We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #36 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Amazing view.. We were lucky enough once to see a thunder storm while having really good coffee. But it is just too overpriced!!! Otherwise i would go more often if there is discount for foreigners who live in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charleyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,351 - 4,357 of 6,754 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

The service at the Banyan Tree was exceptional. The room on the 45th floor had views of the park and city and the accompanying smog that surrounds it. Some of the furnishings in the rooms were somewhat worn however the bedroom and lounge area were still lavish in decor. The wifi worked well. Breakfast was diverse, more than ample, and included sparkling wine if wanted. Something easily forgotten and causing somewhat of a shock by many could be the 17% taxes which are added to everything outside of what is included in the room rate. For those who choose not to use the restaurants at the hotel the walk to local eateries is about 10 minutes. The cost of a metered taxi to the airport which was hailed from the road outside the hotel was 280 baht plus 65 baht in tolls.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaideruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in Banyan Tree for four nights as Bangkok was the last leg of our Honeymoon. We arrived from Malaysia and as we went to book in we were told that we had to book in on the 19th Floor in their exclusive club lounge as we had booked a club room. We were soon whisked upstairs by an accompanying member of staff. Our luggage was taken care of on our arrival and we were recognised as a honeymoon couple and made to feel very special. We were given jasmine wrist flowers and up in the club lounge we were given a table drink and a meal whilst we were booked in.

We were late being booked into our room but Banyan Tree happily accomodated a late check out for us on our last day.

Banyan Tree is a very nice and fresh Hotel. All the staff are very courteous and very helpful. You are greeted with respect and a smile everywhere you go. The hospitality is the best I have seen to date.

Some people may complain about the location as its away from shopping centres and busy districts but I found the location just right. Everything is a short taxi ride away and the hotel caters for everything anyway. I even tried to book tickets to the Tiger Temple and the helpful conceirge told me that I was better off getting a taxi there and back as I would be able to take in the tour at our own pace. He happily organised everything including a nice haggling job on the price.

In Bangkok it rains and when it rains no one goes out!! In Banyan Tree there are some magnificent resturants. We went to Saffron which is located on the 25th Floor (I think). It specialises in Thai food and the decor is amazing. We got seated next to a a group who had too much to drink and they were being loud. We were approached by a member of staff who told us they had a better table with a better view. It was subtel way of relocating us to a quiet part of the restaurant which did actually have better views. I have been to a few nice resturants but this is the best one I have been too. First we were given a hot water bowl to clean our hands and a complimentary snack soon followed. Everything we ordered came at just the right time. Staff even managed to notice wedding bangles on my partner and quickly brought over a complimentary drink which was served in a bowl with a cold smog covering the whole bowl, it looked amazing. They even have an outside bar which is open to the elements. Brillaint views of Bangkok. Also checkout Vertigo which is the restaraunt on the top floor. Breathtaking views and bar.

The gym was Ok with all the necessary equipment there and staff to condition any type of workout.

The only weakness of the hotel is perhaps the pool which is quite small, although the spa, jaccuzzi and stam are good. Pool is located on the 21st Floor and it has some good views. I dont really swim so didnt really take this aspect as a negative.

Special mention to Pratch who is the club lounge manager. He made us feel very welcome every morning at breakfast and even helped us with some sentences in thai which came in handy.

Club lounge room was a nice size and the couch was a great touch.

I reccomend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the club rooms as you get so many additonal extras unlike other hotels. You get compli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaggyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We've previously stayed at BT properties in Asia, and by and large, came away with positive memories. Unfortunately, not this time. Upon arrival, the hotel's convoluted entrance was jammed with tour busses and our AOT driver wanted to drop us off on the street, which we refused. Finally, we were delivered to within 20 yards of the front door, unloaded our own bags and proceeded to the front door, where we were finally met by a bellman. Check-in was OK and we opted for an upgrade to a larger room, which we paid for. The room was nice but looked directly into a high rise block of flats about 100 yards opposite. The King bed platform protrudes about 6 inches from the mattress and the corners are an accident waiting to happen. Which is what happened. On the morning of check-out, my wife fractured her small right toe when she clipped the corner of the bed platform. So now she is hobbling through Asia with a toe splint. The fractured toe was completely of our own making, and nothing to do with Banyan Tree, other than the fact that the platform is poorly designed.

We had several dining experiences in the hotel and none were memorable. Of particular note,
our meal at the Bai Yun Chinese restaurant on the 59th floor was one of the worst Cantonese meals we've ever had. At 7:45 pm, the restaurant was nearly empty, with maybe 4 other diners. The service was slow and inefficient. The BBQ duck was tough, chewy and drenched in a tasteless BBQ gravy. Our soups were OK, as were the stir fried veggies. The Singapore Noodles took forever to be served and we were almost finished with dinner when it arrived. It was awful! And what should have been a signature dish of a prestige hotel group headquartered in Singapore, was almost inedible. It was dry and tasteless. When we asked for chili flakes and chili paste to liven it up, the staff took 10 mins to find it. We genuinely thought that our Singapore Noodles had been sent up from the buffet table in the ground floor coffee shop. It really did taste like leftovers. The only good thing about our dining experience at Bai Yun was the great view from the 59th floor.

On departure we had requested a hotel car to take us to the airport and were informed that hotel only had one car, a 7 Series BMW for Bt. 2,700, so we opted for a taxi at Bt 400.

Overall there seemed to be a lot of construction going on in, especially in the public areas. The lobby area seems dark and unwelcoming.


  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank KhunJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear BanyanTree.com Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at Banyan Tree Bangkok.

We have noted that you have stayed in other Banyan Tree properties before, and would like to thank you first of all for your patronage of Banyan Tree, and for choosing our hospitality in Bangkok on this last visit.

It is sad, though, to realize that this stay was found not at par with our other sister properties, and that the overall experience left you somehow disappointed; please accept our sincere apologies for the deficiencies encountered, and for letting you down.

The team has been briefed of the points you have raised, particularly the dining experience in Bai Yun. While we assure you that improvements will be made where necessary, if we may we would also like to reassure you that what happened during this stay was very much an isolated situation, not reflective of the quality and the level of service our guests are accustomed to.

On the note of the construction, we would like to inform you that the hotel and annexed arcade are currently undergoing some refurbishment. While we try to keep disruptions to the minimum indispensible, we do regret if some inconveniences may be occasionally caused during this time; however, we hope in the kind understanding of our customers, as we have embraced this project to improve our facilities in our strive to serve our guests and patrons better.

Thank you, BanyanTree.com Traveler, and sorry again for not living up to expectations this time; we do hope that you will not let this particular stay tarnish your perception of our hotel and that you will accord us renewed opportunities in the future to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Nopparat Aumpa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our first trip to Bangkok was memorable. We stayed for 2 nights at Banyan Tree in the Club room. The room was nice, clean and spacious. The evening at Moon bar was fantastic and is a must-do if you visit Bangkok. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Being a Vegetarian, I did not get enough options at the Breakfast but the chef made us some simple vegetarian dishes. The choice in the Thai restaurant was better and we loved the food. Speaking in English was an issue. Not all the staff can converse in English.

The location was an issue. During peak hours, taxis or Tuk-Tuks were reluctant to take us to the hotel. The hotel is also a little distant from the Skytrain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrikanthMadduri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Bangkok before heading to Banyan Tree Samui. The hotel is well located near the Lumphini Park (you can see huge lizards there!). The Rooms (Club Room) are big, clean and nicely refurbished.

We ate once in the chinese restaurant on 59th floor: very good quality, and views all over bangkok, nice!

Vertigo Bar: a must-do, when staying in this hotel, go up there after a nice dinner and enjoy a few cocktail, it's a real experience, high above this crazy City

Club-Lounge: defintitely worth it, if only because of the cocktails in the evening before dinner!

For those, who think that the hotel seems to start looking old... i really can't agree, at least our room was very clean and used brandnew!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabernaklus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Koblenz, Germany
1
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Based on a friend's recommendation we booked the Banyan Tree hotel for a stop-over in January on the way from Sydney to Frankfurt. It was our first visit to Thailand and it left us very impressed not only with the country and the city itself, the culture and people, but also with the hotel. So no surprise that we chose the Banyan Tree again for this October trip.
Like in January we stayed at the Club Level. Rooms, lounge, service, the restaurants (very recommendable is the Saffron) are great, the staff is outright wonderful.
It is a great experience to stay at the hotel and highly recommendable.We will come back at the next opportunity.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#13 of 891 in Bangkok
4,546 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 891 in Bangkok
8,753 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 891 in Bangkok
4,623 reviews
Silom
lebua at State Tower
lebua at State Tower
#82 of 891 in Bangkok
7,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $159 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing