We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury hotel in particularly good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #9 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel in particularly good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Finding a good hotel in Bangkok is not difficult. But what makes a good hotel an excellent hotel, in my opinion, are the people. And the people in this hotel are excellent. It’s a big hotel, yet there is cosy feel to it, and I get a genuine sense that all of the staff really care about their guests.

Rooms are spacious, and nicely furnished. Those on the higher floors have truly magnificent views over Bangkok, with those at the back probably having the best position. They do feel a little dated but the condition of the rooms is absolutely fine, and up to the standard of the hotel. Bathrooms come with a both a shower and a bathtub, and have decent shampoos, soap etc.

The pool area is particularly nice. It’s an interesting space with lots of trees, which means that you can sit there without it being obvious that you are in the middle of Bangkok. There is nice bar and café area, which I found was a pleasant place to read or work during the morning.

I’ve sampled two of the restaurants. Basil is a Thai Restaurant which I’ve eaten in several times over the years. The food is nice and the service as good as you would expect. The atmosphere is quiet and a little subdued. Prices are in line with this category of hotel, and it’s a good alternative if you don’t want the hassle of finding something outside. There is an Italian restaurant that I’ve not sampled but I’ve been told it is good. There is also the obligatory buffet-style area, which also serves breakfast. This isn’t huge, so breakfast can feel a bit busy and crowded when the hotel is full.

There is an excellent lounge bar, ‘The Living Room’. This is a cosy place to have a drink in the evening and features some really good live jazz. Even if you don’t stay in the hotel, I recommend a visit. And if you like Jazz, be sure to pick a night when Randy Cannon is playing – IMHO he is a world-class jazz pianist. But whatever night you go, the jazz is good. The bar staff are great too, so I’ve always felt welcome.

Location is great, with shops, bars and good spas only a few minutes’ walk away. The hotel has a direct walkway to the Sky Train – a real bonus during the hottest or wettest times of the year!

There is no executive lounge. SPG Platinum members get the usual upgrade plus two hours of drinks in any of the hotel’s bars from 6pm until 8pm. There is also a butler service which delivers tea/coffee to the room 24 hours a day, as well as providing other services like shoe cleaning. Three laundry items per stay are included for Platinum members. So, all in all, a good package to make up for the ‘missing’ lounge.

I’ve seen the Hotel’s General Manager walking the floor in the evenings, talking to guests. I don’t see this in many hotels and think it makes a real difference – and is perhaps why the service is as good as it is.

Happy to recommend the Sheraton Grand Sukhumvit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,604
    636
    118
    27
    19
See reviews for
581
1,055
443
815
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
toluca lake
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

This hotel was amazing and the staff made the experience even more pleasant.
Food was great and the rooms were heavenly

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagopyouredjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

What a wonderful hotel.. I've stayed at many hotels in Thailand, and I always loved the service they offer, but this hotel is something else...

The staff are super helpful, speak a great english and are willing to help with everything and anything. They pool is just wonderful and location couldn't be better.

I previously stayed at the Le Meridien which wasn't bad, but this one is my new favorite hotel in BKK...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaimdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The SGS is a truly unique in property, perfect for families and business travelers. Their unique selling points are: fantastic location (connected to the sky train and the metro), wonderful staff and amazing pool! I spent one night during last weekend and loved every bit of my stay.

An early check-in at 10am was granted without hesitation and I was shown to my room by a very friendly reception staff who was very informative. My room was on the 25th floor overlooking the city. While decor may be slightly dated and some may say it's "tired", I think the maintenance and standard of cleanliness is extremely high. Everything in the room felt brand new and was in perfect working order. No dusts or stains to be found anywhere. Their rooms are larger than most hotels and the bathroom spacious with separate shower.

I was most impressed by the beautiful pool which has the most spectacular tropical garden you'll find at a roof top pool anywhere in the world. The pool area is not very big and gets extremely crowded with no spare loungers to be found anywhere. I had to sit in a "Sala" bar once with my wet swimming shorts! The pool is a lot to write home about. Free-formed style with many water features and music piped under water. Amazing.

I did not have the chance to eat breakfast at the hotel, however a short walk one block up the street and left into the small alley is a lovely French cafe called Crepe and Co. which serves amazing brunch and crepes.

I will definitely return to the SGS and can recommend this hotel for any traveler to Bangkok and even its residents!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel is one of the best in my humble opion. Although BKK have its fair share of newer, spankier hotels, this one stands out for their service render. This trip was only for 2 days and 1nite, and still they did their every best to accomodate my request on laundry, although it was a free service for Starwood members. Its the little details which goes a long way. Still my first choice whenever I stay in BKK. The service team here do it with heart and a smile. I find that hard to find in other places that I have been to. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aviator42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

It has been an absolute pleasure staying at the Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit.

Check in was speedy, efficient and flawless.

The spacious rooms have everything you need. Tastefully decorated with a true sense of Thailand. In particular we loved the reading lights recessed into the ceiling above the bed.

As a family we felt liked we belonged to the extended Sheraton family. The staff were 100 percent attentive without being obtrusive. The exceptional service was evident to us at breakfast, in the gym, by the pool, at the concierge desk, with house keeping...and the list goes on and on. Familiar faces greeted us personally each day in a "welcome home" manner.

It was inspirational to the see the GM wandering throughout the hotel, chatting to guests and staff alike. We even saw Managers and the GM helping staff at busy moments. Fantastic!

The Sheraton Grande's location is fabulous. The location in the heart of the Sukhumvit shopping/restaurant/tailor district is first rate. The direct links to the BTS Skytrain and MRT makes commuting around the city easy and hassle free. We caught the train from the airport to the hotel without any problems at all.

We are already looking forward to our next trip to Bangkok and staying at the Sheraton Grande. Well done Mr. Chapman and team......a "tour de force".

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Warm and welcoming staff. Excellent restaurants (especially Basil for a modern takes on classic Thai food) and the jazz in The Library is world class. The pool is a tropical paradise in the center of the thriving metropolis that is Bangkok.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, book a Grande Deluxe room. The benefits you receive far outweigh the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UA1KBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,792 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 250 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sukhumvit Road in the heart of Bangkok with a walkway connecting the hotel lobby to the convenience of the Skytrain and the MRT underground, guests are moments away from enriching cultural sights, palatial shopping malls, a cosmopolitan dining scene and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Bangkok
Sheraton Hotel Grande Sukhumvit
Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing