We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm and splendour in the bustling centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
Ranked #36 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm and splendour in the bustling centre”
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Everything about the hotel was superb! Right from being met at the airport to the limo service and recommendations of concierge on restaurants and shopping incl night life! The executive suite was huge with understated thai silk furnishings and tons of space. The in room amenities have a class like the adaptar box or the bose dock ! Though they had renovations going on in one part of the hotel, they made sure the rooms were not affected and once when we had a turpentine smell , they immediately sent a air purifier to the room and in the entire corridor.
The spa was brilliant and the entire experience made the holiday a super one!! Everything about this hotel was GREAT! ( and we are discerning travellers>>>)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaminiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,805
    441
    99
    50
    31
See reviews for
308
1,027
258
386
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I have stayed here many times since my first review of this hotel in 2008 and it has maintained its status and presentation each time. On this latest brief stay of only two days I found the hotel to still be wonderful although I was disappointed that the sumptuous buffet breakfasts are no longer on offer, probably because the low occupancy of around 10% means a buffet would be an overkill. I also found the noise from the "Sukhothai Residences" construction site at the rear of the hotel a bit irritating but only when enjoying the hotel's pool area. There is no noise from the site inside the hotel or the rooms. What impressed me the most on this stay was the incredible value currently on offer with the "welcome back package" - an attempt to resuscitate traveller interest after the recent political troubles in Thailand. I found Bangkok to be "back to normal" including the traffic jams but with everyone smiling again. Except for the couple of minor gripes mentioned above, the hotel is a great place to stay: the pool, the gym, the spacious rooms, the impeccable service, and the overall karma of the hotel are not to be missed at these prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crdaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago before chaos hit the streets of Bangkok. It was an oasis in the middle of the city. The service was superb, the rooms were enormous, comfortable and beautifully appointed and the food was delicious. Suhkhothai gets it when they hit all the details to go over and beyond just a regular 5-star hotel. From the flowers to the chocolate and fruit in the rooms, to the gracious service in the restaurant, the spa, the concierge and front desk, they really know how to pamper you.

We hope peace can be restored to the wonderful people of Thailand. We feel so bad for Bangkok and our friends. We are watching the news all the time and hope it can be resolved soon.

Thank you Suhkhothai for a wonderful stay. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mambostyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surijitjang, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, June 25, 2010
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comment about facilities and services.

I am very pleased to hear that our guests feel that they are well pampered even during crisis in Bangkok. As you may aware now that situation in Bangkok has returned to normality and the city has opened its door to welcome you and many traveler back again.

So we hope to have another pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Warmth regards,
Suri Jitjang
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Service in Thailand is generally great and the service is the Sukhothai is one of the best the city has to offer. Ask for a room in the smaller building near the pool / fitness center area, as they are a lot nicer and some rooms in the main building can take forever to get to. The best thing about this hotel is the FOOD! The breakfast buffet (especially on Sundays) is a feast for the king. The inhouse Thai restaurant Celadon serves the best Thai food I have ever had. I stayed at this hotel multiple times and every night during my stay I ate at Celadon and never got bored.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalikidd05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Stayed as this hotel for six nights as we were stuck in Bangkok after our flights to London were cancelled. I cannot find anything to criticise about this hotel; the staff were absolutely superb, combining Thai charm and hospitality with a relaxed friendliness that made you feel welcome and valued. You get treated extremely well and sincerely. The hotel is very beautiful and the garden suite we stayed in was large, comfortable and had a fanatastic bathroom; completely over the top without being tacky. Could not recommend this hotel more and you will not get value and service like this any where in Europe

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newx48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surijitjang, Hotel Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
Thank you very much for providing us this review as well as feedback of your stay post-departure. Both comments were shared with team today to let them know and thanks them for their dedication.

We look forward to welcome you back to your second home in Bangkok again very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Only stayed one night, but both the rooms were upgraded to a suite. What a suite, the bathroom was bigger than a normal lounge.

Once you are in the Hotel grounds, you would not know you were in a city, it was peaceful with lots of greenery. The only highrises were in front of the Hotel so the view from the swimming pool was nearly tropical! There is building work on a building to one side, but we heard no noise even when swimming.

Given a 17.00 late departure which made life very easy.

Easy walking distance to the Underground, Suam Lum Night Market and Lumpini Park.

And the Italian Restaurant - the best we have been in. Superb service and the food cooked in front of you. Sublime....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravilious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

This place knows how to look after guests. On arrival we were told that sadly because of the troubles in Thailand the hotel had a very low occupancy. Rather than scale back services though the manager had agreed that everyone visiting should be upgraded which Jazzie who checked us in promptly did ;)

From the spa to the bellboy everyone was friendly and genuinely keen to help from the spa receptionist making sure we had reservation for dinner through to getting us oysters delivered they were all great.

A beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonylok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 868 in Bangkok
6,298 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#16 of 868 in Bangkok
4,146 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 868 in Bangkok
4,398 reviews
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Property: The Sukhothai Bangkok
Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing