We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #37 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here after visiting Koh Samui on our honeymoon. The hotel is very grand and deserves its rating on Tripadvisor. Although, as some reviewers have pointed out, some of the bedrooms are beginning to look a bit dated. The staff are very attentive and extremely polite and the hotel is very plush. We did enjoy our stay in the hotel and in Bangkok and would recommend this hotel to anyone trying to decide their hotel choice.
I would recommend cocktails on the roof top bar, but cannot comment on the food as we did not eat here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickynocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,855 - 3,861 of 6,654 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Service is the supreme differential at this beautiful hotel...

Make no mistake - there are countless accommodation options in this enormous city however we found the Banyan Tree's pricing to be more than reasonable before we even set foot inside.

Then - we arrived. The greeting was perfect even though we arrived shortly after morning peak hour (rush hour). The room wasn't ready but every apology was made and staff were sincerely concerned that we wouldn't be pleased. It was early so we headed off for a quick walk.

The neighbourhood is probably on the up side of demography so there are no issues in terms of getting around safely if you sneak out for a walk.

But let's get back to the Banyan Tree... The view from our room amazing (level 50 something). Vertigo on the roof was spectacular - especially as twilight set in. The service was flawless. We experienced service that Banyan Tree can be proud of. Especially "O" who made an effort to introduce himself and get to know a little about where we're from, where we're going and how we were going in Bangkok.

This hotel is memorable and incredibly good value. We're looking forward to getting back - hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Get a view if you can - we loved it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Gillie22,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you very much for sharing the gracious comments.

We have shared your praising with Khun O for his service excellence. Your comment will serve as an inspiration to the entire team to deliver the service beyond our guest expectations and create a memorable stay.

Again, thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a special and cherished one. We look forward to welcoming you back.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently took a 3 night break at Bangkok and enjoyed thoroughly the hotel and facilities and was treated to a special Spa Room upgrade by the GRM.
The SPA was outstanding and we especially enjoyed the massage and Banyan tree treatment.
Even though the hotel has been opened for > 5 years, despite dated furnishing, the maintenance standard is good and the service excellent in general.
We took the limo service to and from airport and though it is pricey, if you enjoy pampering, it is well worth the $$$...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank YYLem-Sit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here after visiting Koh Samui on our honeymoon. The hotel is very grand and deserves its rating on Tripadvisor. Although, as some reviewers have pointed out, some of the bedrooms are beginning to look a bit dated. The staff are very attentive and extremely polite and the hotel is very plush. We did enjoy our stay in the hotel and in Bangkok and would recommend this hotel to anyone trying to decide their hotel choice.
I would recommend cocktails on the roof top bar, but cannot comment on the food as we did not eat here.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank nickynocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Banyan Tree Bangkok gets a lot of rave reviews. I do like it but will not rank it too highly. My deluxe room was wonderful, like a suite, with a living room that was relaxing, Every day different scent & incense will be placed in the room. Because Banyan Tree has high floors, the views are spectacular. However, I found the lobby rather boring in appearance, and I wished there were no steps between the entrance of the hotel and the lobby. Concierge staff are excellent: they are helpful and attentive. But one receptionist at front desk serving me was completely spaced out. When I requested daily English (IHT) paper to be delivered to my room, she got me only that particular day's edition, and none the following day. When I asked her if computer usage at the business centre was free, she replied that I should type my room number, etc. completely missing the question. (Answer: yes, you have to pay 10 baht/min with a minimum of 100 baht usage).

Banyan Tree Bangkok is on Sathorn, which is very busy road, and gets jammed up during office hours. The hotel offers shuttle service, but has limited seatings. The walk to the subway line at Lumpini is about 7 minutes, while the walk to the skytrain station at Saladaeng is longer, about 14minutes on a very very busy, dusty road. Most guests just take a taxi out of the hotel, and most taxis especially in Silom area will try to rip off people who want to return to Banyan Tree. While the distance by taxi from Silom to Banyan Tree is not far, the taxi drivers assume you are wealthy to stay in Banyan Tree, so they will quote 150 or 100 baht and refuse to use the taxi-meter (which will be about 50baht). In this regard, I find going out and returning to the hotel a hassle. I will not stay in Banyan Tree not because of service, room quality, but because location is near but far as a result of traffic and cab issues. Banyan Tree's high floors give good views of buildings, but at the ground level walking towards train stations from the hotel, Bangkok seems really an ugly city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Banyan Tree for 6 nights.

We had a wonderful stay, and rate it as definitely one of the best hotels we have had the pleasure of staying at-very attentive service from friendly efficient staff, extensive breakfast selection, very comfortable beds,excellent showers, and the list goes on.

The only downside and that is of a minor nature is the location because it is not near a BTS station. Having said that,a complimentary shuttle service runs on the hour during the day.

It is ideal if the intention to visit Nahm, the Thai restaurant with David Thompson as chef.
This was undoubtedly the best Thai meal which we have had and it is right next door to Banyan Tree.

All in all a wonderful enjoyable and relaxing stay and be highly recommended!!


  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank Jan and Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The service is fantastic, the staff are excellent and can't do enough for you. I'd recommend the club room with the benefits of the club lounge. The rooms are amazing and very spacious. Would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank bexh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear bexh2,

Thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Bangkok for your stay. We are pleased to read your comments about the hotel and greatly appreciate that you took time to sharing the gracious comments.

It gives us such a pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful time during your stay with us. Also, thank you for praising our associate, your words are a great dedication to creating memorable experiences to the valued guests.

Bexh2, we feel grateful for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok.

With warm regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#13 of 891 in Bangkok
4,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,640 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 891 in Bangkok
4,568 reviews
Silom
lebua at State Tower
lebua at State Tower
#82 of 891 in Bangkok
7,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#35 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $155 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing