We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #25 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Charles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

No false advertisement as a 5* hotel. A truly wonderful experience. I have stayed there twice on the executive level and highly recommend it. The excutive lounge serves a full breakfast and lunch, as well as appetizers and alcoholic beverages of your choice from 5:30 until 7:30 each evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank kajunkutie139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,206
    1,227
    339
    95
    58
See reviews for
840
3,105
312
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Amazing hotel in great location, but experience ruined by stupid dress code rules in bars and restaurants (long trousers/closed shoes etc.) which aren't ideal for travellers in 35c heat and a limited holiday wardrobe. The amazing rooftop bars also have no preferential treatment for paying hotel guests, meaning you often can't get a table as it's full with outside visitors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear BanyanTree.com traveler,

Allow me to thank you first of all for staying with us at Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to share your views, however brief, on your recent experience.

I am sorry to learn that your experience was marred by the dress code policy, and we wish to apologize for that. If we may take this opportunity to explain, the purpose to have a dress code in place is to ensure a minimum of decorum, as it would be expected from a fine dine setting; it is not always easy to meet everybody’s taste and desires particularly when it comes to dress code, because every individual is different and has different views, but we have tried to keep our dress code as simple as possible, as we do not wish to impose too many restrictions. Our dress code, in fact, has been designed at the request of the vast majority of our patrons, and as such reflects the expectations of our clientele. We also offer freshly laundered clothes to those who may not be attired according to dress code, as we wish for these guests to also be given the chance to experience Vertigo.

We are also sorry you had difficulties to get a table confirmed; we try our very best to accommodate each and everyone in the best of ways. You may have perhaps noticed that we are also upgrading the venue, and expanding it, and we are confident that this will assist us in our continued commitment to deliver memorable experiences and ensure that all our guests, both staying with us in the hotel as well as coming just for dinner or drinks, have the opportunity to enjoy this venue.

The team and I hope that you would not allow this one visit affect your perception of Vertigo or the Banyan Tree Bangkok hotel and that we would one day, in a not too distant future, have the pleasure to welcome you back, for an enjoyable evening at Vertigo & Moon Bar.

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at banyan tree for 2 nights and really wished we had another day or 2 to experience more of bangkok and the spa at the banyan tree! This is def going to be my new 'go to' hotel.

The restaurant vertigo is a must do and the views from the 59th floor are unbeatable. The only negative is that its pretty pricey, drinks would have been enough to get the sense of the place. This was our first dinner in Bangkok and unfortunately, vertigo doesn't offer any Thai food!!! I was really disappointed with the menu options bc I thought at the very least tHey should have Thai options. Overall a very romantic meal though.

The spa is really a must do. I know Thailand has many cheap massage locations but this is more of an experience abd well worth the money. My husband got the scrub & 60 min massage and it was heavenly. The escorted you to this really gorgeous treatment room fully equipped with private lounge area, shower, bathroom, and started with a foot soak and tea, then the treatments began and we drifted off.... We have had a lot of massages including the mandarin hotel, enchantment hotel, but the both pale in comparison to the massage at banyan tree.

Concierge - great, very responsive, he helped set up my hubby's birthday dinner, tickets front row for Thai boxing and a much cheaper car service to hua hin. Mist of the Thai hotels I emailed, never wrote me back but banyan trees concierge was very quick and very much on top of things.

Service - top notch! They were all above and beyond friendly and welcoming.

Con - breakfast catered to the surprising amount of Chinese guests. I would have hoped to try more traditional Thai Bkfst food. It was still good, but I thought we were in Bangkok!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cat22NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear cat22NewYork,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Banyan Tree Bangkok, and for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent experience.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a wonderful one, thank you for sharing this, and we very much look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back.

Allow us in the meantime to address the comments on Vertigo and our breakfast as well, which we have likewise noted and for which we thank you.

Vertigo does not serve any Thai food, and we hope this was not too much of a disappointment. The restaurant is a fine dining venue that offers a Western orientated gourmet menu, however for those who wish to experience and savour genuine Thai cuisine at its best, we would recommend our Signature Thai Restaurant Saffron which is located on the 52nd floor of the hotel. We hope that you may have an opportunity to dine in Saffron on one of your next visits, and we would then very much welcome your thoughts on your dining experience there.

For what pertains to the breakfast, we appreciate your feedback and we generally need to ensure that we cater equally well to a wide and varied audience with different tastes. We try to keep our breakfast as varied and as multi-ethnic as possible; your comments are valuable to us and have been shared with the Culinary team who is always happy to look into ways of improving the dining experience for our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and thank you also for your patronage of Banyan Tree Bangkok. The team and I look forward to having you back in a not too distant future and until then remain,

With best regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip and we loved it.
The people were amazing- the most hospitable service I have experienced. We were always greeted with a smile, and any query or request was dealt with such swiftness.

We made our reservation online and got a great offer of one free dinner in the rooftop restaurant (decent food & fabulous view) and another one on the Apsara, a dinner cruise ran by the Banyan tree. The food was delicious and the experience wonderful. I was impressed that Chaang, who oversaw the river cruise, spoke to the hotel about our eating preferences prior to the trip and had a vegetarian option prepared for me during the cruise.

We received a bowl of complimentary fruits every day which we enjoyed.

As noted by some of the reviewers, the two chairs in the bedroom were slightly worn out and the carpet in the separate living area had some spots. I also noticed a bit of dust in the room and the hallways that made me sneeze a couple of times, but nothing too serious.
It is also away from the shopping areas.

I really enjoyed our experience here & would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank layla a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff and amenities of this hotel were faultless -- simply superb. However, for a moment of real style to take that special person-- the VERTIGO Bar at the top of the hotel provided a magical experience-- whether it is a chilled Martini or a G & T or some Bollinger, this bar is a great place to have a 360 degree view of Bangkok and simply enjoy where you are.Whatever else you do in Bangkok I recommend a visit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Crownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

There's absolutely nothing wrong with this Banyon Tree. Staff is wonderful and rooms are exactly what we've come to expect from hotels at this price point. Rooftop bar and restaurant are a lot of fun. My only complaint....and this won't prevent me from returning...location. Traffic can be heavy and BTS is not within walking distance.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Only stayed here for 1 night in a 2 bedroom ( huge layout and great for 2 couples or for 2 single travellers as it gives you the space you need )

We did have cold showers though so there must have been a problem with the room on that morning . It didnt bother us too much as thailand is a hot place.

We ate at vertigo which all of us thought was a nice out look but its definitely a disappointment as i was very much looking forward to trying this out. i found it over priced we paid about $100 AUD per person for entree /main and 1 cocktail which i thought was a bit steep. The other thing i found strange there wasnt any thai influence on the menu but only western selections.

All in all i did enjoy my stay at the banyan tree , the staff were great and the rooms were clean and tidy which is basically what you need for a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmac75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,786 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Property: Banyan Tree Bangkok
Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing