We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good we went back at end of trip!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“So good we went back at end of trip!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Well, this is an easy review to write. This was our first visit to Thailand and my husband suggested the B.Tree as they were advertising very good "Club" floor deals. To be honest I was apprehensive as its not in the top 10 ratings.So we booked a one bed suite on the City Escape Package for 4 nights for the beginning of our 3 week stay in Thailand. We booked a private limo transfer and arrived at B.Tree with a friendly welcome off the door staff and immediate escort to Club Reception on 19th Floor.What a start!! Welcome drinks and quick check in made things easy. We were allocated a city view room on floor 26 and everything was as would be expected in the suite.Huge bathroom, comfortable bed, quiet aircon,2 TV's fresh fruit daily.What did we get in the package? Goodness the list goes on and on - huge buffet breakfast in club lounge, unlimited beverages and alcohol ALL day - now there's a first! Cold and hot snacks during day - Thai green curry was to die for.Cocktail hour.Emm, 4 pieces of laundry, gift from extensive gallery,basket of tropical fresh fruit and newspaper daily.Two meals in Thai and Japenese resturants and daily spa treatments. Wow, the spa was probably one of the best we have ever come across - not going into detail but fantastic, it's no wonder they win awards.

At the end of our trip we had booked into one of the top 3 hotels but unfortunately we had to cut our trip short due to family beaverment so we checked back into the BT and were met by our "friends" with empathy and kindness. Back in our old room we enjoyed all the priveledges of the club floor with staff arranging a suitable late check out for us. What makes this place so special? The staff. Its apparent that these guys are comfortable and happy in their work and even when we were approached by one of the Directors it was clear to us that there was mutual respect from both staff and management. Look I cant say anymore.. as I could go on and on.Yes I agree the hotel maybe a tiny bit jaded around the edges but who cares. We would go back in a heartbeat. I really don't think the BT deserves it's rating of 65 out of 642 hotels but it's always going to be down to personal preference. A letter has been sent to the Directors of the Banyon Tree as praise is worthy here. Well done Banyon Tree and thank you for all your considerations shown during a difficult time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durhamlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Durhamlady13,

I am writing in regards to your feedback in relation to your stay at Banyan Tree Bangkok. We appreciate your taking the time to inform us about your experience.

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay; thank you very much for sharing such gracious comments, particularly about our associates and services you received from them. We are very proud of our people and believe that they are amongst the finest in Bangkok; your comments are not only an endorsement of such belief but they are also a great testimony to their professionalism and dedication.

Durhamlady13, your feedback will serve as an inspiration for the entire team to continue working with passion, and maintain the high standards for which Banyan Tree is renowned.

Once again, thank you for choosing our hospitality and letting us know that we made your stay a special one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bangkok in the near future.

With warm regards,
Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,208
    1,228
    341
    95
    58
See reviews for
842
3,107
313
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We have travelled all over the world and although we've come very close, in Prague, Paris, Bali and the Shangri-La in Bangkok, we never experienced a completely perfect stay until now. The Banyan Tree Bangkok was the perfect hotel experience for us as a couple on a romantic get-away from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives in Australia. We were treated like royalty from the exclusive check-in to the extended check-out, where we were welcome to use all hotel facilities even hours after we had checked out, but were waiting for our 8pm flight. We were treated like Donald Trump, doted on through-out our stay, even though we'd only paid for an average-priced room (the cheapest Suite available at $300 AUD per night). The staff were the most friendly, professional, knowledgable and helpful I've ever known, which is still stupifying to me. The room was divine, utterly beautiful to look at, comfortable, luxurious. We felt like millionaires. The services offered, such as the club lounge, were the cherry on top. We received free neck and shoulder massages on arrival and club membership, which included free cocktails and canapes in the evening. The food was amazing. Breakfast was a huge buffet. Although we'd come to Bangkok to see the city, we didn't want to leave our hotel! When we did, we were a $1.50 AUD taxi ride from the city centre's shopping malls. Lastly, we should mention the rooftop restaurant and bar "Vertigo" on the 60th floor. What a view. There's something very special about being high above Bangkok on a sultry night, sipping Mai Tais, looking across the city night-life in the open air and seeing the happiness in your partner's eyes that makes you so glad you chose this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank FMartinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

beautiful room, felt like a suite although I didn't think I reserved a suite and they didn't tell me they'd upgraded me. Loads of space, great view and v comfortable bed. Only down side was that neither of the TVs (yes - there were 2!) worked particularly well, but who goes to Bangkok to watch TV?! Staff extremely courteous throughout my stay and the hotel has an incredible roof top bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjlazarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Thank you Banyan Tree Bangkok for a fantastic stay. The service is impeccable and the food amazing. We look forward to staying with you again or trying your resort in Phuket or Koh Samui. My family in Sydney kept phoning to ask us about the flooding. My initial response was what flooding !! Until we saw the sandbagging in the city centre. You offer a sanctuary in a hectic city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor the view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyadventure1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We arrived just as the flood waters were hitting Bangkok, but were blissfully oblivious as we made our way to Banyan Tree just after dawn. We had been on a red eye flight from Europe and were exhausted and jetlagged, and were thrilled when after we were taken up to the Club Lounge were told that we could immediately go to our room. Service was exceptional right from the very start.

First impression on seeing our room was "wow". The bathroom is amazing, and the bath overlooking the city got a good work out during our stay. We were after a low key wind down on this stop over visit of a few days and this was definitely the place to do it. The bed is massive and the room itself large without being too big. My only "complaint" would be that if you're the type who likes to watch TV on vacation then it's on a wall to the side of the bed which might be annoying. We didn't watch so it didn't bother us at al!

The pool on the 21st floor was lovely and a perfect way to cool off in the afternoons with plenty of towels and while we were there plenty of sun loungers. I suspect that at busier times of the year though you might have a bit of difficulty snaring one.

The Moon Bar/Vertigo at the top of the hotel is as amazing as it looks. The drinks were fantastic and reasonable if you're used to paying Western prices for things, about $11AUD cor a cocktail ++. We also ate at Romsai, the restaurant downstairs and Saffron the Thai restaurant upstairs. Both were tasty but not exceptional, prices reflected that you were staying in a Western style hotel, so something to be aware of I guess.

The hotel itself was in walking distance to some of the main shopping and night markets if you are good walkers, but if you're not one for a good walk in the humidity then I'd recommend the hotel tuktuk or asking the concierge to grab you a taxi (metred!).

We found the Concierge desk very helpful and attentive at all hours, and the service throughout the hotel friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: We picked the Club Lounge, mostly for the late checkout and Club Room drinks/canapes which were nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly and excellent services, good location easy to get around bangkok. Look forward to returning to the nearly future. Would like to say the wonderful expreience to stay in Banyan Tree Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We arrived during the flood alert,but no sign in City,and we moved around with no problem.
The Hotel staff were polite and friendly, the young lady who showed us to our room was a perfect host.
The Premier Room was great, 55th Floor with terrific views, we ate in-house a few times and the food plus service was second to none.
The restaurants were great ,with plenty of choice.
Being a little distance from skyrail was no problem as the hotel had free transport ,the Concierge was great.
The bed was a little hard for us,so the hotel padded it up and all was well,with a good nights sleep.
We would definatly return one day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank DaiPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,792 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#17 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Property: Banyan Tree Bangkok
Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing