We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky 3 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Furama Silom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Furama Silom
Ranked #240 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Subic, Philippines
Level Contributor
414 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Lucky 3 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is old and not very good maintain all over. I fell it was dark all over inside, special in the restaurant in the morning fro breakfast(Try to make some other bread then the standard toast bread). It get the 3 star for the view from the pool on 10 floor, and it was only 15 min. walk to night marked

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmittag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    799
    405
    127
    77
See reviews for
213
689
214
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

From the outside, it looks like a 3 star hotel. But they have done up the lobby nicely and the rooms at the higher floors so it is still reasonably comfortable. Except the fact that one side of the walls are just windows with the right side all the rooms. They do not on the aircon in the corridor so it is pretty stuffy and it gets worst during the day with the sun shinning through the windows at the left while walking in the corridor to your rooms.

I enjoyed breakfast in the hotel with the nice decor, furniture and food. Quality is not bad and we love the croissants and they got ran out really fast.

We stayed at level 15. Room is big and nice. Spacious toilet and bathroom except curtain. We need to keep drawing it up and down especially at the door and it gets banged to the door making loud noises. Furthermore, the curtains still left a gap in between which serve little purpose for privacy. A major design let down.

The gym equipments are old and limited. There were no staff manning the gym and we basically accessed it with our room card. We on the lights, hi-fi and the aircons ourselves to use the gym. The towels were not replenished and when we requested for towels, it never arrive even after repeated phone calls. After 1 hr and 15 mins of workout, we left for breakfast having a bad impression on the service standard.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors for the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyxdya12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We also didn´t pay too much for this hotel but the first room they gave us was disgusting. It was very big but the furniture and the carpet was from other era, dirty and smelly. We had to pay extra to change to lovely an renewed bedroom in floor 12. (If I am not wrong floor 12 and 11 were new)
This bedroom was big, the bathroom had a perturbating glass wall but everything was new and nice. The pool is in the top roof and it was a little bit small, but you will appreciate a pool in that warm weather. We couldn`t get towels in the roof. The breakfast was delicious (buffet) like a 4 star breakfast buffet (also as the second room (deluxe)), but the first room was like a 2 or 3 star hotel.
If I go again I will stay in Siam rather than Silom.

Room Tip: Stay in a deluxe, the supreme are awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pame2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I booked a superior room , it was large , convenient and in a reasonable price .. It was near to Paptong Night market and with an amazing shopping mall that I really loved , MBK CENTER!

I think for all the tourists , it's better to book your tickets in this hotel if your saying here coz they at very cheap compared the real price ! As usual you need to bargain ALOT .. Sometimes they really exaggerate like 500 baht in taxi .. So you need to play it smart

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank -itzTiffiny-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

A lot of what the guests reviews here is true, but subjective to how convenience or even luxury is viewed.

I got this hotel for a last minute trip, a hotel that I did some research on but I havent been in Bangkok for over 15 years so this was a "hit & run" choice, rather its cheap at only US$55 per night. Stayed for 5 nights.

The location was pretty convenient, for me that is ... its about 10 to 15 minutes walk to Nongsi station. From Nongsi station, you are only about 5 to 7 stations from anywhere worth visiting in Bangkok. The Chao Praya river is 3 stations away for your River Cruise tour.

Patpong is within walking distance and the food joints around the area are tourist friendly, so you can hop in any food shop and eat. Prices for me look affordable for these places.

The rooms are huge ... with a balcony. This hotel reminds me of past experiences of hotels in the 80s, where the corridor outside your room is not air-conditioned. Does it matter to me ? Of course not ... my room is fully airconditioned, that is what matters. However, this is the first hotel that I have been in, in a long time that I can find the aircon condenser hanging in your balcony. So all I can say is ... its not central air-conditioning.

Bed is wonderful ... again for me. Looks old but still a pleasure to sleep on. Did I mention King- sized bed ? But the bathroom needs some minor touches. Everything works but not a wonderful sight to observe. Well it works so no complaints there.

The breakfast is major ... i loved it. The only drawback ... Orange juice is not orange juice, its cordial orange syrup. The same for the Apple juice. The rest is great ... mostly Asian but they do provide the salads and croissants for those not used to the Asian porridge breakfast.

The hotel pool at the roof is a nice calm. Very relaxing to just sit by and watch the clouds go by whilst having a drink. Not a huge pool but enough to get you some fun. Internet is not fantastic but acceptable, unlike some bigger names hotel that I have been in.

TV programmes, mostly Thai channels but they have some English movies covered in designated channels. But I hardly watch TV anyway so I wont complain. But if you got kids, they probably will ... Kids channels are subbed in Thai.

Overall ... I expect it at the price I paid for it. Not too shabby really ....

Room Tip: Bring your own toothbursh and toothpaste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShahrilHarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good location on Silom Street close to the nightmarked, Patpong. We stayed her twice in june and july. First stay in a superior room. It need a makeover, but it was a big room for us. Next stay was in a delux room. Its a nicer room, but the glass bathroom is not for a family! Very good breakfast, and a friendly staff. I will stay here next time in Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinArvesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Unacceptable behavior from hotel's staff. They gave us a dirty room with a leaky roof and a stuck sink... they reffussed to change us the room till next day at 2pm. They accepted to take care of the room's problems but 12 hours later when we came back, none came into the room, which means that the stained/stinky towels were still on the floor as well.
They tried to cheat on us regarding the money, firstly with an early check in, the initial prize was 1000B, after 2 minutes, 500B, finally we didn't pay it. Also when we needed to call a taxi, they wanted to make us pay the phone call.

The bathroom was absolutely old dirty. Only when we decided to leave the hotel, suddenly they found a spare room for us... slightly better than the old one, far away from a 4-star hotel, closer to a one-star.

In conclusion, be aware before booking on this hotel, perhaps you'll be lucky and they'll give you a nice room and they'll behave properly, we were not so lucky, even though we begged them because of our honey moon.

Worst experience I have had ever in a hotel.

Room Tip: Not to choose this awful Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manuel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Narai Hotel
#205 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#307 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Silom
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#56 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#126 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#179 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Silom

Property: Furama Silom
Address: 533 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Unico Grande Silom)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furama Silom 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Silom, Bangkok features 258 expansive guestrooms that are decorated with a combination of modern and contemporary Thai style of sleek glass panels creating a luxurious yet cosy feel. An elegant flatship 4-star hotel features Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suite. Every room allows you to enjoy the dazzling view of metropolitan Bangkok. Contemporary High-rise Hotel located in city center, near business areaA large outdoor swimming pool on 20th floor located at the rooftop with cooling breeze of metropolitan air provides guests with the ideal place to catch a bit of sun to refresh your tan and a refreshing dip in the pool. Alternatively, the pool bar also offers light snacks and drinks. Other Facilities are also with well-equipped like fitness center, sauna, steam room and lockers. Likewise, 2 function rooms and banquet facilities with modern audiovisual equipment can accommodate up to 100 people. High-speed internet access is also available for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Silom Hotel Bangkok
Unico Grande Silom Bangkok
Unico Grande Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing