We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funtastic hotel and funtastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #41 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 31, 2010

It was in 2005. In a main artery in the city centr, its a funtastic place to bsiness and leisure, The pool in the 21st floor (or close) its very nice and give you a look over the city.

Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
Thank ArturS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,963 - 4,969 of 6,584 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed for New Year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was excellent spacious with views of the city. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The best part of the hotel is the roof top bar. We did not eat at the resturant so can't comment on the food. The only downside was it took sometime to make the cocktails, it is popular and they seemed short on staff but it's worth the wait. Enjoy.........

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwmgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

definitely the best hotel in the world! first the staff understands what you want, and is very very helpful (from concierge to room service and internal flights bookings). Decoration is very classy, modern Thai, they leave to you a small souvenir every night, they are eco friendly... the shampoo, shower gel etc smell extremely good... and don't forget to go to Vertigo, the open air restaurant... if you can afford to eat there, it is very tasty (but very expensive), otherwise, go at least for a drink, it's worth it!
the only week point is that is is far from places of interest, except the night market

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Tirilalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Very nice hotel. We had come from a pool villa at the Phuket Banyan Tree so it was a hard act to follow. We were both a little ill in Bangkok so actually spent quite a lot of time in the room to. Overall a good stay. Vertigo restaurant on the roof was good fun but a little pricey.

We were on honeymoon so were given a bottle of red in the room and upgraded to a premier sweet on the 57th floor with great views.

Bell boys at the front seemed to have a reliable stream of "Taxi Meters" who were happy to use the meter and take a direct route to your destination.

If I was to stay in Bangkok I would stay in a hotel next to the BTS Sky Train routes to avoid using the scamming taxi drivers.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamclark81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We started our Honeymoon in Bangkok at the Banyan Tree. A little out of the way of the main "tourist attractions" of Bangkok, getting around was an experience in itself.. Taxi drivers ordered by the hotel didn't actually take us to where we wanted to go to for various reasons - and we could have got annoyed, but it actually added to the fun (plus taxis are outrageously cheap!)
The hotel itself is very good. We'd booked a Club Suite (although it was more of a room than a suite - a little on the small side and no separate sitting area, quite disappointing, although the bathroom was excellent) and the Club lounge was an excellent addition - free canapes from the various hotel restaurants and sparkling wine before dinner - fantastic!
No mention was made of the fact we were on honeymoon, nor an upgrade offered even though I know the hotel wasn't full up.
The breakfast buffet was very good (as it is in the Banyan Tree Phuket) and I had booked Vertigo for our first night's meal there. That proved to be a huge disappointment. Very expensive and not worth the money, even for the spectacular view. My steak was, frankly, dreadful. We ate out all the other nights at various local restaurants - much more cheaply and in fact with much better quality food. Shame.
Generally a great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danliszt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights and three days in Jan 2010 at the end of a luxurious trip to Koh Samui (The Library and Sala Samui) and wanted a match for the Peninsula - where we had stayed in 2007. We got a very appealing internet rate and had heard of the Banyan Tree group - very nice spa resors in Maldives and Seychelles.

Check-in: Very efficient and polite desk staff made this a quick process. The desk attendant took us to ur room to show us the facilities and our luggage was brought up quickly.

The lobby area - Dark and very corporate city hotel in Asia feel to it. A bit dated but well maintained with mood lighting.

The room - We stayed in room 4001. Rooms are suites so you enter into a main room with desk/chair, drinks unit with minibar, 2 sofas and a coffee table. More dark wood furniture, but well maintained and clean and quite welcoming. The bedroom had a Queen size bed with good mattress and pillows. TVs in both rooms. No electronically controlled curtains etc (as in the Peninsula). Spectacular city views with the Chao Praya river visible in the distance. The en suite bathroom had a bathtub , shower cubicle (double size) with good water-pressure shower and as you'd expect a selection of good quality soaps/gels/shampoo in ceramic containers bearing the Banyan tree logo ubiquitously. The overall feel was a nice space but nothing to wow or elevate it above the competition.

The food - We ordered breakfast twice and room service lunch twice. The breakfast bread basket (an expensive option even by Thai 5 star hotel standards) on the first occasion came without butter or spreads, and on the second occasion a few of the pastries were missing. Butter isn't served in butter bowls, but those unsightly little sealed packages seen in airline meal trays. This is served on a table brought into the room and on a nicely starched and ironed table cloth. The effect could be so much more professional. Also, THE PRICES! We stay at the top end hotels during our visits to Thailand and were on a quest to find the 'best' places in Bangkok and our favourite haunt Koh Samui - the prices at this hotel verge on the ridiculous and obscene. A can of diet coke from the minibar costs over £3. More expensive than Switzerland. Most breakfast options are in the TB 500+ range and are mediocre in presentation and quality. Main courses from either the Thai or Western room service menu easily eclipse TB 750, making a modest snack with non-alcoholic drinks a TB1500+ proposition! This is truly ridiculous.

The Spa - We didn't try this place out. We had plenty of Spa time in Samui, BUT. Again Banyan Tree needs to realise that it cannot hope to compete with its 5 star rivals and charge TB 4500 for the most basic massage. Customers may fall for this once, but when they realise the absurd premium being added onto the various treatments they will not utilise the spa. After all, this is not a spa resort akin to the isolated, remote Maldives/Seychelles resorts, where one does not have a choice but to pay for treatments in-house. Here, customers will vote with their feet and go elsewhere. This is a city hotel, catering to tired guests who have spent the day in the hustle and bustle of Bangkok,and the spa could be so much more attractive if the prices were realistic.

The concierge - fantastic people. Truly faultless service and they deserve high praise. They make you feel special and nothing is too much effort or trouble.

So to summarise - this is a good hotel very conveniently located a short distance from Patpong area, in the financial district with a few embassies nearby (French and Australian certainly). About a 10 min walk to the skytrain and ready availability of taxis (on meters) and rickshaw. Few nice street-food stalls nearby too. It's a standard skyscraper with no real charm in its design on the outside, and inside has well-maintained if somewhat dreary furnishings. The service is very attentive and as always the Thai staff are friendly and cheerful. The failings if I may say are a lack of charm / specialness and you do not feel pampered in the way (for example) the Peninsula made us feel. Also, the prices for food, drink and spa treatments are absurd and do not match the expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobSmith75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

On top of the building there is this fantastic Vertigo restaurant...must dine

Stayed: March 2007
Thank Baretta_GBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#15 of 887 in Bangkok
4,371 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,546 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 887 in Bangkok
4,529 reviews
Sathorn
The Sukhothai Bangkok
The Sukhothai Bangkok
#31 of 887 in Bangkok
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#37 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $159 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Splitty, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing