We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sukosol
Ranked #115 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The service I received at this hotel was wonderful.I was given a complimentary fruit platter and a box of small cakes as a welcome gift.A late departure and a range of coupons for hotel facilities were freely given.The hotel is close to the Skytrain so the main shopping area of Siam is only 10 minutes away.There is also free internet if you don't have a tablet.Everyone at the hotel is anxious to be of service.I have stayed here four times and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bangkok

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Sue L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review.

I will pass along all your feedback to the team, who will be so happy you had another enjoyable stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at The Sukosol.

Warm regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the convinience of location from the airport and towards town. There is a direct train service from the airport which takes only 30mins to reach the station nearby to the hotel and another 5mins walk away. Siam station which is the nicest shopping district around bangkok is just 2 stops away via the BTS train.
The hotel is clean and the room looks nice, which makes it really confortable to stay in. I was given a room in the old wing of the hotel, but it's okay as the place is kept nice and proper.

Only one small issue, the front desk staff, should be more well trained in the tourism around bangkok, as i was asking for some directions and they were not able to give me a proper answers. No big issue, but would be more helpful if they were to know more, afterall this is a hotel and guest are bound to need information.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Gary O,

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and appreciated our convenient location.

I am very sorry that you weren't provided with enough information at the front desk about local attractions. Within the team, particularly our concierges, we do have very good knowledge of Bangkok's tourist sites, but we shall make sure that this is shared amongst all our staff in the future.

We do hope to see you again soon at The Sukosol and wish you all the best.

Warm regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thank you Hans, the friendly attentive staff at this absolutely beautiful hotel leave us wanting for nothing, our family and friends will be all hearing of the superb facilities and to die for treats in the buffet, would not consider staying anywhere else in Bangkok after experiencing the Sukosol Hotel.
3 mins to train station , central to shopping and attractions, ( my 1st trip to Bangkok was in the late 80's ) have stayed at many Bangkok hotels over the years , the Sukosol is at the top of our list.

Room Tip: Found the hotel site on trip adviser, booked through the Sukosol home site, excellent value ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D33psea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear D33psea,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our hotel facilities and buffet, we appreciate you taking the time to submit them.

From everyone here at The Sukosol, we hope to see you again soon in Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sukosol does have a good thing going for them--great location (5 minute walking distance to Phattaya Thai BTS station). However, there are a few things to keep in mind and watch out for. If you prefer to try out local cuisine and not limit to just the options that the hotel offers, there is no much around there within a short walking distance that one feel comfortable to walk to at night (there is a mall close by but is pretty dead after 7 pm). If you would like to go for a quiet swim early in the morning, do not go between 6:30 to 9 am. More than occasionally their guests would talk very loudly and incessantly. Also don't be surprised some guests would talk very loudly and yelling across in the hallways. Even though the hotel is not responsible for other guests' behaviors, I think guests who have certain expectations such as quiet relaxing setting should be forewarned. Breakfast is pretty good but the room arrangement is a bit awkward (almost no space between the closet and the bed so you keep bumping your knees against the bed when you turn around). Can't control the temperature of the air-conditioner, and the hot water temperature during shower changes and is not consistent. The worst thing about their bathroom is that there is only a glass panel less than half of the length of the tub so the floor gets very very wet. Probably will not stay there unless their price would be amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatFoodisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear GreatFoodisHeaven,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your feedback to us.

I am very sorry that we weren't able to highlight any of the local dining options during your visit, as we do have quite a few Thai restaurants on the road behind the hotel, as well as some very good authentic street food nearby at Victory Monument for more adventurous guests.

I would also like to apologise that your stay was inconvenienced by other guests. We do try to remind guests to be considerate of others, but obviously we can do better.

I have passed your other comments on to our Engineering department to address, and hope that should you return to The Sukosol, we can make your stay more enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel consists of two adjacent buildings: the bigger and taller Siam wing, and the Ayuttaya wing.
The Siam is where the reception is located, and where they serve breakfast. I got a room on 15th floor (1556), which was very big - two large separate beds occupied just half of the room - and arranged in classic style. The bathroom was also big, and just a bit dated, although in good condition. The air conditioning was not easy to fit to my taste, and the whole room has smell of humidity. It wasn't too critical, and I could stay there, but tried to change my room for another one in Ayuttaya building - and got it easily.
The Ayuttaya wing has a smaller lobby, comparing it with the huge one in Siam wing. The room on 8th floor (808, stright in front of lifts) was more pleasant, although smaller in size. This room was decorated in more modern style. Someone from the Reception told me that these rooms were acclaimed by their Korean and Japanese customers, because of the decoration and because of the fact that rooms in Ayuttaya wing have a bathtub and a separate shower cabin, while rooms in Siam wing were equipped with bathtub only. Floors 21 and above in Siam wing are "executive", so it is quite possible that rooms there are upgraded.
The breakfast was good, with large selection of "Western" and "Asiatic" food, fruits, pastries etc. The location is also very suitable: across the road there is a BTS train station, so you are just two stops away from Siam station and its three large shopping malls (Siam Paragon, Discovery and Siam Center). Behind the hotel there is another one - King Power duty free, which seemed to me purpose-built for Japanese customers (famous brands only).
A 7-Eleven supermarket is just 50 meters to the left from hotel's door, and if you walk further ahead, take first street left, and then right, on a street parallel to Ayuthaya road you will find an excellent spot for traditional Thai massage (in its original meaning!), recommended to me by several locals.
All in all - good hotel in good location, and if you need a suggestion, Ayuttaya wing is recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kipakip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Kipakip,

Thank you so much for your thorough review and comparison between our Siam and Ayuthaya wings. As you mentioned, some guests prefer the extra space and some guests prefer a separate shower and bathtub and we try to accommodate every preference.

I will pass on your other comments to the team, who will appreciate hearing you enjoyed breakfast and ask housekeeping to look into the humidity issue.

We hope to see you again soon at The Sukosol.

Yours sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was blown away by this hotel, I have never been made to feel more welcome in my life! Buffet breaky is huge, pool is beautiful, rooms and bathrooms are really snazzy. The way the staff fuss over you made me feel like I know what it must be like to be a celebrity!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis2819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Alexis2819,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We like to think of all our guests as stars!

We hope we can welcome you back to Bangkok and The Sukosol very soon.

Warm regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Booking on trip advisor 2 rooms for a night but we had to negotiate extra fees for our son despite one of rooms being a family room, also extra charges for breakfast which was ok but not worth 675 baht.
The initial bad experience also continued to the room which had very hard beds. Interior nice but a bit dated for a 5 star.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davodownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukosol, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear davodownunder,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay with us.

I apologise that our booking conditions with regards to children were not clear at the time of your booking. We will be updating our website and our OTA terms to make sure it is clearer in the future.

We also do have mattress toppers available in the hotel for guests who prefer a softer mattress, which we usually add to our guest records so that it is ready upon arrival.

I do hope this did not inconvenience you too much and that we can welcome you back again to Bangkok soon.

Yours sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
AETAS bangkok
#66 of 889 in Bangkok
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#77 of 889 in Bangkok
1,228 reviews
Century Park Hotel
#145 of 889 in Bangkok
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Phayathai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#103 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $88 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing