We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #31 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 18, 2013

For years my husband and I had heard rave reviews about the Banyan Tree from friends and our travel agent so needless to say we were pretty excited to finally make it to Bangkok to experience it for ourselves. The Banyan Tree was oh-so-lovely and the staff was excellent. From the moment we were greeted at the airport by the car service driver until we left we were treated like gold!

The Banyan Tree is such a nice calm oasis in the middle of Bangkok. It makes you feel refreshed and speaking of refreshed the spa is incredible!!! The food was delicious. Our room was great, we had a wonderful view of the city. The roof top bar and restaurant obviously has the best views in Bangkok. We dined on the roof one night and the food was excellent. The location is nice too because you're not in the middle of all the craziness but you can easily walk to markets, the subway, etc if you don't want a taxi.

We just had a really lovely time at the Banyan Tree and enjoyed our stay. It was exactly what we needed. And again, the spa is amazing!!! Great for business travelers, couples, families and groups of friends.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Bangkok!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR407145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,444)
There are newer reviews for Banyan Tree Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,972 - 3,978 of 6,445 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We were in Bangkok and wanted to dine in the sky, had heard lots about the Banyan tree so went for it.

The view was superb which was its saving grace.

The menu was very overpriced, the service was fine (it went from over attentive at the start to difficult to locate a waiter after that) and the food was ok.

We ate much better quality food elsewhere at a fraction on the price.

Ultimately we got the roof top dining experience we were after but paid over the odds for the privilege. My advice is go for the experience, but stay in the bar - a cocktail will have the same effect without the financial pain.

As others have said its a bit of a pain to get to - we walked from the sky train and I thought we'd never arrive - book a taxi !

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lynsey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here earlier this week and we cant fault a thing.

From the moment we arrived he staff couldnt do enough for us. We stayed in the Premier Suite which was beyond amazing with all the amenities you could think of.

The spa was lovely and relaxing and the swimming pool had breathtaking views across the city.

When staying at this hotel you must eat at Vertigo Restaurant at the top of the hotel which gives you a 360 view of Bangkok. AMAZING!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were delighted! After an overnight flight from Paris we arrived around 8am, well before our check-in time. We were hoping to be able to just drop off our bags and come back later, but the lovely staff were very welcoming and informed us our room was almost ready, and would we like to enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the Club Room while we waited.
Our room was stunning. Beautifully appointed, gorgeous views and the most comfortable bed. We took advantage of the free laundry and to my amazement I found, whilst packing, that my skirt hem had been repaired without my even asking. The staff also went to a lot of effort to return €15 euro that had been left without our knowledge in my fiancées jeans pocket.
The breakfast is amazing! Everything you could possibly want.
We are currently sitting in the Club Lounge after enjoying complimentary lunch and drinks even though we checked out an hour ago. Our flight doesn't leave until late tonight and we were told we were welcome to enjoy the facilities until then. What more could you ask for? I wish I could live at The Banyan Tree!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandAB_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Not very close to a sky train stop so a hot walk to get anywhere.Location is not convenient if you are in Bangkok for leisure. We went up to their bar during our stay and unfortunately the service was very poor views were amazing but it took us 30 minutes to get a drink served very pricey, For such a busy bar they seemed really short staffed that's why they're rude that's why we hadn't our drink the second time we went there. The thai restaurant "Saffron" is average but pricey with frozen air con - impossible to stay longer-although the staff there is nice. We went also at Latitude Lounge & Bar which is obviously old and in need of maintenance. View of the city from our room was good and bed wasn't as comfortable. Great breakfast. Better 5 star hotels in Bangkok at same price or less - never stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in December 2012. We were getting married in Bangkok before moving on to Koh Phangan. On arrival we were given an upgrade to a suite which was fabulous. This also gave access to the club lounge on 19 which was also fantastic. The food in the club lounge deserves mention; we though it was great. Whilst the rooms, lounges, restaurants are great, what really made this hotel for us was the staff who were fantastic. Special mention must go to Mr Wat (concierge) and Arita and Mr Pratch (Club lounge).
The Vertigo restaurant on the roof (61st floor) is a 'must do' for the experience, but we felt the food was nothing special and the prices are sky high, even by European standards. The adjacent Moon Bar on the roof is also a must do at sunset. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

stayed one night at this great hotel.
We had exceptional service from we entered the hotel till we left.
The room was great with an amazing view.

on the downside some parts of the hotel could some freshening up , like the toilets in the reception and on the topfloors with the restaurants.

Sucked a bit that when we checked they should take care of our bags and they were put just outside the entrance on the ground. Not to cool.

A must is taking a trip to vertigo bar on the rooftop .Good Cocktails and fantastic view over Bankgoks nightlife.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UgotChangd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#21 of 881 in Bangkok
4,228 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 881 in Bangkok
8,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 881 in Bangkok
4,430 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $150 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing