We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and we'll be back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We loved it and we'll be back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

It was absolutely PERFECT!

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suites for 2 nights.Fantastic service at the Club Lounge check in ( drinks/ champagne/canapes/10 mins head n shower massage). Pleasantly surprised by the deco & color scheme of the room. The master bath came with a huge Jacuzzi and steam room. Beds & pillow are just right :) All the small details , power point , amenities were well planned.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPMSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,277
    1,240
    345
    98
    58
See reviews for
859
3,158
316
448
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,078)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here a couple of months back with the Special room only offer of THB3800++ as we had to attend a conference nearby while the booking there was full. First impression was shocking as we walked down the stairs to the lobby, which looked dated. The room was spacious which is generally the norm in BKK.

The Zen concept is appealing, with the essence oil with candle etc was a nice touch. But it could not make up for the strange location of their TV in the room, which was placed at the top right corner on the shelf next to the bathroom; and it was an old fashioned small tube TV of 21'' I guess. Reception of the TV was poor with very limited channels which made viewing a very unpleasant experience. Imagine if my partner was with me then we will have to keep fighting for the right side of the bed to get a clearer view of what's been broadcasted!

As the hotel is famous for its roof-top restaurant, that means you will constantly share the lift with diners taking the same lift and at dinner time there could be some waiting time as I have experienced. Not a major issue but this is definitely not a hotel for business. For the price that we paid without breakfast, I will definitely not be back again, am sure BKK had lots more offer even at the Sathorn vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivi003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BT_Executive_Office, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bangkok, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear vivi003,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Banyan Tree Bangkok, and sincere apologies for an experience which regrettably left you overall disappointed.

I was sorry to read that you found us falling short of expectations, but I appreciate your taking the time to share your comments, because they help us improve our services and products. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that the hotel is in the process of upgrading part of its room inventory, amongst which is also the category you stayed in, and as part of the upgrade we will soon be installing LED TV also in these suites.

Given the impression you had of the hotel, I would understand if you were not keen to book yourself with us again, but I hope that you may not let this one isolated stay mar your perception of Banyan Tree Bangkok.

Once again, sorry for being a disappointment this time and thank you for sharing your thoughts with us; by evaluating our hospitality and telling us what we do right as well as what we must improve, you help us meet your expectations and we look forward to the opportunity to meet yours on a future stay.

With warm regards,
Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is an outstanding luxury hotel and a 5* rating doesn't do it justice at all! We have travelled extensively and I cannot find a single fault with The Banyan Tree - it's definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed in. After taking a long time to choose from the many luxury hotels Bangkok has to offer, I'm certain I couldn't have chosen a better one.

The Staff
The staff and service at the hotel is exceptional. They are attentive without being overpowering.

The Club Lounge
We opted for a Club floor room and I can’t recommend this highly enough. The lounge is a calm and serene place where they serve you complimentary drinks throughout the day. The staff here couldn't be more helpful or professional.

Pool & Gym

Just perfect! Located on the 21st floor with panoramic view - a bit surreal but cool! There isn't pool side staff, but you can go to the gym and order anything you desire and the staff will bring it out to you. The gym is well equipped and the hotel runs several classes a day.

Restaurants & Bars

We had breakfast in the lounge and it was excellent. Tried the Romsai once. Although it has more choice, we found it to be a little crowded and you can order all of the food from there at the lounge if you desire.
The vertigo restaurant is amazing! It has to be experienced - even if it is a little expensive. The moon bar has spectacular views but can become a bit populated at times.

The Room
We had a one bedroom suite and it was awesome!
Everything was luxurious, from the carpets to the bedding and the decor, with the bathroom featuring very stylish marble sinks and huge rainfall shower and a deep-soak bath in the window. The bed very large and comfortable and we also liked that the room came with an oil burner and incense featuring the ‘scent of the day’. You also got four items of free laundry per day with a Club room which we found very helpful, especially at the end of our holiday where even our clean clothes were getting a little stale and crumpled from being in a suitcase so much. we also had complimentary WiFi and used is extensively as I am doing so now!!

The Location
Location is great - 10 minute walk from silom road and the sky train and 20 minutes from the metro.

I cannot recommend the Banyan Tree enough and I will be staying here again when I come back to Thailand! Just awesome!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayscenario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Lovely 5 star hotel, with gorgous fragances as you enter and move through hotel, only a couple of minor niggles. This hotel is located in the financial area, but all areas are still within reach. The sky train station is just a 15 minute walk down a side road opposite and slightly to the left of the front of hotel called saladaeng, this also takes you past a couple of restaurants and to the shops. The Italian restaurant (Zanotti)on this street is exceptional and very resonable with a very expensive feel.

The hotel itself is very large and typical luxury of a good 5 star hotel, the staff are really friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a club room which was lovely with a hughe bed and seting area with desk and sliding doors to a luxury bathroom with walk in shower and deep tub as well as his and hers sinks. Free use of the in room safe and ability to store items in fridge without fear of triggering charges.

There is fresh fruit in the rooms and we ere given a bottle of wine as a honeymoon gift. The bed was so adorably comfortable I did not want to get out of it. The only niggle with the club upgrade was we were not permitted to use the club floorperks, not a big deal but seemed a little cheap on the hotels part to give half an upgrade.

The breakfasting restaurant had an extensive choice of cereals, breads, sushi, pancakes, fruit, thai, lots of juices, stirfrys, eggs, omelettes, bacon etc although poached eggs tasted pickled which was disapointing, obviously to much vinegar in the water. The setting is lovely overlooking a tutle pool.

There is a fabulous restaurant on the top floor called Vertigo and definately worth a trip for a once in a lifetime exeperience or romantic treat. The food is delicious and not minimalist although it is a little pricey, but you are paying for the setting also and I'd say it is worth it. Their attention to detail is excellent and you feel well looked after by the staff. The Moon bar on the top floor at the back of the restaurant is a little disapointing, as its cramped and a little worn. Just one important point I would not recommend taking small children up here or if you suffer from fear of heights maybe give it a miss. It is on the 61st floor and there is only a small waist height rialing between you and a sheer drop, you really dont wnat kids running around; one little girl had me on edge.

There is a pool on high floor approx 30 ish, its nice but very small and there are limited beds.

There is another bar at about the 5th floor which is also open aire and worth a visit at twilight for superb panoramic views.

Also as a littl treat the hotel left us momentos of our stay some evenings such as a sand filled turle toy, jasmine incsense sticks and bookmarks.

Visit the nearby park for a walk in lovely surroundings with comodo dragons walking round like ducks!

Lovely hotel would stay again, try the itallian (Zanotti on sala daeng) nearby it really is superb and luxury at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had one night here at the end of our 3 week trip around South-East Asia and it was incredible!! On arrival they gave us an upgrade to a suite on the 49th floor with amazing views across the city. The room was lovely. We went up to the very top of the hotel to Vertigo sky bar just to take some photos which also has incredible views across Bangkok and a buzzy atmosphere. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was the best I've ever had, a huge buffet with everything you could wish for (even sushi or ice cream!).
The only slight issue was room service, we ordered 2 pizzas and they weren't great but we told the reception and they let us have them for free and informed the chef which was very nice of them.
The pool is quite small but great to use. Very helpful concierge.
Overall a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MU28traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Banyan Tree Bangkok has a great minimalist design throughout and the room we stayed in had a spacious sitting area in addition to the comfortable beds and lovely bathroom. The rooftop pool is a nice retreat from the muggy heat of Bangkok, but it is fairly small so there is not much room to do laps. The breakfast was amazing and loved sampling all the great local Thai fruits in addition to the usual standard fare. The only downside was the rooftop bar was really pricey, especially considering most prices in Thailand are usually favorable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

At the right price this place is a steal. The rooms are large, the pool area top drawer but above all the restaurants and service are spectacular.

Lumphini park opposite is well worth a stroll through during the day, on the slight downside there isn't much on your doorstep

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,891 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#15 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,896 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
lebua at State Tower
lebua at State Tower
#91 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Property: Banyan Tree Bangkok
Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing