We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the little things that count....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand President
Ranked #694 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
SE Asia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“It's the little things that count....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

Tip to all aspiring hospitality management trainees...Number 1 Rule. Never, ever, ever make commitments you can't honour.

The booking condition was simple. A deluxe suite room in Tower 2 for 4 nights , high floor, corner preferred and NON SMOKING. Now the first 3 were requests but the NON SMOKING ROOM one was not negotiable. The booking was made direct with the hotel, 5 weeks prior to arriving and all was agreed. And upon arrival you can guess what room was "left" for me. Yep, smoking room. Sure it was sorted out eventually, but only after 30 minutes of standing firm, 2 different staff members and 3 attempts to get me to accept a smoking room. The final room given was an inferior one with a crappy view ( yes I have stayed at the Grand President before so know what the good rooms are).

The stay was ok. Staff are ok. Internet is so slow in room so as to be totally useless.

I haven't stayed at the GP for nearly 4 years now and thought I would give it a go again. Given the debacle about the room booking I doubt I would stay again as Compass Hospitality does manage some far newer and nicer furnished properties in the area.

It really is the little things that count...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonbg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    528
    348
    187
    206
See reviews for
244
391
373
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, Northern France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

Hotel very well located because it is near the Skytrain station NANA in the very lively neighbourhood of Sukumvit. The location near a Skytrain station is all the more enjoyable given the fact that the traffic in Bangkok is a nightmare.
I was in tower 3 and had a very spacious and comfortable room with a kingsize bed. There was a There are 3 towers and each tower has its own swimming pool. Regarding the breakfast, there is a giant and delicious buffet in tower 1.
The check-in time is normally 2 PM but I arrived at 8:30 AM. My room which was not ready because I arrived too early was cleaned in priority and I was offered drinks to wait.
The whole staff of the hotel is very helpful and very friendly. They always have the so pleasant Thai smile lighting up their face and are always doing their best to make your stay even more enjoyable.
Sebastien from Lille in Northern France

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

If you have luxury in mind, come visit this hotel. It has a very homely feel to it. They provide all the amenties that you have left behind at your home. The hotel is located in an area that is close to the night market, reasonable street shopping cntres as well as the malls that cater to the brand conscious.

The Grand President has very accomodating and welcoming staff. Once you stay here, they assure you of comfort that you need on a holiday!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha191088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

went to bangkok for a surgery so was stucked in the hotel for 10 days!large room but 2 tiny bed...bad thing about the hotel was the restaurant is in another building which need to cross the road for breakfast,but their service is awesome,they sent the breakfast to my room every morning since they knew i was not convinient for walking after the surgery.they even brought the dvd player for me right away aft i asked them for it...really appreciate their kindly help...one thing really annoyed me was a bunch of taxi drivers who stand in front of the hotel every nite and day,they tried to asked us to get into their cab and raise up d price unreasonable.they even tried to bring us to some place which i dun even noe for shopping even after i told them where i wanna go,i think its becoz they can get the commision from it

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emiratescrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

We had a great hospitality received by all the staff from various Departments during our stay at Hotel. Due to some personal reasons we had to extend our stay in the hotel, during that period All the reception staff,Duty managers, All the staff from Business centre,concierge offered us full co-operation&kept our moral boost up at everystep because of which we were able to face the difficult time we arrived at. Once again many many kudos to all staff of the Hotel who made our stay very pleasant & comfortable.
ARUN & MADHURI KAKADE.

  • Liked — GOOD HOSPITALITY
  • Disliked — NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MARUBom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

Stayed one night,that was enough.Sure the staff are helpful and polite,but the room we had was not good.2 small twin beds ,1 small window with no view.Stayed in tower 3 not too far but had to walk along a side street to get to it Had to walk in the pouring rain to get to breakfast and checkout,not what i expect from a 4 star hotel.
Saying that it has a good location near to nana bts and sunkovit rd.Maybe better if you stayed in main block i don,t know but i stayed in 3 hotels here and this is the worst so far ,there are plenty of better hotels out there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordScandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

when we planned our trip to bangkok, one thing we were really worried was the language. The worry became a night mare with the driver who picked us from airport not been able to muster anything in english.

I was pleasantly surprised to find the girl who atteneded to me at the reservation desk speaking near perfect english. she was very courteous and helpful. i had arrived early, therfore was asked to be seated. but within minutes she was ready with a room for me.

next morning our plan was to do some shopping. she was there after breakfast enquiring from us about the food, about the service etc with a pleasant smile. i asked her about few locations for shopping, since i did not want to spend too much on brands. She came up with a map and marked the locations for me. wrote the names in a peice of paper in the local language to be given to taxi drivers.

i missed her on the day of departure. the girl was wearing gray coloured suit. the hotel cordinated with my travel agency for my transport.

one bad comment is i was told that my package didnot allow me to access internet even from the lobby area, although there was a board saying internet in lobby areas is free. i thought this age of IT technology, internet access should be free.

i stayed at tower 3, which i suppose is the cheapest area. even then i do not have anything complain. service was prompt when i asked for anything.

i do not hessitate to recommend Grand President to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
#568 of 852 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Sukhumvit
Royal President
Royal President
#415 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Sukhumvit
President Park
President Park
#343 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Kingston Suites
Kingston Suites
#303 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand President

Property: Grand President
Address: 11, 14, 16 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#262 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand President 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand President Bangkok is situated along Sukhumvit Soi 11 and a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS skytrain station. It is walking distance to entertainment outlets such as QBar and Bash, and a short drive to hospitals, embassies and shopping centers. This property features 437 air-conditioned rooms and suites all with a kitchenette consisting of a large fridge and microwave oven. Additional facilities include a Laundromat, 3 outdoor swimming pools, cafe with alfresco dining, sauna and steam room. Present your keycard for exclusive discounts and/or free entrance to select restaurants, bars and hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand President Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand President Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Grand President Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing