We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”
Review of Tai-Pan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tai-Pan Hotel
Ranked #282 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I've stayed at the Tai-Pan a number of times over the years with varying experiences. It is an older hotel that is clean and functional. The rooms are a bit dated but every thing works very well. They are spacious and offer great city views form the upper floors. The room service menu is priced very competitively compared with local restaurants. What occurred to me, is that that the customer service is friendlier since they became guest friendly. It seems that a burden has been lifted form the front desk staff. You might want to unplug your room phone as the time share salesmen will be calling at inappropriate times. Everything you could possibly need is located just a short stroll away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtnhiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    283
    97
    15
    6
See reviews for
23
116
115
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
King George, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Hotel is modestly furnished, not a bad room but not luxurious either. The rooms are spacious. The breakfast was ok, but was the same every day. Some variety would have been nice. The staff was attentive and friendly.
It is located near the entertainment area and near the MRT. It is within walking distances to many local area attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vaman1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungog, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The tai pan hotel is near two train stations and has a pretty good location. It is only a few train stops from Siam. It is only a 8 minutes walk to Terminal 21 shopping mall (try "thai street food" in the downstairs food court) and is even less to one of the entertainment districts in the city. It has an ok fitness centre, pretty good wi fi and I would recommend this for someone after a good quality mid price range hotel....$200 for three nights booked through "Asia rooms"...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DungogSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phayao Province, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This would have been a grand hotel in its day, but sadly the superior room I stayed in was pretty tired. Still, if you can book online at a discounted rate it is very good value. The location is fabulous, just a stroll from the incredible night life the area has to offer, and also very close to both MRT and BTS stations (Asok and Sukhumvit). Also, just west of Asok station is a pretty good night market area and a further area of restaurants around Soi 11 area.
The hotel itself offers all the facilities you could want, spa, pool, gym and sauna and if you can get a high floor you're well removed from the incessant activity, The rooms are large, just in need of refurbishment, Still, it's a good balance, if it was refurbished I'd expect to pay 2 or 3 times the tariff. I tend to spend the minimum amount of time in the room as possible, so all in all, highly recommend this hotel to anyone on a medium budget,

Room Tip: go for a room high up. the view in any direction is pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hotel is located in sukhumvit area. The traffic is a mess. Near the famous soi cowboy and
Massage centres. Check in and out is a breeze.
Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is ok. Recommended for
Solo travellers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maiden0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited Bangkok in October 2011, and stayed at the Tai-Pan Hotel. Bangkok was experiencing terrible floods at the time, which was unfortunate for us, but at least the temperature was bearable.This was our second trip to Bangkok and we were there mainly to visit the dentist and do some shopping.The hotel is situated very close to the sky rail and underground stations, that made it very convenient for us. The Tai-Pan Hotel was clean and modern with an excellent pool area, however we were not able to use it due to the rain. I loved the street we were in as it offered many massage parlours, some very professional, (and others not so much) as well as two fantasic hair dressing salons,and great restaurants, there were nightclubs as well but we didn't venture there. Our rooms were more than adequate with a microwave, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, as well as a small lounge area. The main problem with the room ws that it smelt of cigarette smoke, and when we asked if we could move, that didn't seem to be an option. They did spray it with something, but it didn't really do the trick.
There was no internet in the rooms, but for a small fee you could use the internet in the foyer. The hotel had a day spa, which was very relaxing and reasonably priced. The hotel restaurant was also good and we ate there twice. The staff were very accomodating they ordered our cabs and offered us umbrellas every time we went out. Overall it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor_D255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have only stayed here once, and found it to be a reasonably decent and economical place. I would possibly go back here if I am not looking to splurge
i. Very Close to Sukhumvit – and hence close to both BTS and MRT.
ii. Very close to Soi 23/ cowboy, the not-to-be- missed attraction at bangkok. Yet far enough to not disturb your peace.
iii. Breakfast spread looked decent, though I did not get a chance to really try it.
iv.
Drawbacks:
i. Rooms are a little old.
ii. The hotel lists all the items in your room on a board and warns you of a charge if they don’t find them intact. Perhaps it’s just me, but I found the warning a little disconcerting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Sacha's Hotel Uno
Sacha's Hotel Uno
#259 of 867 in Bangkok
1,126 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Fusion Suites Bangkok
The Fusion Suites Bangkok
#366 of 867 in Bangkok
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#87 of 867 in Bangkok
1,227 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Jasmine City Hotel
Jasmine City Hotel
#285 of 867 in Bangkok
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tai-Pan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tai-Pan Hotel

Property: Tai-Pan Hotel
Address: 25 Sukhumvit Soi 23, Sukhumvit Road | Khet Watthana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#177 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tai-Pan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tai-Pan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tai Pan Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing