We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little disappointed...”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Banyan Tree Bangkok for two nights during our stay in Thailand after a week in the beautiful islands. We were a little disappointed... the hotel is in need of some serious TLC. We booked a club room as it included breakfast and use of the club lounge for complimentary drinks and canapes. On arrival, we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was a nice surprise. However, the room was not up to 5* standard. The carpets were dated and stained and we had an awful drain in the shower that made a dripping sound all night. The canapes and breakfast in the club lounge were very low quality, almost like a bad school dinner - the juices were also not fresh. We ordered room service pizzas one evening, but once again they arrived and were low quality, small and tasteless - either from a packet or frozen. (Not what you would expect from a 5* hotel) The best part of the banyan tree is the view from the Moon Bar / Vertigo restaurant - sadly though as a lover of top restaurants all around the world, the food at Vertigo was extremely overpriced and not exceptional. Sadly we would not stay at Banyan Tree Bangkok again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank malamks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear malamks,

Thank you for sparing your time to share us your feedback after your recent visit with us.

We were sorry to learn that we could not meet your expectations regarding the food quality and especially the room and facilities. Our team has been noted of your comments and will look into details for further improvement.

Again, we would like to sincerely apologize that your recent experience did not fulfill your expectations as it is meant to be. However, my team and I truly hope that you will reconsider to give us a chance to reinstate ourselves in your good faith and to make your future stay become an enjoyable one.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,473
    1,298
    356
    99
    63
See reviews for
921
3,284
329
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leonia, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The location was perfect: 45 minutes from airport, parallel to Silom Street which is bustling with markets, metrorail, street vendors. No detail is overlooked. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was luxurious. The bidet and jacuzzi in each bedroom's bathroom was a plus. Service was extremely cordial, prompt and delivered with multiple bowed heads smiles. Room service food was excellent - lots of choices for American or Thai food. Gym is open 24 hours - I went to gym at 2am and it was closed - with many apologies, the concierge immediately had it opened, up and running just for me (a large gym!) in less than 20 minutes. The pool on the 21st floor is a wonderful respite and service is, again, exemplary poolside. The Moon Bar atop the hotel is not for the faint of heart - it is quite high and dizzying but worth the view and experience. Be sure to bring your camera and do NOT wear high heels - lots of steps. I would stay at this hotel again and again and again!!! We loved it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KatMom419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear KatMom419,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok and for taking the time to write a review.It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Two-Bedroom Suite.

Thank you also for praising our associates, your words are a great testimony of their commitment and dedication to creating memorable experiences for our valued guests. Moreover, we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities in the gym and the pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok in the near future.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Banyan Tree Bangkok is in a good location, has great rooms, a good buffet breakfast and a roof-top bar that is a must see at sunset. The staff are friendly, overall the service was good and the hotel's facilities are also to a standard that you would expect. It is a little bit of a distance from the Skytrain of Subway (15 mins walk to Skytrain and 10mins to Subway) which doesn't seem like much but in Bangkok it always seems further! Still, the location is very central.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MixedTravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear MixedTravel_13,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you very much for praising our staff and service, your words are a great testimony of their commitment and dedication to creating memorable experiences for our guests.

Again, thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a special one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok in the near future.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Spent two nights here in a 2 bedroomed suite with a friend. Firstly, the room was fantastic: huge and spotlessly clean with an epic en suite bathroom off the main bedroom, big sitting room/dining room, kitchen area etc etc.

The staff are incredibly well trained: polite, helpful and efficient from the front door team to the maids, everything was quick to get done.

A real highlight of this place is the rooftop restaurant called Vertigo and the Moon bar, 63 floors above the city. We had dinner there and the food was first class although in Thailand terms you are paying top prices for it - in fact per head it was the same price a standard room for the night however I can't knock anything about it, the service was great and you'd be more than happy to pay that price for a similar experience in Europe or the US.

As we stayed in a suite we had use of the Club Lounge on the 19th floor for check in/out, free drinks all day and breakfast which was included in the price of the room. I never find you spend any real time in these places but having said that breakfast there was great.

I'm not an expert on Bangkok but the location seemed good and central and it was easy to get about by taxi or a short walk to the Skytrain. There are plenty of other hotels and sky bars in the area if you want a change of scenery for dinner or drinks one evening.

Like a lot of big city hotels this place suffers from a bit of a lack of soul, the reception area is pretty small so it's hard to create a good vibe in the communal areas of the hotel but this is really the only small negative I could point out.

Overall, this place is outstanding value for money and if you're in Bangkok for a few days then I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Sonic99,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay in a Two-Bedroom Suite was pleasant. We are also delighted to learn that you had a wonderful tine at Vertigo. In the meantime, as per your comment regarding the hotel lobby, we will try to improve it.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in the near future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Last night before leaving and we have had a wonderful stay here, the hotel is amazing and we would definitely stay here again. The staff are so helpful and always smiling and courteous, a credit to the Banyan. Only had the bed and breakfast option as we ate out mostly to get the real Thai experience, the pool is small but adequate for cooling off which is all you want to do, doesn't need to be an olympic pool for those that complained! !

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Patriot222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Patriot222,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments; it gives us energy to continue the legendary service for your satisfaction.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in the near future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Be careful if using this as a transit hotel. You will not want to leave! great spa, beautiful rooms with views, restaurant choices are great, rooftop bar ...the list goes on....and quite conveniently located.Upgrade for breakfast buffet, afternoon snacks, and evening bar service!

Room Tip: Be nice to front desk staff and ask them about the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 505050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was pleasant, and thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments; it gives us energy to continue the legendary service for your satisfaction once we meet again in the future. We are also pleased to learn that you had a great time at the spa and the Moon Bar.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in the near future.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The banyan tree staff, particularly at the exec lounge, try extremely hard to make a stay relaxing and enjoyable. There is a relaxed informal style unlike a typical business hotel lounge and the staff remember people's names and don't keep asking room numbers etc. excellent quality food also. Large rooms with thoughtful touches, especially for the senses. A pleasant change from a bland business hotel

Room Tip: Bathrooms set out for two. Bring your partner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Patrick084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Patrick084,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you very much for sharing the gracious comments.

Thank you also for praising our associates, your words are a great testimony of their commitment and dedication to creating memorable experiences for our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok in the near future.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 866 in Bangkok
8,279 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#18 of 866 in Bangkok
4,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 866 in Bangkok
4,392 reviews
Sathorn
The Sukhothai Bangkok
The Sukhothai Bangkok
#35 of 866 in Bangkok
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Property: Banyan Tree Bangkok
Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing