We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in buzzing Bangkok”
Review of Furama Silom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Furama Silom
Ranked #227 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in July 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The staff were friendly, attentive and spoke excellent English. The rooms were spotlessly clean, very large and modern with contemporary amenities and an immaculate bathroom. A key feature was the hotel’s rooftop swimming pool which offers breathtaking views over the Bangkok skyline… and at night gave us the chance to take a relaxing dip while watching the sun set over the city – amazing! The food was fantastic, free wi-fi was available and it makes a great base from which to explore Thailand’s vibrant capital. I look forward to re-visiting this hotel when I am next in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 2,006 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as we arrived from Europe to Bangkok and it was lovely. It was an oasis of quiet in a chaotic city. Rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated and in the breakfast buffet you can find something for every taste.
On top of all, there's a pool over the hotel with a view on the Silom. Another plus is it's proximity to the river, where one can take a bus boat for little money and avoid the infernal traffic.
The one negative point (there's always something) is that the pool was only open until 8 pm, so when we got back from eating dinner, it was mostly closed.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 16th floor and had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adri_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was my second stay at the hotel this year. Both times I booked a superior room. It seems the first time I was upgraded to a deluxe room which was great. This time I stayed in a superior room and I didn´t like it at all. The fridge was empty; there was no kettle ; the furniture was worn out. The bathroom was very old and completely flooded after a shower ( that's perhaps why there's a step when you enter the bathroom...). These are certainly not characteristics of a superior room in a 4 star hotel!
The reception staff was very unfriendly apart from a young girl who tried to do her best.
I really don't recommend it and I won't stay there again as there are many choices, and better ones, in Bangkok

Room Tip: If you insist on staying at Furama avoid superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goforit302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was at this hotel from 13 June to 16 June 2012. Had booked online as I had got a good deal ( apparently!). I reached very early, obviously the hotel is not bound to check you in 5 hours in advance but if you are a decent star hotel and if you have rooms vacant, wouldn't you do it! They won't because they are expecting a guest to say " I am willing to pay extra for an early check in".

Ok, so then at about 10.30 am after being in the lobby for over 3 hours I was shown my room, absolutely, shabby outdated sub standard room with 20 sqft toilet space. The pretext was that this is the room we had sold online!I had seen such reviews but wonder why I took a chance.

Once I said I am willing to pay extra they showed me a modern room on the top floor with Full Glass Bathroom

This room was good but there is strict rationing of toiletries, tea bags etc.This room had a good city view too. Other side has a " CEMETERY VIEW" if you like.

Absolutely no food that Indian vegetarians can have not even good fruits and juices, leave alone other things.

Duty Managers are a sarcastic lot who show absolute displeasure in talking to Indians and behaving as if they come from the 1st world!

All in all it was an experience that I could have avoided but then would have never learnt about the FURAMA group..

All the best to them

Room Tip: Get roadside rooms and dont book online or else you will be taken for a ride
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PramodLunawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We booked two rooms at the hotel, next to each other on the 12th floor. The rooms were clean but very dated and smelt of stale smoke. The rooms are definitely due for refurbishment!

The hotel is a short walk to the Skytrain. If you need a taxi however the traffic is really crazy so plan a little longer for your journey!

Breakfast was good with a wide variety of dishes.

Our train was later in the evening and they allowed us to store our luggage for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel was on silom road near patpong....tuk tuk everywhere. The hotel was great and the rooms were spacious. The bathroom was lovely...glass walls!!
The breakfast was a buffet with a good choice and clean!! We stayed with our 3children and they had a room next to ours and there were 3beds in the room when we arrived.

I wold recommend this hotel to all sorts....family, couples etc. Would certainly go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KtMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in early July. Picked up a great special & was even upgraded to a top floor deluxe room which was really good.
Good buffet, top location within walking distance to Pat Pong, good for the night markets. Good food closeby everywhere & easy to skytrain.

I had a great stay and the staff were really nice & helpful. With me anyway.

Recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyDlivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#193 of 887 in Bangkok
1,656 reviews
Din
Bangkok 68
Bangkok 68
#286 of 887 in Bangkok
348 reviews
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#210 of 887 in Bangkok
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#199 of 887 in Bangkok
899 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Silom

Address: 533 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Unico Grande Silom)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $38 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furama Silom 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Silom, Bangkok features 258 expansive guestrooms that are decorated with a combination of modern and contemporary Thai style of sleek glass panels creating a luxurious yet cosy feel. An elegant flatship 4-star hotel features Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suite. Every room allows you to enjoy the dazzling view of metropolitan Bangkok. Contemporary High-rise Hotel located in city center, near business areaA large outdoor swimming pool on 20th floor located at the rooftop with cooling breeze of metropolitan air provides guests with the ideal place to catch a bit of sun to refresh your tan and a refreshing dip in the pool. Alternatively, the pool bar also offers light snacks and drinks. Other Facilities are also with well-equipped like fitness center, sauna, steam room and lockers. Likewise, 2 function rooms and banquet facilities with modern audiovisual equipment can accommodate up to 100 people. High-speed internet access is also available for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Furama Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Silom Hotel Bangkok
Unico Grande Silom Bangkok
Unico Grande Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing