We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it but they have pricing tricks”
Review of Landmark Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Landmark Bangkok
Ranked #60 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
San Fran
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Loved it but they have pricing tricks”
Reviewed March 2, 2007

Loved the hotel in general, rooms were nice, service
up to Bangkok par.

But I have a problem with their pricing approach.
They quote rates on their website in US Dollars. But
then they convert their prices to Baht and bill you in
Baht, converted at a inflated rate (their website says
they use a 39+ Baht/Dollar conversion rate, and the
real market rate is 33Baht/Dollar). So if you expected
to pay $200, or 6600 Bht, they convert the $200 debt to
7800 Bht, charge you that amount, and then you get
charged $240 on your credit card.

So if their quoted website rate is correct, they basically
charge a hidden 20% premium above their quoted Dollar
rates; if they quote $200/night, you will end up paying
$240/night when you get the bill, which can be an
unpleasant surprise. And you won't figure this out until
check out, or even later.

If someone quotes a rate of $200 on their website, then
that's what you ought to pay, in my humble opinion. Or
they ought to quote prices in Baht.

  • Liked — location and room quality
  • Disliked — tricky pricing, club level desk staff average at best
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank trvlin_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    621
    164
    53
    29
See reviews for
194
678
302
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2007

I've just come back from a 10 days holiday in Bangkok and I'll stay at different hotel each time I went to Bangkok. This time, I've decided to stay at Landmark for 3 nights.
I arrived there at about 12:30 noon and was promised for an early check-in. The process of checking in was very smooth except that the staff that attending to us was not smiling at all. All the requests were attended to brilliantly. My room was at level 18 (non-smoking floor) and offers good view of the Siam / Pratunam area if I'm not mistaken. So, I practically can plan my trip whether by BTS or taxi, depending on the road situation.
The room (superior) room was a bit smaller and for us with 2 big luggage was quite cramp. However, loved the pillows (eventhough Marriot's pilliow and Movenpick's pillows are much more better).
The housekeeping was good and even on the last day, they knocked our door and asked if we need more toiletries. The minibar was well stock-up.
The buffet breakfast at the Atrium was fabulous, except that I think they should also put the local food. Nevertheless, the spread is fantastic. But, for Muslim, its very limited. The pastries and bread were mmmmm....plenty of choices. The staff at the juice counter even offer me to take the fruits to eat fresh!.
The Thai Restaurant on the third floor was superb. The ambience, the food was excellent. While you dine, there is the live music performance by three sweet young lady using the traditional music instruments. The price was unbelieveably cheap. Should try it!.
The surrounding area was good, with the night market alongside the walkway in front of the hotel (across the road) and plenty of halal food restaurant too.
Overall, the staff is good and very attentive.

  • Liked — The turn down service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akublues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2007

This is a great hotel - you can feel really papmpered here and are treated like royalty as soon as you enter the lobby.
It's in a good location just by the nana skytrain station.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — luxuriousness of the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UKDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2007

We arrived at The Landmark as our first stop in Thailand and spent 3 nights there. Our rep checked us in whilst we had a cold beer in the bar; perfect. We asked our rep about upgrading and he advised us to wait until we arrived to see which floor our room was on. We were on the 19th floor and decided to stick with it. The room was great, massive bed, all the usual facilities with a very powerful shower in a seperate cubicle, together with a decent sized bathroom. The views looked over the city. We ere very comfortable and it was not noisy. We used the swimming pool every morning before breakfast and in the evening (open 7-7) it was very well maintained and had a seperate sun terrace, although it took us at least 6 lengths to warm up as water was very cold. Breakfast in the 'Atrium' was fantastic, every choice imaginable (scrambled eggs the best!) from european, to asian to English. It also had it's own juice bar.

The staff were very effecient and attentive. We vsited the 'Pub' in the basement which was lively and had live music. We a very late lunch in the cafe/bar at street level and the food was very good, we also ate in the Japanese resturant and if honest was disappointed. The chocie of food, presentation and taste could not be faulted, but as it was 9.30 when we arrived and it closed at 10.30 we really felt rushed and there was no atmosphere as there was only one other couple in.

The location was great the sky train was almost opposite being station Nana which was very convenient. We found out later that if using the sky training a lot then you can buy day tickets.

We also ate at a resturant at Sukhumvit 13 called Cabbages and Condoms (out of hotel turn right and follow road it is a little way up sukhumvit 13). It was the best meal we had, you can eat inside (aircon) or in a pretty court yard with fairy lights. The bill comes complete with 2 condoms!!

Bangkok was amazing and exciting but very polluted especially in a tuk tuk. In case you are interested......worth getting skytrain to patpong night market and tuk tuk back expect to pay 100-150bht. Beware of tuk tuk and taxi drivers telling you Wat Po or Grand Palace is closed and they try to take you to another via there sponsor (gems/tailor), they are open every day and are not closed. Wat Po (Reclining Budha) was amazing we also had a massage there in the school of massage (480 bht herb massage).

Good choice of hotel and good start to our travels.

  • Liked — Committed and attentive staff, breakfast and location
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank FranStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2007

We have stayed at the Landmark twice now and this time were upgraded to a club floor which includes breakfast on the 31st floor and a free cocktail hour. Rooms were very nice, service excellent, and best of all it is in the same location as our tailor, Nickermann's,which is in the basement shopping area. Landmark is also conveniently located to the Sukhimvit shopping and night fair across the street. There is free entrance to an awesome fitness center as well.

  • Liked — Location and excellent service
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

This is a superb hotel - Great location just 100 yards from the skytrain, Nice rooms but what makes this place special is the staff who are incredibly helpful.

Plus points:

Several good eating venues I recommend the steak house on the top floor great food if a bit pricey for bangkok

The hotel gym is part of fitness first and guests have free access to the largest gym in asia.

well equipped rooms and if you pay $50 a day supplement which we did you get an upgraded room free cocktails each evening and breakfast which is substantial - worth considering

all in all a great place to stay in the bustle of bangkok

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank marcdocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 28th Dec to New years eve. As with previous reviews below I have to agree with all the comments totally. We were met on our arrival with smiling faces, our cases were whisked off and appeared in our room after we had checked in. The room on 23rd floor was excellent. Lovely views over the city. We tried the hotel pool on our last day and it was fairly quiet. Towels are provided and loungers comfortable. All staff were very helpful and I would definitley recommend this hotel if you want to feel pampered.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#54 of 868 in Bangkok
1,487 reviews
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Sukhumvit
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Bangkok

Property: Landmark Bangkok
Address: 138 Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#49 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#56 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#61 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Landmark Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Bangkok is an all-round impressive hotel offering 31 storeys of elegant and spacious accommodation comprising 399 rooms, including suites. Our accommodation and in-house restaurants are of the highest international standards, while the service is sublimely Thai. The hotel facilities include business center with private meeting rooms, 25 recently upgraded meeting rooms with capacities for 10 -1000 delegates, along with Fitness First Platinum Landmark, Landmark Spa, outdoor swimming pool, and WiFi. A wide range of gourmet dining possibilities are available in a choice of 7 outstanding restaurants. Guests have a choice of 6 room types, including the Premium, Premium Club, Premium Corner and Premium Club Corner rooms, the Deluxe Suite and the Executive Suite. These range in size from 26 sqm. to 78 sqm. All rooms feature state of the art design, along with deluxe in-room amenities, superb services and facilities such as complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, convenient Media Hub for multi-media connectivity and a 40-inch High Definition television set. With major renovations now completed, The Landmark has reaffirmed its position as one of Bangkok's most enduringly popular hotels. Part of that success is due to its convenient location on lower Sukhumvit Road in central Bangkok, close to Nana station on Bangkok's Skytrain system, and easy access to all the important expressways. The hotel is also within easy distance of the main business, shopping and entertainment areas as well as the Bangkok International Trade Exhibition Center (BITEC), Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre, and IMPACT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Landmark Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing