We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not the best location though...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Twin Towers Hotel
Ranked #519 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not the best location though...”
Reviewed December 10, 2009

I stayed at the Twin Towers Hotel with my wife during a 6 week trip through Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam.
We booked the hotel through www.latestays.com and received a "buy two nights and get on free" deal.
Upon arrival I was surprised at how "upmarket" the hotel looked, especially as it is located on a dingy street, directly beside the expressway overpass. Not the most scenic of surrounds.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and made every effort to make sure we were looked after.
The room was nice looking on first inspection, although it did smell very musty. Possibly due to the fact that it was located on a smoking floor! (Something we are not used to at all in New Zealand). The hallway did indeed smell very smoky as well.
The size of the room was good, being nice and spacious. The bathroom could have been cleaned a bit better, as there was some long black hairs still clinging to the bath tub.
The pool are is very nice as well, although we found the pool to be the coolest we encountered on our entire 6 wee trip through Asia.
The hotel Internet is massively overpriced, as is the taxi service offered by the hotel!
The tuktuk and taxi drivers that wait around the front of the hotel to pounce on you as you walk out the door also charge WAY too much, as they think because you are staying in a "flash" hotel you are either stupid or can afford their ridiculous prices.
My advice is to walk a block or two away from the hotel before you flag down a tuktuk or taxi. Trust me, you will find the prices much more reasonable.
There is nothing really within walking distance if this hotel except maybe MBK which is about 15-20mins walk away.
After our 3 nights we moved to a hotel near Kao San Rd, where there is much more to do, better restaurants and markets and much better prices.
I would only recommend the Twin Towers Hotel if you were in Bangkok on business or were not interested in exploring the city at all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteriousD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    258
    214
    78
    54
See reviews for
113
210
57
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

The hotel used to be a grand 4-5 star one in its days, hile now it's a little run down: especially the exterior. Inside though, the charm is maintained with it's grand entrance and lovely pool & gym. The included breakfast buffet is very nice and filling. It doesn't change much day-to-day, but there is a lot to choose from. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with a separate closet entrance to avoid disturbing whoever's still in bed asleep. Batrooms are very nice, thought the showerheads should be upgraded. Beds are large and comfy and the rooms are clean. Hotel has a bit of an "old" smell to it, but at $60 a night, who's to complain? As for location, it's close to MBK centre and to the sky-train: only a short cab ride away or a 20 minute walk if you're keen. Also close to the highway and the central train station, so you won't have to leave very early to catch a red-eye flight or train. We will be back.

Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pinkporridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Nice staff , was able to early checking without any extra cost , close to the city center.

Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danny1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

It's a good hotel with good location. We booked ourself to a junior suite as there was 3 of as travelling, it was a very nice size room with balcony (which didn't have any furniture!?). Hotel is about 15min walk to National Stadium skytrain station.

I wouldn't use the hotel restaurant as we did and food wasn't the best, service was poor, and place itself have no atmosphere at all.

Overall i would recommend this hotel just for a sake of location and size of the rooms, although not sure what is the size of regular rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed here for 7 nights. As others have mentioned the lobby itself if quite impressive and the restaraunts do serve quite good meals although not overly cheap based on average prices in Thailand. The rooms themselves are more than adequate when compared to many other places in Asia and western Europe for that matter. However, i'm not sure how they calculate their 4 stars because the rooms are a bit dirty and outdated. The hotel is not in a great area and is pretty much under a major highway which is across the road. Be prepared to get hassled everytime you walk out the front of the hotel from TukTuk, taxi drivers and general salesman but hey you are in Thailand and this is encountered in most places. All in all this place is quite ok to base yourself to take in the sights of Bangkok and the surrounds, but you could find much better for the price. One tip, make sure you agree a price with your taxi driver at the airport before you get in to go to your hotel - back in November 2008 the average price for a taxi from the airport to the Twin Towers is around 400-450 baht, certainly don't pay anymore than this and you should well be able to negotiate a price even cheaper than this.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squid_Whale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Best to book via AsiaRooms or Agoda. Stayed there many times. It's quality has only ever got better everytime. I love stopping here.

The breakfast is terrific, and if you ask for a cappuccino, they give one without an extra charge. The ala-carte eggs or an omlet is not a problem. Good selection of buffet breaky including cold meats, dutch cheeses and warm bakeries! The juice is fresh and you can have as much as you like.

We visited the local Pak Khlong Talat (Flower Market). Only 55 Baht by taxi directly there -you can also go for 12 Baht by rivertaxi to Tha Rachini or Saphan Phut and walk.

We bought lots of jasmine flowers , 200 Roses plus rose petals. When we got back to the hotel, we filled the room with rose petals, covering the floor and the bed. Had a great romantic escape. In the morning the hotel did not mind the mess that we made, yet courteously asked for $15 (300 Baht) laundry and room-clean charge saying the rose oil is hard to clean.


After several stays the hotel manager started to recognise you by the name and often upgraded us to a deluxe suite at no charge. When in-laws came to visit, we squuzed several kilos of pure jasmin flower into their bathtub and scattered the rose petals on the floor of their room. In the morning the manager smiled and asked: "Did your parents love the stay as much as you usually do?"

Great place to be.

Standing on new Rama VI Road with its 15-story twin tower design, this is an international standard hotel in the heart of the city. Offering a wide selection of facilities and well-appointed accommodations with all modern conveniences, the hotel makes a fine choice for both business and recreational travelers.

Multi-lingual friendly hotel staff, concierge, 24-hours room service, MUST USE safety deposit, mail and postal facilities, currency exchange AT GOOD RATES, 8 guest lifts with a staff guiding you each time, ballroom, conference and meeting facilities, laundry and dry cleaning service, limousine service (cheap, $15 anywhere in the city or $30 to airport), tour desk, Assistant Manager on duty 24 hours.

The post office is 3 minute walk and you can mail anything back home so you do not need to carry gifts around.

Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregnazvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

I will not spend too much time on this hotel. It's just simply not worth too many words. One thing I can assure you: Staying at this place will not meet your requierements. To say it nicely.
First of all, the doormen and the lobby receptionists: Five extremely arrogant people and one trainee who gets ignored by his/her superiors. We booked an executive room for 2 nights and we also stayed in a standard room for 1 night. DO NOT upgrade to an executive room! It's just not worth the money because you will not see any difference! Our executive room had a dirty carpet, an old 80's model TV with just a few Asian channels and very old, brown furniture. Our bed was made with these typical 80's blankets like you never see in any class hotels since ages but in this '4 star' hotel, it was normal it seems. In the standard room, that looked just the same (old), one lamp was broken, the hair dryer was broken and in both rooms the bath had a shower without handshower.
The first thing I expect in an executive room, is free high speed internet. No sir. In the Twin Towers you pay around 30 USD for 3 days internet in your room!! Staying in an executive room, it gives you free entrance to the gym. But the lady who manages the gym, didn't agree with that. She kept me asking for 400 baht but I kept saying I was staying in an executive room so I have free entrance. Luckily a colleague of hers helped out and started checking the rooms list quickly. It was okay. Now I could enter the gym. For 20 minutes because they were closing. Ofcourse. The rusty 4(!!) machines that were present wouldn't have kept me longer inside anyway. Roomservice failed a few times because the person on the other end of the line didn't understand anything of what I was ordering. We were glad when we could check out. We paid our bill at the large lobbydesk-with-arrogant-staff and we hopped in a taxi. Although we had a very nice 3 weeks in Thailand, our last 3 nights Twin Towers was better to forget as quickly as possible. Stay away from this overpriced and overrated hotel!

One big thumb up though for the food and the roomservice waiters/ bell boys. These guys were very friendly and knew how to treat guests.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bangkokbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#210 of 863 in Bangkok
1,361 reviews
Silom
Bangkok Centre Hotel
Bangkok Centre Hotel
#627 of 863 in Bangkok
666 reviews
Sukhumvit
Royal Benja Hotel
Royal Benja Hotel
#371 of 863 in Bangkok
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Palace Hotel
#161 of 863 in Bangkok
1,553 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Hotel Managed by Centre Point
Silom
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Montien Hotel Bangkok
#380 of 863 in Bangkok
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twin Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twin Towers Hotel

Property: The Twin Towers Hotel
Address: 88 Rong Muang | Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twin Towers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twin Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twin Hotel
Twin Hotel Bangkok
Twin Towers Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing