We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #28 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“the best”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

the best place I've ever been and I have traveled a lot.the staff was extremely helpful after we had come home. Since we had been cheated in a trade with stones, using the us get the money back. mega cool service

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,422
    1,283
    353
    100
    62
See reviews for
898
3,258
327
462
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,094)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived at Banyan Tree at approx 10am - not expecting to be able to check in. We had booked a club room and as soon as we arrived we were greeted and whisked up to the 19th floor for check in. We sat down in some couches and some lovely gentlemen brought us a cool drink - also I had discovered some items I had in my bag had spilled all through it and they helped me clean it up and brought me cloths without even needing to be asked. We were checked in and although they didn't have the room we requested ready they upgraded us to a 1 bedroom suite and whisked us straight up to our room. The room itself was stunning with 3 different areas, a small entry area, living room with a big tv, bar, couch and desk, a bedroom area with a huge bed, couch and tv and a massive bathroom with seperate shower, toilet and bath areas, a double sink and a big dressing table area. The staff were very friendly and informed us about all of the club benefits. I used the gym multiple times and would highly recommend it. The gym was up to date, well equipped and the staff were AMAZING - they were so helpful and made sure I always had a fresh water bottle, towel, headphones or anything I needed. The pool was stunning and great steam room and sauana. The evening drinks at the club lounge were great, plenty of snacks and a range of drinks and it was lovely to sit and watch the traffic on Rama road. Breaky in the club lounge was also wonderful with plenty of options and fresh cooked eggs. The staff really went out of their way to ensure we were looked after. We ate downstairs at the restaurant one day also and just wanted a simple lunch, my partner had a club sandwich and I had a burger and it was amazing - the service again was fantastic. Our check our was seemless and the concierge was helpful during our trip making sure we knew which way to go to the Skytrain and helping us out. Would highly recommend this hotel and will most surely return.Also loved the little touches of different incense and scents and the bath oils and crystals!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite! Very worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, the room is nice with awesome view of Bangkok. Hotel provides bath foam/bath oil/bath salt...for a perfect relaxing bath after a hot sweating day. The pool was 1.3m deep, outdoor, and relatively cold during our stay in December. The whole stay was great, but just several things that were not as expected as staying in BanyanTree brand hotel. Found some hair in bathtube when first check-in the room; the coffee and tea bags that we used, didn't get stuffed the other day(I thought I did tip); the elevators were used mostly by visitor to the Moon Bar at night (there is one designated elevator to rooftop without clear sign for visitors tho); Our room was on 58th floor, but still can hear the traffic at night; the bill was confusing, there were tons of terms with no sense, I asked them to print out the day by day bill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked this hotel just for the great roof attraction. A spectaculair view at the 59 th floor with a nice restaurant and bar. The staff speaks excellent English and is really helpfull. Loved the service. The room was clean and really nice. Defenitly will be staying here again if i am in the neigborhood. Cocktails are worth it but the rooftopview is my nr 1 thing. Thank you Banyan tree!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I spent 9 nights at the Banyan Tree in late December. Right up front let me state that we had a fabulous time there. We were picked up at the airport by their limo service and whisked to the hotel. Wait, not exactly whisked as it was Friday rush hour so it took a bit. Not the hotels fault and allowed us to have a nice conversation with the driver about Bangkok since it was our first trip there. Once we got to the hotel we were taken straight to our room on the 32nd floor for check-in. Done in only a couple of minutes by Max who has an overflowing and wonderful personality. Bags followed a few minutes later. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is wonderful. Third trip to Thailand and the service, friendliness and attitude were by far the best we’ve experienced.

We had a one-room suite which was beautiful. Plenty of space with a well-stocked mini bar. Décor was well done and maintained. View over the city was very good from our floor and we faced the front of the hotel. Fresh fruit everyday with plenty of bottled water and little trinkets almost daily from the turn-down service.

We decided to just head up to Saffron for dinner instead of heading out to explore as it was already a bit late when we arrived. We didn’t have a reservation but they accommodated us without a hitch. Service was impeccable and the manager welcomed us warmly when I explained we had just gotten in from the airport. A couple of complimentary appetizers and then our dinner arrived. The soft-shell crab and papaya salad was incredible. We ended up eating here twice more during our stay and each time it was a wonderful experience with great food and outstanding service.

Breakfast was very good with a wide selection. Never really had a wait for items. We sat outside one morning by the pond which was a pleasant experience. Service was prompt and always with a smile. We also had the dinner buffet here on Christmas Eve which was VERY good with a wide selection of items. If anything we ate too much but such things happen on vacation.

Had two spa sessions here which were outstanding. Yes, you will pay a price for it but being on vacation it’s always good to indulge and treat the wife! The reception area is wonderful with great service and recommendations. The treatment rooms, both times in a couple’s room, were immaculate with incense and soft music. Therapists were wonderful and skillful. One of our sessions was a 3-hour session which made us feel like a new person afterwards.

The club lounge is well done with drinks and light snacks. Good atmosphere and made some new friends there.

Utilized the gym on a few occasions and never had an issue with waiting for equipment. Staff were knowledgeable and facility was clean.

We also took advantage of the shuttle to the Chatachuk market and the shopping companion that is offered. We told her what we were looking for and she skillfully guided us through the market. It would be easy to spend way too much time wandering around aimlessly, some may enjoy that, but we had the items we had set out for in short order and then we did a bit of aimless wandering! It was then a short walk to the MRT station and back to the hotel. Pukka was wonderful as our shopping companion.

My wife had an accident in the fitness room which required five stitches. The staff was very good about initially treating her and then arranging the limo, along with a staff member, to take us to BNH Hospital for treatment.

Since it was the Christmas holiday we had brought 5 boxes of candy canes along with the story of the candy cane and passed them out to staff and guests alike. Only a few guests refused but it was a blessing to share with everyone. I’m not sure the staff was used to getting things from the guests but their faces lit up when we passed them out.

Overall this is an outstanding hotel with top-notch service. The manager should be very proud of the team that is assembled here. The location is very good. It’s about a 10-15 minute walk to the MRT and 15-20 to the BTS station. If so inclined you could always take a taxi but the walk is one way to get some exercise. We wished we had more time to stay and we’d like to make another trip to Bangkok and stay at this hotel. We highly recommend the Banyan Tree to anyone making a visit to Bangkok.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view. We also faced the front of the hotel and the view over the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chessmaster_ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for a one night stop over in November 2012 before flying on to Koh Chang. The welcome was just what was needed after a long haul flight, friendly with complimentary fruit cocktails and access to our room before the official check in time. Our room was a deluxe room on the 59th floor with fantastic views of Bangkok. It had a separate living area, very spacious modern bathroom (amazing shower!) and king size bed, with floor to ceiling windows to take advantage of the view. Breakfast was good with a large selection and eggs made to order. A must visit us the rooftop cocktail bar (61 st floor), others have said the drinks are expensive, which perhaps for Thailand they are, however given the stunning location, they're significantly cheaper than any London cocktail, and well worth the price in our opinion (700 bhat for a cocktail, and other drinks cheaper). Dress code was smart casual ie shirts for men, no flip flops. The staff were all friendly and helpful with good English, giving good advice about where to visit including some less touristy options, concierge in particular were very helpful getting taxis within seconds and ensuring good prices. Most taxis during the day are run on the meter, and at night a set price, so all before getting in as the meter will be significantly cheaper. Overall a fantastic hotel, where were planning on staying again this year.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirilouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was my 2nd 1 night stopover in Bangkok, and I do enjoy the great breakfast they put on. they offer great last minute deals and its only a 400bht ride to the airport.

The Vertigo restaurant on the roof was the real draw card. Seriously it's in the top 5 things to see in Bangkok. Amazing food on a rooftop bar overlooking the city below, does it get any better?

Some people find the area the hotel is located (embassy district) annoying for shopping, but we found it to be super convenient.

Will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, also further from lifts is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidtheaussienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 863 in Bangkok
8,211 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 863 in Bangkok
4,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 863 in Bangkok
4,352 reviews
Sathorn
The Sukhothai Bangkok
The Sukhothai Bangkok
#33 of 863 in Bangkok
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Property: Banyan Tree Bangkok
Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing