We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the protesters!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
Ranked #74 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Close to the protesters!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were in Westin for few days around the 1st of February , very close to Thai election date. Of course , it was not as bad as they are showing you on TV. It is not the first time in Westin , but this time we have noticed a very bad smell in the down lobby. Very strange... In rest , everithing excellent , as ussual! Rooms are very big and spacious , the bathrooms well equipped , sleeping fabulous! The pool at 8th stage is little but you will always find an available chair. We had reserved dinner and the food was fantastic. Absolutely fantastic! Congratulation to the Chef! And about the protesters: it was a permanent demonstration in the corner of the hotel. But everything was in a very nice manner , we walk between them , is really not like in TV.
And a last thing : they have free WiFi only in the lobby! For a 5 stars hotel this is not to good. When they are going to learn that in our days , WiFi is like cold water??

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bibicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    731
    210
    45
    14
See reviews for
277
419
302
583
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

stayed at this place for 3 nights in december 13. would say that i was pleasantly surprised with the decor of the room and the amenities. Would have surely rated this hotel as excellent if i was given a smoking room -- going down 20 floors each time you wanna smoke is not exactly a fun thing to do :-(

In terms of everything else -- the hotel is near perfect...the service, the beds, the bathrooms, the food all really nice. The breakfast spread is too good.

The location though being nice has too much of sleaze around it -- so wouldnt really recommend this place to families with kids (can get a bit annoying with stalls on the street openly selling sex toys etc) -- but yes...this is bangkok

Room Tip: if u wanna smoking room -- booking it in advance as there is a likelyhood that you wont get a smokin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear vishig,

Thank you for taking the time to share details of your stay with us in December. We appreciate the feedback and also the details you have provided. We actually only have two floors of smoking guestrooms due to typical demand, and I am very sorry that we were unable to allocate one. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay besides that, and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

As most reviewers have noted, The Westin is in a great location for access to the rest of the city. Having stayed at other Bangkok hotels, we keep coming back to The Westin (6th or 7th time). Rooms are great. Maybe not as new and opulent as other hotels, but we find it relaxing and welcoming. Can't fault the rooms or bathrooms. The staff maybe a little aloof for Thailand, but not a huge issue at all. I love the breakfast at The Westin and the staff are very efficient. A great way to start your day. Yes, your typical hotel buffet, however they do have little extras that make it stand out at times. The roast ham always a favourite! Worth staying and it won't disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Manny T,

It's great to read your feedback and that the Hotel won't disappoint and thank you very much for your loyalty to us.

Stay well,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I booked this hotel with a special offer: as a reward for long stay (10 nights) I was offered free membership of the Executive Club. When we checked in, they said this was not the case, as we were not in an Executive room (whatever that was). I had a long discussion with a member of staff, who tried to negotiate a deal by which I would pay half the price of Executive Club membership. I refused to negotiate on a deal which had already been agreed, and he eventually caved in. This was embarrassing and upsetting after a long flight.
Having said that, the room was good, the breakfast buffet was good, and the service generally was excellent. I also recommend the Executive Club! My only complaint about the hotel itself was that the evening restaurant was far too expensive; we ate instead at the Sheraton next door (especially the wonderful Basil (Thai) restaurant) where you can charge all drinks and meals to the Westin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear JohnA,

Thank you for taking the time to post and share, and thank you also for the feedback. I checked back with the team and without making excuses, it seems that there was an error on the confirmation that included the benefits of Executive Club. Although it too time to digest and understand what had occurred, I am very happy that we included in the end, as our error. I am sorry that it too time to rectify and understand. i am pleased you enjoyed along with the other items of the Hotel as well as our sister property's Thai restaurant.

Thanks for sharing. I hope there is an opportunity that we can welcome you back again.

Many thanks,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights recently and really enjoyed the experience

Hotel is a little worn around the edges but never affected the quality of my stay

The hotel is in a great central location minutes walk from Terminal 21 shopping centre and Robinson Dep't store below the hotel

My room was very comfortable and well appointed...bed was very very comfortable

Wi fi was free in the room and a decent speed

staff were always friendly and courteous throughout

Overall my experience at the Westin was really enjoyable and relaxing and I would certainly recommend it if you were visiting Bangkok

Room Tip: All rooms seem great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed at this property on Christmas day itself. The location of the hotel is fantastic, it is just next to the Terminal 21 shopping mall. That is about the only thing that is good about the hotel. Checking in is on the 8th floor. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the staff at the front door, whom had volunteered to help us with our luggage to the reception which was pointed out by the staff is on the 8th floor. We told the staff we can help ourselves and he showed us to the lift that will take us to the check in counters.

At the counter, the staffs greeted us with a smile and helped us processed our check in promptly. We gotten our keycard and was given a room that matches our requirements. However, there was no special mention about my SPG member unlike the other hotels under the chain. We collected our keycard and proceeded up to our room. When we were at the door of the room as assigned, we couldn't get the door open with our keycard. We enquired with the housekeeping staff who was a few rooms down regarding the problem we were facing. She promptly put down her work and concentrated on helping us solving our problem. Although she spoke very little english, she managed to find out our problem and called front desk. Upon checking with front desk, we realise we were told the wrong room. The housekeeping staff even showed us to our room and ensured that we were comfortably settled down before resuming her work.

We entered the room we were assigned. The floor area of the room felt just right for its category, it isn't too cramp and there isn't too much unnecessary furnitures in the room. Heading into the room, the toilet door is located on the right side. The toilet itself was presentable and functional. A single basin with racks that the hotel staffs displays the amenities. The amenities are of good quality, but the flaw is it is too small a bottle. We had resorted to bugging the housekeeping staff a few times to get more bathing amenities. The walking shower is just next to the toilet bowl, tucked in one corner of the bathroom. on the other side of the bath room is a smallish bathtub, with a huge mirror hung up on the wall. The bathtub looked too dirty to be used, hence we did not even bother to use it.

Opposite the toilet are some shelvings that houses the minibar and drinks, with a small wardrobe. The main bulk of the room is taken up by the king-sized bed, big enough to sleep 3 adults. Opposite the bed was a large LED TV. There is also a 2 seater couch beside the bed and a study study for those who want to do some work in the room. The view of the room we were assigned was facing the city, which is a better view of the 2 sides of the hotel. However the down side of the room is that it somehow felt wasn't ready for occupancy. We saw an empty plate on the study desk, which comes with a small note that reads "Please enjoy the complementary fruits", it turns out there was NO fruit on the plate! I am not too sure if this is a practical joke that the hotel cracks with the customers on Christmas itself. Speaking of Christmas, we had thought that a western brand hotel would have some small gestures for Christmas, to our disappointment, there isn't anything other then a huge Xmas tree in the lobby, to mark this holiday festivity.

After settling in, we headed for the pool for sun tanning. The pool was of a right size, however the water is very cold , despite it being the middle of the day. We saw some staffs around at the pool, all of them doesn't appear to be interested in working. Spotted some chatting in one corner with their colleagues, while others were busy playing on their mobile phone. We checked out the gym, which was rather small, the staff at the gym saw us entering the gym and gave us a "what the hell are you here for" stare. I am taken aback by the difference in service standards amongst the staffs that we have met throughout the hotel. Some of the frontline staffs are not interested in ensuring customers are well taken care of, while that level of service was seen portrayed by a backend staff such as a housekeeper. The free wifi at the lobby is a joke! we were given one slip, which can only be logged in by one device at a time for 1 hour! However most of the slips that we were given were expired! Wonder what is stopping the hotel from opening up wifi at the lobby for patrons to use!!

Overall, while the sleep and the room was comfortable in this hotel, the difference in service standards portrayed by the various staffs and the rude joke that we encountered in the room, coupled with the dirty bathtub are serious flaws that the hotel intentionally or unintentionally overlook. I will NOT come back to this hotel the next time i am in Bangkok, there are better hotels around at this price range that will provide better and more consistent service.

Room Tip: Don't bother coming here, go stay at Sheraton opposite or Four Points by Sheraton nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Diviva,

I appreciate you taking the time to post and share the comprehensive detail of both the Hotel and your specific stay with us. Thank you for the positive comments, and I appreciate also the comments on the areas you believe we could improve. I am delighted the Housekeeper looked after you well and assisted to ensure you arrival was what it should be. I am sorry for the inconvenience on arrival. I hope there may be an opportunity that we can welcome you back at a later date, so we have the chance to restore some confidence. Please do let us know.

Kind regards,
Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In a land far far away
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We enjoyed our one night retreat at the Westin Hotel. The room was lovely with the famous Westin beds of supreme comfort! We enjoyed room service, which was hot, fresh and fairly quick to arrive. The pool is very nice, but a bit cold! Good view, nice pool bar, and great fitness centre. Much cheaper than lots of other hotels in the area - so worth it!

Room Tip: Rooms with the view over the city (pool-side) - not facing the other street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjfInalandfarfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinBangkok, General Manager at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear mjfInalandfarfaraway,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel great value. I really appreciate the feedback and thank you for sharing.

Kind regards,

Charles Jack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sukhumvit
Four Points By Sheraton Bangkok, Sukhumvit 15
Sukhumvit
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Grande Centre Point Terminal 21
Sukhumvit
The Continent Hotel Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grande Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grande Sukhumvit

Property: The Westin Grande Sukhumvit
Address: 259 Sukhumvit 19, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#48 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#66 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#113 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Grande Sukhumvit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Westin difference at The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, Bangkok, a contemporary retreat in the heart of the city’s thriving business and entertainment district. The hotel is steps from the BTS Asok skytrain and MRT Sukhumvit subway stations ensuring guests are moments away from the city’s best shopping, vibrant nightlife, and unique cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grande Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grande Sukhumvit, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Westin Bangkok
Bangkok Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing