We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is incredible!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Ranked #33 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2008

From the moment we checked in everything was perfect. The staff is so accommodating and gracious and so willing to help. We stayed there for 5 nights and loved the breakfast buffet. They had Kiwi juice and it was really yummy. This hotel is close to the sky train and a shopping mall is located right next to the hotel. We loved the little corner shrine and the night bazaar is a close cab ride away and worth going to. We were so busy sightseeing that we never got the chance to use the swimming pool but next time we go we will definitely make use of it since it's super hot in October. I highly recommend staying at the Hyatt it's well worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MauiDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,547)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,004 - 3,010 of 3,547 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed for 6 days at this hotel. It is very centrally located and there is a beautiful Erawan shrine next door that people travel for miles to visit. There is dancing at the shrine and you can also get a great view of the shrine from up on the skytrain walkway.

Taxis are really reasonable as long as it is not the commuter hour...when traffic crawls.

We were put in an upgraded room...view of the pool and the street...which did not really impress me, until I looked at the views others had...parking lots and roof tops. The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly. HINT...the bakery on the lower level has a half price sale at 7:30 each evening - lots of goodies to enjoy.

The Bldg next door...where the Starbucks and McDs are---...they have lots of shopping and a great massage place (in the corner on the 2nd floor- had a foot and head massage)...again- we would have loved to try the spa at the hotel...but a bit over our budget. There are food courts in all the malls that have great food. You buy a prepaid card in the malls and then just pick what you want to eat...and then on the same day you can get a refund for any left over money on the ard. We on a bit of a budget...so we did not eat much iin the hotel.

The hotel has great and easy access to the skytrain- you can buy a set up ride tickets that makes travelling easier = not having to queue up to buy tickets each time.

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The conciege was most accomodating in writing out things for taxi drivers, confirming cooking school reservations...BaiPai - enjoyed etc.

Felt very safe in the hotel and would stay here again. I would rate this hotel a 4+ when compared to places like The Penninsula and The Oriental.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancyesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

With the political violence & a soft economy, hotel occupancy in Bangkok is around 50% according the Hyatt's General Manager. It's probably why service was so exceptional on my two visits this month - there is a lot of competition for the few tourists and business travellers who are still going to Bangkok.

Grand Club Lounge - staff were extremely professional, food & beverage was outstanding & the wireless signal was strong. Excellent panoramic view of the city which also makes the GC Lounge such a great place.

Rooms - Grand Club floor room was spotless. Wireless signal in the room was weak and there is a charge for Internet access. Go to the GC Lounge if you want a fast & free connection.

Gym/Spa/Pool - gym is large, good selection of equipment. Outdoor pool is on the 3rd floor but isn't exactly an oasis considering the rumble of the elevated trains nearby, and the city's polluted air.

Location - borders the Central World Shopping Centre - the largest in SE Asia.

Airport Access - a city taxi (not a hotel car) will cost about THB450 and take 25 minutes from the hotel to Suvarnabhumi Airport (without traffic.)

As in all major Bangkok hotels, you'll see lonely businessmen with their Thai escorts. The Grand Hyatt is no exception.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PegasusMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

The Hyatt Hotel In Bangkok Thailand was in the center of the city. It was very safe and close to everything. The only negative thing I can say was the fact that because the Hotel is in prime location, the traffic was horrible! Do not take a taxi during rush hour. I walked instead. When I was there for Christmas they had the hotel nicly decorated. The staff were all too friendly! The room service and food at the hotel was 5 stars!! Very clean rooms and great staff! Loved this hotel and I will be back again!

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NikkiSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

I stayed at Grand Hyatt in June 2008 and this was a free stay for 2 nights. I was lucky to spend only 1 night. Before my booking I changed the 2 nights room only to 1 night with breakfast. When we arrived I had to show my e-mail confirmation at check in because there was no note of the breakfast remark.
Lobby - very grand and has a tropical feeling.
Location- great just opposite World Trade Center but there are many other hotels nearby offering better value and accommodation - Intercontinental, Grand Centara, Four Seasons, Courtyard and Grand Center Point.
Rooms - very old and in need of massive make over. The only difference between superior and deluxe rooms is the view. The bathrooms are tired with old fittings, only positive is the good shampoo. The TV in the room is from the 80's. Only the Club room has a plasma TV. The club rooms are the same as any other room but with the new TV and club lounge access.
The breakfast - big let down, nothing similar to Shangri La or any other 5 star hotel, poor selection of food.
Service- good but took 4 hours the bathroom to be cleaned and let's be honest it is Thailand and the service in many places is good.
Pool - nice but again the staff didn't offer a drink menu and when we finally ordered from the bar we were asked to pay immediately not given the option to sign to the room bill, very strange.
In the evening one of their restaurants becomes more like a meeting place for business people with local ladies of the night.
In one word there are much better options in Bangkok based on location, service, price.
Never again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moschino24_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Length of stay : 4days 3nights
Number of pax : 2adults + 2kids
Room : Executive Club Room

Grand Hyatt is more of a business rather than a family hotel. but what makes it so attractive is its convenient location and it is connected to the overhead passenger walkway which links to most of the major shopping malls like Gaysorn, CentralWorld, Paragon, Siam Discovery and Siam Square as well as the Chit Lom BTS Station. We have a toddler with us and bringing a stroller would be a nightmare if we were navigate on the road below. But with the overhead walkway, stroller nightmare is a thing of the past and I feel that it is much safer for the kids since we are away from the endless traffic.

The rooms are your average hotel room size with clean sheets, towels and toilets [what do you expect, it is a Hyatt after all]. we booked the Club Room which offers refreshments and nibbles all day till 1130pm. This is truly an added bonus when u have two very active and always hungry kids who truly enjoyed the cookies and cakes and warm milk provided at the Lounge. The staff at very friendly and we are always met with smiles all around us. Pool is adequate but the kids pool could do with a slide or two. There are several eating outlets in the hotel itself and the pastry shop at the ground floor is simply heavenly.

The hotel limo is on the expensive side compared to GH Bali. We took the airport limo upon arrival and it cost us Bht1,100 one way. Our friends who arrived on an earlier flight took the normal taxi which costs them Bht500. We took the hotel limo on our return to the airport since we have too many items and shopping bags and it cost us Bht2750. You do the math.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if your major itinierary in Bangkok is shopping for its convenience and comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DanyMyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Short stopover at the Hyatt.

Was very pleasantly surprised when I was immediately checked into my room at 8am. Also, no problem with check-out at 2.30pm although property full for next night. Very much "can do" approach by hotel staff.

Amazing amount of dining options at the Hyatt; did not try out any as too many tempting opportunities outside.

The Hyatt is located just opposite some of Bangkok's largest shopping malls and features the beautiful Erawan shrine in front of it.

Great additional feature is the direct walkway access to the BTS which makes getting around this traffic heavy city so much easier.

All in all, a very business like approach at this property.

One feature which caught me: the keycard slot was not "manned by a room key but rather by a separate card. I took that one with me the first time I left the room and obviously could not access my room anymore when I came back. No problem, staff were very swift in getting me into the room again. What is the rationale for having this card but not having it removed (saving energy) when you leave the room?

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srhmmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#22 of 881 in Bangkok
3,210 reviews
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 881 in Bangkok
2,015 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok

Address: 494 Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $181 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bangkok's business and commercial district, Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok is a five-star luxury hotel with resort-style amenities. The hotel recently introduced newly renovated guestrooms and suites designed by Tony Chi, offering residential ambience to ensure that guests feel at home. Enjoy a rejuvenating experience in one of our six residential spa cottages after a gruelling day of business meetings or corporate events. Indulge your palate with our dining options, such as Tables Restaurant, Spasso Restaurant & Bar, and Erawan Tea Room. Immerse yourself in Thai culture by visiting the Grand Palace, the Emerald Buddha and the Silom District. You can also drop by the Chatuchak Weekend Market, home to more than 2,000 stalls selling various knick knacks and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Hyatt Bangkok
Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Hyatt Bangkok
Bangkok Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing