We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have stayed here over 10 times ... I like it.”
Review of Grand President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand President
Ranked #711 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I like the GP overall for its location, staff, rooms, pools, breakfast and gym (adequate, not great). Many of the rooms are a bit faded but it is clean with very good service. It is not a true 4 star hotel and is probably somewhere between a 3 and 4 star hotel. If you want better, stay next door at the President Palace, up the street at President Solitaire or Fraser Suites. I am a single traveller and love Soi 11 for its atmosphere. I usually stay in a Deluxe Suite or a Family Suite. And yes, it is totally guest friendly. I also love the German Beerhouse next door, say hello to Frank the owner.

Room Tip: I prefer Tower II.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,663)
There are newer reviews for Grand President
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Positives: As I have commented before, the concierge staff along with the location, make this the place to stay. Nothing too much trouble for the concierge staff and all very willing to solve problems that the reception staff cannot.

I used to adore this hotel but slowly but surely, the 'cheapness/cost-cutting' is creeping in.

Negatives: Rooms dated and in need of an 'uplift/refurb' (still). Elevators still spend more time on floor 7 (office) than any other - needs a service lift for sure.

Butter at breakfast still cannot be spread because it is FROZEN. Coffee/tea at breakfast has no saucers, just cups - CHEAP. Breakfast staff the most miserable I have ever encountered in Thai (let alone Asia) hotels - and the breakfast mood dictates your day .... or at least it does for me.

Room cleaning solely depends on which floor and on which day as to whether your room is cleaned 'properly'.

Room Tip: Always if in Tower 2, ask for a room 'away from the birds' as the hotel next door, the Ambas...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The best thing that can be said about this hotel is the location, close to BTS and the lively area of Sukhumvit 11. I was put into tower 3, across the road from the main reception and other towers, which was not bad in itself, but I had to call reception 20 minutes after check in to find out where my bags were. You certainly feel removed from the main hotel area.

The Grand President is apparently rated 4 star, but everything about my experience screamed 3 star!! From the check in, where you are asked to leave a deposit (in case you drain the mini bar and flee) to the rooms which are spacious but uninspiring and inadequately soundproofed. Its great to be in the heart of Sukhumvit 11, though also good to be able to shut out the noise if you do happen to want an early night. Add to that the slow wireless, the small and uninviting pool area and the numerous good deals in the area – and this is not great value for money in an area where good cheap hotels abound.

Room Tip: The rooms in tower 3 dont seem to be well soundproofed and you are exposed to noise from within the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max_the_knife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I really enjoyed the room - almost a little studio in a great location with refrigerator and everything. Only downside is that checking in and out can take an hour or more. You start to feel pretty frustrated when you prepaid, have keys in hand, did not incur any expenses and can't leave because they take 30 minutes per person to check in/out.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at Grand President on July 31 for three nights and was generally content with the Hotel. Rooms in Tower 2 were large with all amenities you need like kitchen, free Wi-Fi (could be faster though), big size fridge etc. Relaxing with sauna and swimmingpool. Really found the location to be very practical as all you need for fun, entertainment and Restaurants is nearby. Staff helped me copying some documents and check in and check out was smooth. Would definitely recommend and will stay again when i am back in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mister M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you get a good rate for the hotel, then it is a great value place. It is not an impressive hotel and occasionally there may be a problem that is not sorted that well. But overall and for the price it is really good relaxed hotel in a great location. Overall the staff are very friendly, the cafe serves good food and its clean & modern. I have stayed there over 10 times - usually for 1 or 2 days when passing through to somewhere else. The studio rooms are a little small - but fine for 1 person. Most of my stays have been in rooms that were recently renovated, but one or two stays were in older rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have booked 3 opal studio in Grand President Bangkok. Its not even slightly close to what you see in hotel's picture. Rooms are located in separate building across the street. Location is good, in bustling lane of Sukhumvit. But rooms are very very old and ill maintained.
Please avoid at any cost.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santosh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GP-ESA, General Manager at Grand President, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Sir
We would like to thank you for writing on tripadvisor regarding your stay at Grand President. Every comment is valuable to us which help us to improve. We were sorry to read that you were not able to fully enjoy our standard rooms in Tower 3. We would have been delighted to show you larger deluxe and suite rooms as an alternative. Please also note that the rooms are well maintained and very functional and we are currently undergoing a refurbishment program of all Opal studios. On the other hand, we gladly noted that you found our location very suitable and we look forward to welcome you back one day to the Grand President.
With best regards.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
Ambassador Hotel Bangkok
#649 of 879 in Bangkok
644 reviews
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Royal President
Royal President
#397 of 879 in Bangkok
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
President Park Bangkok
President Park Bangkok
#349 of 879 in Bangkok
746 reviews
Sukhumvit
Mercure Bangkok Sukhumvit 11
Mercure Bangkok Sukhumvit 11
#167 of 879 in Bangkok
154 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 11 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand President

Address: 11, 14, 16 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#269 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand President 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand President Bangkok is situated along Sukhumvit Soi 11 and a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS skytrain station. It is walking distance to entertainment outlets such as QBar and Bash, and a short drive to hospitals, embassies and shopping centers. This property features 437 air-conditioned rooms and suites all with a kitchenette consisting of a large fridge and microwave oven. Additional facilities include a Laundromat, 3 outdoor swimming pools, cafe with alfresco dining, sauna and steam room. Present your keycard for exclusive discounts and/or free entrance to select restaurants, bars and hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand President Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand President Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Grand President Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing