We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated and Very Poor Value”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sukosol
Ranked #148 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dated and Very Poor Value”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The first room we were given was terrible. Smells of damp and left you felling itchy. We moved to a second room were the shower spills out over the floor and we are left having to mop up ourselves with towels.

Bathroom is dirty, but its that ingrained dirt not something that can be cleaned.

This is not a western 5 star hotel - 5 star lobby and 3 star rooms.

Avoid.

Room Tip: NEVER take the old wing, always insist on the SIam Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear brian s,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; we sincerely value and listen to all customer comments.

We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Generally we receive only positive feedback about our hotel and a 5-star rating for all public areas and rooms. Especially since we unveiled our new-look lobby and bar only a few months ago.

We shall certainly check the room you stayed in immediately and make the necessary repairs. So thanks again for the invaluable feedback.

Kind regards,

Ms Candice Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    632
    203
    55
    31
See reviews for
243
537
136
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had set the meeting at this hotel last month. First, the new image of this hotel is very so beautiful. and a service that i got from their staff special for the captain. He has very good to took care of our meeting and it made me impressive. Actually, have more than beautiful hotel in bangkok but the best service are rare from the famous five star hotel as from my experienced. I used to set the meeting with the 5 stars hotel more than 10 places. but almost i will got the bad feeling with their sevice.
and another part for sales person are very friendly too. This hotel is flexible not too stick to made me cannot move. We can discusse our request with their staff and find the middle way to do.
Our customer like this hotel too. They are very enjoy with the delicious food at our meeting. and the room stay night is nice in thai style big and comfy with clean and made them convenient to travel by BTS or airport too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phattaraporn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Phattaraporn A,

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of our hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are pleased to hear all your customers like dour rooms, food, staff and location. And that you we’re impressed by our renovations and customer service. We also strive to go ‘above and beyond’ and it’s gratifying to know we have exceeded your expectations in this occasion.

We hope you hold another meeting with us again soon; you’re most welcome :-)

Kind regards,

Ms Candice Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

After rebranding from Siam City Hotel to Sukosol hotel, many changes are noticable. New decoration to the common area and lobby, free WiFi is the big change from the old one. The penalty from rebranding is the increasing price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank denpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear denpong,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It’s gratifying to know that you like our new look and complimentary Wi-Fi service.

It’s true that we have raised our prices slightly. But these are in accordance with other five-star hotels in Bangkok and we feel justified in doing so given the fantastic new surrounds and services we are now providing to guests.

We hope to have you back in Bangkok visiting with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Ms Candice Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

i spent 3 nights with my freind in that hotel in early october,its location is near central about 20 minutes walk,shopping center and place to eat is so closed,the lobby and restaurants and hotel enviroment is so beatifull,the rooms are big enough and even beds are so comfortable,the bathroom is large enough and ok,the breakfast was so great and there were many variation of food,which were so delicious,the staff were polite and ok,the manager i have seen was so caring and responsible that i 'd like to thank them.overall i can say the hotel really deserve the cost

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gisoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear gisoo,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review!

We here at The Sukosol are very pleased to hear you loved our hotel so much, especially the new-look lobby, award-winning restaurants, plush rooms, international breakfast and friendly Thai staff.

We hope to have you back with us again soon :-)

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Definetly value fr money. One thing thats annoying will be the renovation outside the hotel. Overall, staffs and hotel cleanliness is definetly to my satisfaction.
My room is big and comfy. That's the most important and I really like it.

Location wise is as good too. 5mins away from BTS, 2 stops jus to reach Siam square and access to all shopping malls.
AirportLink is something I like too, fast and clean, way better den taking a Taksi to airport which will be more jam on the way.

Had not tried the hotel breakfast, as I prefer streets food and restauant outside. Will definitely try out and rate the hotel breakfast on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diorlovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear diorlovey,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of our hotel.

Whilst we apologise for the inconvenience our landscaping upgrade is causing, we are gratified to hear that it do not stop you enjoy our staff, location, cleanliness and rooms.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Ms Candice Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh,India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Location was excellent(5 min walk from train station),food wise only used for breakfast which was good ,room wise all good except the cabinet underneath the TV kept making weird noises every 15 mins and only news channel available on TV.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vik_swp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ytreffar, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear vik_swp,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, we really appreciate it.

We actually have a great range of shows on our TV, ranging from BBC and CNN to Star Movies, Australia Network, Discovery Channel, TLC and so on...

We hope to see you again soon!

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#326 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Vince Hotel
#194 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Property: The Sukosol
Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing