We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Among the most elegant and comfortable hotels in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Ranked #25 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Among the most elegant and comfortable hotels in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've stayed many times at the Grand Hyatt Erawan, and I really love the place. The location is right in the center of Bangkok's shopping district, steps from the Skytrain, and close to most Embassies. The lobby somehow manages to be both monumental and soothing. The staff are friendly, energetic, and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are comfortable and often beautiful. There are fresh-cut orchids everywhere, and there's usually a basket of tropical fruit in the room. The gym is well-equipped, although it's often crowded, and there's an inviting pool that's big enough for swimming laps. There are several good restaurants and lounges, including one of each in the main lobby and the pleasant and inexpensive "You and Mee" noodle house in the lower lobby.

The only reason I don't stay at the Hyatt even more often is the price. The standard rate is in the $300 range. Most other Bangkok hotels that start out in this range (the Conrad, Le Meridien, Plaza Athenee, Millennium Hilton, and others) often have discount rates under $150, but this is rare at the Hyatt.

My most recent stay was my first ever on the "executive level". I used a Hilton Honors Diamond suite upgrade; it was nice to have a living room, but the bedroom was pretty much the same as the other rooms in which I've stayed at the Erawan. The "Grand Club" was nice enough, and the evening drinks and hors d'oeuvres there were good, but the breakfast buffet in the Club is not as extensive as the truly impressive one in the lobby restaurant. And the Club, although it is on the 17th floor and has nice views, nevertheless has a more crowded feel than the restaurant in the main lobby. So the executive level does not add a lot to the already excellent Erawan experience.

I have noticed only two small areas for improvement: First, the door to the covered ramp that connects the hotel to the Skytrain does not open until 10 a.m. and then closes at 9 p.m., so guests at the Hyatt who want to use the train during earlier or later hours must leave the hotel and walk to one of the outside stairways to the Chit Lom station. Second, the live music in the Spasso lounge on the lower level seems to be of the loud-for-the-sake-of-loud variety; this not only makes the lounge itself an unpleasant place to be after 10 p.m. or so, it also means that hotel guests on lower floors may hear the music and/or feel its vibrations in their rooms until the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AssimilatedCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,269
    722
    149
    45
    28
See reviews for
580
721
310
1,132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

As a diamond member, I do get extra privileges however when it comes to ambience overall this is the best in all the hotels I stayed ..
Following are pros
- perfect location for shopping malls
- proximity to chitlom BTS
- they is a sky walk connecting all shopping malls including erawan mall in which Hyatt is located
- nearby Siam square and MBK malls
- overall staff is very attentive and response is quick
The only downside I see in the hotel is tr rooms are bit outdated and needs renovation which is ongoing ..

Overall this hotel is highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hareesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

For several years I "commuted" to Bangkok for work and during that time the Erawan became my 'home away from home'. The location is excellent, very near a BTS stop and there's plenty of great shops and restaraunts nearby. The service is absolutely wonderful from top to bottom. Their own restaraunts are highly recommended and there's a nice bar with pretty good bands in the evening. Amidst the hustle and bustle of Bangkok, the Grand Hyatt Erawan is a wonderful oasis. If you opt for the Club room, you won't want to miss the 'snacks' and drinks in the evening and the outstanding breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBU-RoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Second visit, we love this hotel, great location and service. The rooms are nice and Club is lovely. We really enjoyed the breakfasts down in the lobby restaurant. The staff are all very friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STJM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Grand Hyatt Erawan for business trip. The location is good and very close to upscale malls and shopping centre. However, it's also near the street food stalls and a shrine.

The room is quite nice, although my room has a bit odd layout. It's not too spacious but good enough for two.

The breakfast is quite nice, with good selections. I find the restaurant downstairs on the adjacent shopping centers to be very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ign_Kristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed in this hotel a couple of times the hotel is abit dated but to be honest its very elegent and has a feel of luxury.
From the moment you walk in depending on the room you choose to stay in until check out the staff are just perfect and will attend to every need never once did I hear a No everything was yes sir right away sir.

Im very happy with this hotel and cant wait to go back, The food quality is 5 star at its best,
The rooms are very big and really clean.
The rooms are made up stright away ethier on request or by putting the make up room light on.

The buffet for lunch was amazing this you have to try this is highly reccommended by far the bar on the lower level is really nice at night and great italian joint amazing food once again.

There are heaps of resturants to choose from and thats what I love lots of choice the spa and message place OMG! you need to try it perfect high service and the pool is great perfect size.

This is the hotel to choose I would not even bother looking at anything else I loved it !!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor always better as its very busy out side and you might encounter lots of cars 24/7 If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayminS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Bangkok is busy to say the least. i was here for business and it is GO.GO.GO and to come back tot he Grand Hyatt Erawan Hotel was lovely. Greeted by 2-3 people outside and then several more inside, you feel like they know you. The buffet breakfast was endless from Western to Asian food, the gym was great and the sheets / bed are super comfortable!

Next to the hotel is the 4 Faces of Buddah- go at night and experience Thai purity of belief. Buy the offering and kneel before each Buddha face to pray for something. If you wish comes true, you must return and pay the dancers who sit behind to dance and celebrate for you!

Room Tip: I felt safe with continual security checks for cars and people as they entered. Cabs are there 24/7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#19 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
The St. Regis Bangkok
#17 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok

Property: Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Address: 494 Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bangkok's business and commercial district, Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok is a five-star luxury hotel with resort-style amenities. The hotel recently introduced newly renovated guestrooms and suites designed by Tony Chi, offering residential ambience to ensure that guests feel at home. Enjoy a rejuvenating experience in one of our six residential spa cottages after a gruelling day of business meetings or corporate events. Indulge your palate with our dining options, such as Tables Restaurant, Spasso Restaurant & Bar, and Erawan Tea Room. Immerse yourself in Thai culture by visiting the Grand Palace, the Emerald Buddha and the Silom District. You can also drop by the Chatuchak Weekend Market, home to more than 2,000 stalls selling various knick knacks and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Erawan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Hyatt Bangkok
Hyatt Erawan Bangkok
Hyatt Bangkok
Bangkok Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing