We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE This Hotel! Luxury Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #37 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Great resort and a perfect get-away......the type of service you want to experience when you're paying your own money; attentive but not overbearing. Definitely a home run and we can't wait to go back! The Spa is simply unbelievable!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMTPassportKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,915 - 4,921 of 6,643 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed 4 weeks at the Banyan Tree Bangkok in a beautiful (& luxurious) 1 bedroom suite on the 16th floor (a non-smoking floor) during our business / vacation trip in January 2011. We fell in love with the place and staff and will definitely return.

We travel to Bangkok often and here are our usual hotels: the Peninsula, Kempinski, Sukhothai, and Conrad — for leisure, we like river locations; for business and shopping, we prefer the city center locations. This time, we thought we would try out the Banyan Tree (BT) as we had heard wonderful things about the spa and the service.

The BT Bangkok compares very favorably with our usual hotels in terms of accommodation and service.

Room: Our room was spacious (almost 90 square meters, I think), with a large living area (2 huge comfy sofas, perfect for entertaining guests or having a casual business meeting), a dining table for six, a mini kitchen (with a microwave, range, 2 mini fridges, and all the plates, cutlery, and pots we could ever need), and work desk in the big room, a large well-appointed bedroom, and an airy bathroom the size of bedrooms at other similar hotels, with the added bonus of our very own steam room that doubles up as a glassed-in shower. The furnishings are of a high quality. We love everything about it. There are two large flat-screen TV's and a good Nakamichi stereo system (top-loading CD player but no direct iPod connector, so be sure to bring some MP3 or music CD's with if you're into music). The hotel supplies a spa-type music CD for our use. Everyday, the housekeeper brings a good selection of fresh Thai fruits to the room, along with incense and aromatherapy of the day. In the evening during turndown service, the housekeeper also brings little gifts like elephant keychains or little candles in pottery. A nice touch. We do yoga so are grateful for the large floor space (marble, with a big rug around the sofa area).

The internet: generally, the speed is very good. At certain times of the day, the WIFI gets pretty slow.

Restaurants: The breakfast buffet is served at Romsai, which is a gorgeous restaurant one level down from the lobby. It features a glass wall overlooking a koi pond, complete with waterfalls, huge rocks, and turtles (live! we had so much fun watching them). There are also 6 tables outside by the pond, under the shade of a big tree. It's very pleasant to have breakfast outside while listening to the sounds of the waterfall. Breakfast is great, lots of variety. We especially loved the fresh watermelon juice. There are all kinds of foods for all tastes (continental, Indian, Thai, Japanese, western, even ice cream!). We eat mostly fruits and vegetables for breakfast and they have a good supply of them every morning.

Of course, Vertigo is a must-see. The view up there at night is incredible. It feels like you are standing on a hilltop surrounded by fields of poppies and wildflowers of different colors, when in fact you're standing atop one of the tallest buildings in Bangkok (on the 62nd floor) with all manners of lights and displays around you.

The Spa is incredible. We had 14 massages in total and they were among the best we've had anywhere. The masseurs are really well-trained, polite, and great at what they do. Above the comfy massage tables there are mini twinkling lights that give the illusion you are sleeping under a starry sky.

Fitness center: a good selection of machines and few people using them, so we had the place to ourselves pretty much. There are yoga and stretch classes almost daily.

The swimming pool is long and narrow and very beautiful. But the water was very cold because the pool sits in the shade most of the day. January is the tropical version of winter which makes the water quite cold (we swam a few times and found it invigorating after a hot day on the town, but I think most people would find the temperature too cold for swimming). During a warm week, the water got considerably warmer. We would imagine that during the other months the temperature would be nice and refreshing. The pool chairs are nice; the deck is a great place to nap or read a book.

The Club Lounge: large, calm, and peaceful. We had breakfast here sometimes. There are also little snacks and drinks here throughout the day, culminating with hors d'oeuvres from 5-730PM. The ambience here is wonderful. The food does get a bit repetitive after a few days, but that is owing to our staying so long.

The staff: Very polite and helpful. They seemed to take their jobs very seriously. There was one attendant at the Romsai who was so intent on making the table setting perfect he was completely absorbed in the moment; it was a beautiful sight to behold.

During our stay, we got a chance to meet the general manager several times. He makes the rounds of the restaurants, lobby, and club lounge often and it really seemed to us that he cares deeply about what he does. He took our comments and feedback seriously and even sent us a personal note thanking us for our suggestions.

We made use of Lumpini Park often, too. It's just a 10 minute walk from the hotel and has all kinds of outdoor exercise equipment, pedal boats on the ponds, and a nice jogging track. On Sunday nights in the winter, there are free outdoor concerts performed by the Bangkok Symphony Orchestra. Great classical, Thai, and western pop music (they usually have 2 singers per night).

The lobby: Feels kind of like a business hotel lobby. Beautiful flower arrangements and great live Thai music.

Cons:

The driveway to the hotel is narrow and there is no pedestrian walkway (during rush hour, it is a bit tricky dodging the cars and buses that share the narrow driveway with pedestrians). Smoking is allowed everywhere by the pool deck, which annoyed us a little as we thought there should have been a separate section for smokers (one side of the long pool away from the other end). We are allergic to smoke and had to leave the deck every time someone lit up. The location is a bit out of the way for some purposes. Cabs are cheap, so it's not really an issue. The nearest BTS skytrain stations are Chong Nonsi and Saladaeng (which we prefer: you cross Sathorn in front of the hotel, then walk through Saladaeng Rd, and you're there: there are lots of interesting shops and restaurants along the way). There's an office building right in front of the hotel building on the same property, so the hotel is set back a bit from the road. Also, even though we were on a non-smoking floor, one of the guests on the floor must have been smoking illegally because the hallway reeked of smoke for a couple of days. The housekeeper brought the ionizier/air cleaner up and the smell went away. But I think the hotel should keep smokers away from non-smoking areas at all costs. Vertigo, too, is a bit tricky, as it's an open-air restaurant, so some were lighting up right next to us.

Conclusion: In all, we found the BT Bangkok to be a very relaxing, high-end place to stay. When we didn't have business meetings, we just stayed in and imbibed in the tranquility and luxury of the place (a real oasis right in the middle of one of the busiest neighbourhoods in Bangkok). We had so many massages, we got to know the staff there quite well. And since we stayed so long, we also got to know the rest of the staff well, too. All are very nice and helpful. We have decided to make the BT Bangkok one of 3 places we will always stay while here.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Biz-n-Leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

There are so many hotels in BKK but I was looking for hotel with a great spa...Banyan Tree company is well known in the market as a SPA specialists....This company from Singapore knows how to treat clients in their spa rooms ...especially after a long flight...This hotel is great for tourists who want to have a short break before their long trip to Thailand or to Asia...its a nice start of a journey...or you can enjoy BKK with Banyan after your trip...and have a relaxing massage before take off...great thai food and Thai hospitality which is managed by Singaporean company:)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElenaWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed at the Banyan Tree during a stopover from Germany. After a long trip we decided to book spa treatments. The staff was more than friendly and from the first moment on we felt like home and definitely could alleviate stress. Unfortunately, it was only a stayover and we would have loved to stay longer. But we will do so the next time at this fabolous hotel.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
Thank donnjaeael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed at Banyan Tree Bangkok during the first few days of my honeymoon last Fall and I couldn't have asked for better accommodations. The hotel is incredibly luxurious, our room was beautiful and had an great jacuzzi overlooking Bangkok. The service was great, very attentive but not invasive. The restaurants were also superb, we did not have the chance to try all of them. But there are few that you cannot miss. If you dine in the hotel be sure to try the green tea ice cream and Japanese plum wine at Pier 59, they are to die for, and you cannot miss the rooftop lounge experience - champagne at sunset at Vertigo with breathtaking views of the city! I have to add that the Tropical Rainmist experience at their Spa is truly unique and I have not experienced anything like it at any other spas I have been to. The concierge at the hotel was very helpful and gave us many tips on non-touristy places to go and authentic restaurants to dine at. Banyan was a great start to our honeymoon in Thailand, I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a place to stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDH_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

This is my second time staying at Banyan Tree in Bangkok, and i still feel like it is a good value for the money paid. however i would still recommend this hotel for first timers who are looking for bangkok shopping...

The pros:
- fairly cheap for what you get
- large beautiful rooms with high floors and views
- beautiful designs

Cons
- small pool that only gets sunlight from 2-4ish
- farther from the shopping district - which can be annoying during traffic hours
- does not include breakfast- which is also expensive for thailand 850 baht / person

as much as i like this hotel, i'm not sure i'll be back for a third time- i'll probably try the intercontinental....

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4urluxuryvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

There isn't much to add to the numerous positive reviews already on this site. Things that made our stay particularly wonderful were:
- Turn down service in the room with each time a different "incense of the day"
- Large room with superb views
- Rooftop bar is truly one of a kind

Minor things that could be improved:
- Speed of service at reception and rooftop bar
- A/C in the room is difficult to control
- Pool is a bit disappointing
- Pay over 600 B for 24-hr wireless. Really? This is 2011 people.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hein O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#15 of 889 in Bangkok
4,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,622 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 889 in Bangkok
4,557 reviews
Silom
lebua at State Tower
lebua at State Tower
#84 of 889 in Bangkok
7,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $157 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing