights and a railway crossing, but it’s air conditioned. For anyone new to Bangkok I would recommend the Skytrain BTS as the best way of getting around at daytime, due to heavy traffic every day. I’ve had many moments in taxis cursing over why I didn’t take the BTS.
The internet/Wi-Fi is good, measured to 10/0,5 Mbit/s by Bredbandskollen.se
The Wi-Fi is actually faster than the in room cabled internet. This hotel has the fastest internet/WiFi of all hotels I’ve visited in Thailand so far!
We didn’t dine in, so I can’t say anything about the hotels 5 restaurants, but the Sapphire bar serves excellent Mojitos. The fitness centre and pool look nice, but we didn’t have time to use them.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially businesspeople in need of a good internet connection, and we will likely be coming back here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mats_of_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Mats_of_Sweden,

Thank you so much for your detailed and constructive review. All the teams will be very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

Thank you too for submitting your photos, which help other TripAdvisor users to get a feel for the design and decorations of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in Bangkok soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

An excellent hotel in central Bangkok which is located very near to a skytrain stop.
I found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The room was well furnished and the bed was comfortable. There is a terrace swimming pool, which I didn't use, but it looked good.
The breakfast was buffet with a large choice of asian and european food. My flight was at 1am, but the hotel was quite happy to store my bags during the day after I had checked out and allowed the use of the swimming pool changing rooms to shower before the flight.
My only grumble is that there was no live TV English Premier League football in the room or in the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyncymro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear martyncymro,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit your review. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I will ask the IT team to check on the feasibility of adding another channel so that hopefully on your next visit you might be able to watch some football!

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
AETAS bangkok
#67 of 890 in Bangkok
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#78 of 890 in Bangkok
1,229 reviews
Century Park Hotel
#143 of 890 in Bangkok
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Phayathai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $89 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing