We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Bangkok for business or pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 884 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel many times, alone for business, and with my family on vacations. This hotel is fantastic: very friendly and efficient, clean, extremely well located and can walk right onto sky train, very customer oriented and always ready to accomodate needs. The breakfast is spectacular. Outstanding pool.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dhoopstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,593 - 2,599 of 3,686 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2009

I've had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit for 5 weeks on business from January-March 2009. As a busy consultant who has stayed in the finest hotels on six continents, this hotel is far and away my favorite in the world. I would highly recommend that aspiring hotel managers stay at this property to learn how to properly run a first-class hotel such as this one.

Given the number and length of my stays (4 totaling 5 weeks), I can provide many reasons why this is the pre-eminent hotel not only in Bangkok but anywhere else in the world:

1) FIRST CLASS SERVICE: This must be the friendliest, and most helpful staff I've ever met. From the moment you arrive, the staff is smiling and ready to assist. They make it a point to learn your name. The concierge will go to great lengths to find you a restaurant of your choice or write a location for you in English and Thai (helpful for taxis). The staff will secure you a taxi quickly and write down its information and license in case you experience difficulties. Every phone call I made to guest services was answered in one ring with a personal greeting. Room service and tea/coffee was brought to my room in expedient fashion. Housekeeping and turndown service was exemplary and flexible in coming "on-demand" quickly.

2) EXCELLENT LOCATION: Opinions on this may vary, but to me this is the place to stay in Bangkok. The hotel is connected to the BTS - Bangkok's above-ground subway and the MRT - the underground subway. Between those you have access to most locations in the city, which is preferable to sitting in taxis given the ridiculous traffic jams in Bangkok. Sukhumvit road is touristy, but has a breadth and depth of restaurants and nightlife options.

3) AMENITIES: In the room you receive a beautiful fruit plate that is replaced everyday. As an SPG Platinum member, I was immediately upgraded without asking to a suite (tip: ask for a corner suite, these are even nicer). I was offered 3 free pieces of clothing for ironing, unlimited free shoeshines, and unlimited free coffee/tea in the room by just calling guest services. The tea/coffee was always delivered quickly with a couple cookies as well. In addition, I was given 2 hours every evening of free cocktails at any of the hotel's many bar facilities. Finally, breakfast was also included, which costs about $20 USD otherwise. This is tremendous value. I also had free unlimited wi-fi anywhere in the hotel and in my room (this was a Platinum benefit - there is a cost otherwise).

4)FACILITIES: This hotel literally has every kind of top-notch facility you need. I didn't use the spa, but it has a solid reputation (personally I prefer local areas to hotel spas). The gym had the latest in exercise equipment with FREE personal training - in fact, there were always trainers in black shirts walking around available. There is a full schedule of free fitness classes as well. There are several nice restaurants featuring cuisines from around the world in the hotel that you can also order from if you want room service. The Sala is a gorgeous outdoor patio and swimming pool area with a bar - it's included as part of an evening cocktail package - it has a tropical feel that makes you feel like you're in Phuket and not Bangkok! Bar Su is a lively bar, especially on Friday and Saturday nights. There are also quieter areas such as The Library to talk to clients or read a book.

5) BEAUTIFUL ROOMS: The suites are extraordinary, but the regular rooms are great too. Flat screen LCD, DVD player, complimentary fruit and water bottles, big desks, comfy chairs, electronic safe, bathrobes, slippers, every possible toiletry amenity, big windows overlooking the city.

6) THE EXTRA MILE: What I love about this hotel is they are very considerate. There was one time when a small leak occurred in the roof near the entrance to my room. The staff immediately came to fix the situation and delivered a complimentary box of chocolates. When I checked in once at 6am, my upgraded suite wasn't ready and I was way ahead of check-in time, but they nevertheless found a regular room for me to rest in until my suite was ready. There are very few hotels that are this attentive to your needs.

OVERALL: I highly recommend you experience this world-class hotel. Yes, the hotel can be a bit expensive, especially for Bangkok. And some services such as the spa and room service are at Western prices - you can get cheaper services and food right outside the hotel. But my advice is to check their website and ask for specials - they often have them, esp in this economy. When I was staying they had 3 nights for 2 promotions and rooms as cheap as 4500THB (~$125). I cannot wait until my next trip to the Land of Smiles.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Neil_in_Morristown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

One of the 10 best hotels in bkk, there is actually nothing negative to say about this hotel if you have a changce stay here. Perfekt location, excellent staff, great pool area and perfect rooms. I visit bangkok 5 times a year and this is the luxury hotel that gives the most value for money in bkk!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pazzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

There's no point to write a review about this hotel - everything is great there! The most important is, that the staff is excellent - the best out there. They make your stay as comfortable as possible to the point, that you feel guilty about staying there.
There's an LCD telly, DVD player, coffee machine, complimentary fruits and bottles of water, air con, wi-fi internet, good size desk and comfy chairs, big wardrobe and much much more. Your bed will be made twice a day and you'll find a fresh orchid on your pillow. There are few restaurants and bars in the hotel and a night club - all worth to try. Breakfast is the best out there and you'll get everything you want - doesn't matter if you're from the Old Continent, from Japan or the US.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyGuyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

All the good things that others have said about this hotel, I completely agree. What I appreciate the most, especially when i've a weekend in Bangkok, is the overhead bridge linkway between the hotel and the local mass rapid transit line. It makes getting around to all the major shopping areas a breeze...even on rainy days. I am usually booked at this hotel when i travel on business to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 050212fff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

This property is located near the Asoka station which gives it easy access through a walkway to the entire train line. Getting around is easy from here.

The property is very grand, the marble adorning its walls has been selected by the owners with great thought, the entire experience is very elegant and royal. It lives up to the name 'Grande'.

Rooms were large and spacious, the closets were huge, the bathrooms absolutely massive.

I'd stay there over and over again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prinx74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

From the moment I arrived until I left, I felt that this was an excellent establishment with well trained and enthusiastic staff. Pool side bar and lunch service was a little laid back but not really too much of a problem. The hotel is situated in a not very attractive part of the City but then there is little incentive to leave the hotel. If you do get straight into a taxi or onto the Skytrain. Walking is hideous and rather warm.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 884 in Bangkok
8,454 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 884 in Bangkok
4,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 250, Sukhumvit Road | Khlong Toei, Khlong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $166 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sukhumvit Road in the heart of Bangkok with a walkway connecting the hotel lobby to the convenience of the Skytrain and the MRT underground, guests are moments away from enriching cultural sights, palatial shopping malls, a cosmopolitan dining scene and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Bangkok
Sheraton Hotel Grande Sukhumvit
Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing