We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Siam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Siam Hotel
Ranked #245 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This small hotel has it all when it comes to location in Bangkok. If you want to be in the thick of things, quiet and avoid endless hours in taxis, then the Swiss Lodge is the place to be. Right on Silom and next to both the Skytrain and MRT metro lines this is where you want to be. The rooms are also , in my opinion , of 5 star quality - if you get the top floors. Large rooms, exceptionally clean , good bathrooms, tea and coffee facilities. The buffet breakfast may not be as good as it used to be but is perfectly adequate. The pool is tiny but refreshing. The street also has one of Bangkok's most popular Thai restaurants with Thai people - Hai, opposite the Swiss Lodge. Internet is free in your room. I would highly recommend this place. I have been staying here for years.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are definitely the best. They have put some not very good vinyl floors in the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    199
    55
    18
    5
See reviews for
23
89
105
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BELFAST
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A good quality, quiet, inexpensive 4* Hotel in buzy area, close to Large Park, transport,shopping bargains, and all amenities. The air-conditioned bedrooms & bathrooms are very comfortable, clean and fairly modern. The food is great and there is a good selection and plenty of it. There is also a small pool and small sunbathing area. It is a small, family-run hotel and the staff are very friendly and most are able to speak English or make themselves understood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATripOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Have stayed here a few times now. Convenient for the downtown bar and nightlife area. Very good value for money, Small four star boutique-type hotel but without the unnecessary designer glitz. Breakfast buffet has reasonable choices with freshly prepared eggs on request. Good selection of TV channels. Jacuzzi in some bathrooms. Small sun deck area with pool but no gym. Secure parking available. Special rates for a weeks stay. Although not as ritzy as a 5 star Bangkok property this hotel offers excellent value for money. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite room. Some are true double-room suites and some are larger single rooms but al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Centrally located in Silom with many restaurants and entertainment venues within walking distance. Street food vendors line the sidewalk and within easy walk to Saladaeng MRT station.

We booked thru Agoda for the Classic queen bed room while my friends booked directly from the hotel website for exactly the same room and same price - BUT upon arrival I was told that Wifi Internet access was not included with my booking while my friends booking WIfi is included.

Room a bit small, bed is very hard but amenities are adequate. If you want your room cleaned, you must hang the Please Make Up Room sign outside the door or the cleaning staff will assume you do not want your room cleaned. We found out the hard way and was NOT very happy. If this is their policy they should make it clean upon check in.

Breakfast was average and seemed a bit stingy when you order the bacon :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asianesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My mother and I decided to stay at this European-styled hotel at the end of an extended backpacking trip across southeast Asia. We were looking for a place to clean up, feel fresh, and unwind - and we couldn't have asked for better. Service was impeccable, as were the rooms, and the three-cheese Swiss fondue we enjoyed that night was to die for (perhaps it was partly to due with the fact we missed Western foods so much by that time!). The next day, we also took a dip on the upper-floor pool, which was also impeccably clean.

Our experience in Bangkok - the last leg of our trip - was immensely aided by our stay at this quality establishment in the heart of Silom. I'll likely not visit Thailand again in my life, but I'd wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for any of my friends or family that would visit Bangkok in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed recently for three nights in one of the 'junior suites' on the 5th floor. The room was actually a proper suite, not deserving of the prefix 'junior' with a totally separate sitting room with televisions in both bedroom and sitting room. There was adequate furniture of a good standard. The bathroom had a full sized tub as well as a large walk in shower.

Breakfast, which was included in my rate booked direct with the hotel, was buffet style. Nothing really special, but bearing in mind that this is a fairly small 'boutique' type hotel it was fine. There is a small outside dining/sitting area for those who prefer it or for those who need to smoke.The staff in the breakfast room and also at reception were friendly, polite, helpful and professional.

What sets this hotel apart in my opinion is the build quality, design and evident ongoing maintenance programme. A previous recent reviewer suggested that the hotel was fairly new......it is not and according to the hotel's own publicity material it was built in 1990. If it looks new it is because of a combination of original build quality coupled with proper ongoing maintenance and decoration. This is rare in Thailand among the cheaper to mid-priced hotels, many of which have been thrown up at breakneck speed using poor quality materials and having been finished and furnished cheaply and badly. I speak from experience having stayed in 30 different hotels in Bangkok alone over the last three decades.

Swiss Lodge is not cheap but it is far from expensive when compared with the grander establishments in Bangkok. I believe that it is good value for money. Yes, one can pay less but quality will suffer.

The location is good being only about 100 metres from the back entrance to the newly refurbished Silom Complex from which there is direct access to the BTS Skytrain and a covered overground walkway to the MRT Underground. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the Patpong entertainment area. All in all it is well situated in an arguably good area.

I try to offer balanced Tripadvisor reviews of use to readers and this is perhaps evident from my high proportion of 'helpful votes'. To this end I will mention a few negatives, but they are not serious:

1 There is no 'bum gun' in the bathroom, a useful feature common in most Thai hotels. If there is no bidet, which there is not, there should be a 'bum gun'

2 The pool and pool area is small

3 When the nearby school finishes and disgorges apparently thousands of pupils into the area the traffic can be pretty horrendous, but this only lasts for an hour or so

4 Although my room was beautifully quiet there was some plumbing noise audible from time to time from an adjacent room which sounded like a toilet being flushed

To conclude - a small quality establishment offering good value in a good area and at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms may be quieter and may have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KhunBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is good value, well location, clean and well run. My room was quiet. It had been renovated recently. Breakfast was included in my tariff; it was adequate but unremarkable. Wifi costs too much but nearby coffee shops offer internet with the price of a coffee. My room on the second floor had no view to speak of which is a minor drawback.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srobgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Silom Serene
Silom Serene
#280 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Silom
The Inn Saladaeng
The Inn Saladaeng
#310 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#392 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#186 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#311 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Siam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Siam Hotel

Property: Le Siam Hotel
Address: 3 Convent Road | Silom, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Swiss Lodge)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#159 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Siam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Siam Hôtel (formerly) is a set squarely in the heart of Bangkok on pedestrian-friendly tree-lined Convent road adjacent to the Silom - Sathorn - Rama IV business, entertainment, and shopping district, the famous Patpong Night Market and just minutes from the BTS Sky train and MRTA underground subway systems. Bangkok's major roads and highways converge on this area putting the rest of the country at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Siam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Bangkok
Swiss Lodge Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing