We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't get much better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand President
Ranked #694 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Doesn't get much better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great location close to everything . The hotel front desk second to none smiles and help galore lobby staff the best . The rooms superb best value for money if you want just a nice room it won't cost much but you still get a great room if you want to be pampered and go fancy again great price and sensational room just ask the great girls at the desk good gym good pools it's just the best place to stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    528
    348
    187
    206
See reviews for
244
391
373
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hotel is located in soi 11 next to nana station.Price is about £30 per night which I think is good value for money in Bangkok.Has fantastic rooftop pool which is usually very quiet.Rooms are ok for the money you pay and clean enough.Hotel staff are very helpful (I was at desk checking out and not very well and they couldn't do enough for me,offered to get somebody to go with me to pharmacy which I though was very kind).All in all hotel is cheap with nice pool in a great location,stayed here a few times between February and March 2014.Would defiantly stay here again.

Only downfalls beds are very small and the hotel is overrun with Indian and Pakistani guests who are you the rudest people ever,have no manners and smell awful,but you need to expect this in cheap hotels as they are full of these people as they are cheapskates.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The Grand President Bangkok is a wonderful hotel, with great facilities and convenient location. The rooms are spacious and clean and the buffet breakfast is very tasty and caters to all. Located 75 meters from Nana Skytrain station the hotel is pwrfectly located in the heart of trendy Soi 11.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sqwintrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

It is a very nice. It has 3 Towers which are very nicely made. We stayed inside the 3rd tower and had a suite of 2 bedrooms with a kitchen a dining table. The room was very comfortable and both the rooms had their separate bathrooms. All in all stay at this hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgrimKhurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We travelled as a family of 4 so got 2 rooms. The price of the hotel suited our budget and we specifically wanted a hotel with a washer and dryer. Online, everything was suitable.

This is a hotel where you pay for what you get.

The washer/dryer turned all our light clothes a dirty grey with grease marks and it didn't dry anything. We still had to hang it around the hotel. We called maintenance several times to ask about the dryer but they just changed the nob - couldn't fix it.

The housekeeping was very helpful if they were approached directly. More helpful than reception. We approached reception after we felt swaying in our room along with other guests. The staff laughed at us and called in others to get in on the joke. What we think was a duty manager approached us and told us there had been an earthquake up north and it was aftershocks that we were feeling (tremors). At no point did any of the laughing staff apologise and it was not a laughing matter for us.

When we walked out of the hotel, there were taxi drivers on the street wanting to take us to the commission base tourist sites(gem stores, floating markets etc). When we asked for the hotel to get us a taxi - they too were trying to encourage us to go to these places. That wasn't what we were asking for.

The shower is in a step in bath and is not safe for younger or older people to get in or out of.

The breakfast was ok. Usually more suited to the asian and indian clients. In fairness to the hotel, Indians and asians seemed to be their highest clientele.

The bed was comfortable although the pillows had dribble marks on them - that aside, we slept well. The linen and towels were clean and changed daily which was important.

The pool had a broken light sitting on the side of the pool. The pool itself was 'ok' although not as it appeared in the advertising pictures.

Overall, it wasn't a bad stay. We wanted a hotel to sleep in, not spend all day and night in. It is an older and outdated hotel but we knew it wasn't going to be 5 star before arrival. Maybe a 3 star.

Will we stay there again - probably not. Would we recommend it to others - we would suggest to shop around.

Room Tip: Do your homework first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onyarmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a family of 4 so got 2 rooms. The price of the hotel suited our budget and we specifically wanted a hotel with a washer and dryer. Online, everything was suitable.

This is a hotel where you pay for what you get.

The washer/dryer turned all our light clothes a dirty grey with grease marks and it didn't dry anything. We still had to hang it around the hotel. We called maintenance several times to ask about the dryer but they just changed the nob - couldn't fix it.

The housekeeping was very helpful if they were approached directly. More helpful than reception. We approached reception after we felt swaying in our room along with other guests. The staff laughed at us and called in others to get in on the joke. What we think was a duty manager approached us and told us there had been an earthquake up north and it was aftershocks that we were feeling (tremors). At no point did any of the laughing staff apologise and it was not a laughing matter for us.

When we walked out of the hotel, there were taxi drivers on the street wanting to take us to the commission base tourist sites(gem stores, floating markets etc). When we asked for the hotel to get us a taxi - they too were trying to encourage us to go to these places. That wasn't what we were asking for.

The shower is in a step in bath and is not safe for younger or older people to get in or out of.

The breakfast was ok. Usually more suited to the asian and indian clients. In fairness to the hotel, Indians and asians seemed to be their highest clientele.

The bed was comfortable although the pillows had dribble marks on them - that aside, we slept well. The linen and towels were clean and changed daily which was important.

Overall, it wasn't a bad stay. We wanted a hotel to sleep in, not spend all day and night in. It is an older and outdated hotel but we knew it wasn't going to be 5 star before arrival. Maybe a 3 star.

Will we stay there again - probably not. Would we recommend it to others - we would suggest to shop around.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Arrived there on 13/05/14, checked and then we were taken across the rd and down a alleyway to the 3rd tower, jerky old elevator to our room that was horrid , it smelt damp and smokey and in real need of a renovation, dirty walls ,peeling paint we went straight back and complained and were told we would have to pay extra to upgrade to another room as the one in tower 3 was one of their basic standard rooms , we paid the extra and moved to a room in the main tower and it was much better but we feel the cheaper standard rooms in tower 3 are a bit of a trap ,if you pre pay and look at the rooms on their website it is a bit misleading as to what you are really getting . The pool area was good , pool a bit small but it was never very busy, breakfast was ok , great open balcony out the front of restaurant that was good to sit outside with a cold beer and watch the busy nightlife
Good supermarket , 7-11 and restaurants all around, only 10 minute walk to nana bts train station, overall good hotel in tower 1 , didn't go into tower 2 but beware of rooms in tower 3

Room Tip: Don't choose tower 3,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brinoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
#568 of 852 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Sukhumvit
Royal President
Royal President
#415 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Sukhumvit
President Park
President Park
#343 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Kingston Suites
Kingston Suites
#303 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand President

Property: Grand President
Address: 11, 14, 16 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#262 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand President 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand President Bangkok is situated along Sukhumvit Soi 11 and a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS skytrain station. It is walking distance to entertainment outlets such as QBar and Bash, and a short drive to hospitals, embassies and shopping centers. This property features 437 air-conditioned rooms and suites all with a kitchenette consisting of a large fridge and microwave oven. Additional facilities include a Laundromat, 3 outdoor swimming pools, cafe with alfresco dining, sauna and steam room. Present your keycard for exclusive discounts and/or free entrance to select restaurants, bars and hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand President Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand President Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Grand President Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing