We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,409)
Filter reviews
5,409 results
Traveler rating
1,127
2,000
1,292
540
450
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,127
2,000
1,292
540
450
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstallest hotelspace zonesky zonerevolving deckfruit buffetstandard zonepratunam markettop floornight marketplatinum mallfloating marketbangkok cityfamily martairport rail linkpratunam areaspacious roomrooftop bar
Filter
Updating list...
3,248 - 3,253 of 5,409 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2007

Thailand: Baiyoke Sky Hotel, Bangkok
Date: January 2007
Reviewer: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

Just arrived back from Thailand after 12 nights. 4 nights in Bangkok and 8 nights in Phuket. In Bangkok stayed at the Baiyoke Sky Hotel. Was very impressed with the hotel room was upgraded free of charge and stayed on the 61st floor. Room was very clean and spacious and bathroom was huge with a bath. Bed was very comfortable and big. View from this floor was good, over looking the city. Breakfast was included in the package. Lots of choices for breakfast and catered for most tastes. The day spa in the hotel complex was very good and the prices very cheap compared to australian prices. Staff very friendly and willing to assist you. The hotel has a free shuttle bus running every hour to take you to the sky train stop, very handy. Sky train very easy to use and can drop you off at the MBK shopping centre which is worth visiting.

The pool at the Baiyoke is good, not heated. The pool deck area has a large pool table for hire and drinks and snacks can be bought from this area as well.

In the lobby area the reception staff can change Baht money for you into smaller notes and coins which is very helpful when you dont want to take large Baht notes into the markets with you.

Had one dinner in the roof top restaurant this was called the international buffet, was not very impressed and would not dine there again, food was very average, most of it cold and not a great selection, however as stated earlier the breakfast is very good.

Overall I would stay at this hotel again, just note when checking in to ask for a double bed if required. Originally they had us in a room with two single beds even though we requested when we booked for a double bed, i think this is why we got an upgrade.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AussieGirlBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

Have stayed in the Baiyoke Sky before and must say that this was the most dissapointing to date.
We were at first put on a smoking floor and after complaining were upgraded to a suite on non smoking floor.
The suite had three seperate rooms. Two of these seemed a complete waste of space with nothing in them at all, and we had to walk through both of these to get to the bathroom. The suite was also a bit tatty and in need of refurbishment. The views were good though, even for the 24th floor. ( through grubby windows !)
The staff were impersonal and at times they did not seem to know what was going on. Hotel guests were left to mingle with the tourists just visiting the tower. This often became chaotic and frustrating. At one point we were asked to purchase a ticket to visit the restaurant on the 74th floor. This was, as we later found out, unnecessary.
The Chinese Restaurant was average and the breakfast buffet nothing special.
We asked for a late check-out as our flight was not until midnight. We were told we had to be out by 4pm and could secure our bags securely until the taxi picked us up at 7pm. They actually took the luggage to the first floor and put it in the space just outside the lift area with a chain wrapped round it. No one was looking after it and we felt anyone could have taken anything they wanted. (at one point we needed one of the bags and unchained it ourselves to take up to the lobby) Even the porter who took it down kept telling us to make sure there was no money or mobile phones in it !
We were hoping to come back to the hotel at about 6pm to freshen up and change but were not offered an area where we could do this and ended up having to use the toilets in the lobby !
To sum up, it was very dissapointing to see a once very good hotel, become an average one. We have both decided that we will not stay in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Martiniow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

Stayed for 4 nights on our round the wold trip and have to say we were very satisfied. The breakfast was good and the evening buffet was excellent with a massive choice and very reasonable we thought. We were upgraded on check in and we very pleased with our room, it was large, comfortable and had a great view. (we were on the 67th floor) The hotel is in a central area and the night market directly accross the street is worth a look as is the observation deck on the top floor (which is free to residents) The lifts are a bit confusing at first as you need to change to get to the top floor and curiously the reception is on the 17th floor. There is a slight smell of exhaust fumes on this floor at all times (I would'nt recommend Bangkok to anyone with breathing difficulties as there was a layer of smog over the city centre at all times when we were there due to high amounts of traffic) A trip to pattaya cost £35 to hire a driver all day and he took us there and back and waited for us (booked in the hotel) Since the airport moved in Nov I believe it is closer to pattaya now than bangkok. All in all I would recommend this hotel as I had no problems, the staff are extremely friendly, the rooms clean, modern and large and it was good value for money booked through asiarooms.com

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Debbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2006

I stayed in the 86 storey Baiyoke Sky Hotel in Bangkok in October 2006. This is a fine 4 star hotel I would recommend, except for the location .When in Bangkok I usually stay in area near Silom Rd and Satorn Tai Rd... because of the multitude of great restaurants, interesting shops, night life (heh heh) ... something lacking in the district near the Baiyoke Sky Hotel.
The hotel sits in the middle of the garment district of Bangkok and there are zillions of wholesale and retail women's clothes emporia. Great if you're in the garment industry and on a buying trip. It's not near the Sky Train, any museums, palaces, touristic places, Lumpini Park or Siam Square.
This is the tallest hotel in the world. I stayed on the 68th floor. The views are impressive. The Al Ahrab in Dubai claims to be the tallest ... a BOGUS claim. The Al Ahrab has only 55 storeys but a tall skinny concrete mast or spire that that is an architectural device to make it seem about one third taller.
The food in both the Coffee Shop off the lobby (on the 17th Floor) and the big Buffet Restaurant near the 84th Floor observatory were really excellant, a good value.
Best of all, I got an off season rate of just US$45/night -- a fantastic bargain, for a 4 star hotel in a capital city!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank buddmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

The hotel is avoidable... it is just a tall tower which is very very mechanical & impersonal.. though they try their best to make up.

The corridors on the 31st floor was smelly and dard, though the rooms were better. Rooms are good size, bare... and un-asthetic.

Location is decent, close to the main markets.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank inmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews